One of the most wonderful things about Ibiza is that the island is a true melting pot for creative and artistic people. And one of the most wonderful parts of our work here at Ibiza Style is, without a doubt, to hear their fascinating stories. The one you are about to read is a remarkable tale; one of friendship, adventure, incredible successes and, most of all, an undying passion for music.

Set against the colourful backdrop of the 1980s and 1990s heyday of house and techno music in Europe, two of the island’s most prolific movers and shakers took the time to share their memories and their vision for the future with us. So please, sit back, buckle up and enjoy a rip-roaring ride through 30 years of Ibiza music history as told by industry trailblazers Roberto Postiglione and Ernesto Senatore.

Growing up together in Naples, Italy, Roberto and Ernesto had been “friends for a long time” before they became business partners. Obsessed with techno music, the two pals were part of a dedicated tribe that travelled across Europe to follow the music they love. Roberto recalls, “In the late 1980s there was a big hype around German and American techno in Italy and people would travel from all over the country to the few places where you could listen to it. We would follow the music to cities like London, Amsterdam or Frankfurt… and then, we started talking about going to Ibiza.”

The duo arrived in Ibiza exactly 30 years ago, in 1989, and immersed themselves in the party scene. “Our group had a party route that would start in Pacha, move on to Privilege [then still called Ku], head to Amnesia for the sunrise and then everyone would end up in Space. We did this every day. We had a German friend who we called ‘the teacher’ because if we didn’t show up, she would scold us like we had skipped school!” laughs Roberto.

Starting out as PRs in Ibiza Town’s harbour, their first proper business idea single-handedly started a new after-party movement. With Space closing around 11.00 in the morning at the time, Roberto, Ernesto and Roberto’s brother rented a seaside bar nearby and tried to convince clubbers to come to their venue afterwards.

“In the beginning it was very difficult because people didn’t want to have an after party dancing in 40 degrees heat and bright daylight,” remembers Roberto. “But eventually we sold out not only our beach club but the two neighbouring venues too! Even the owner of Space was joining us. We were called ‘the inventors of the after-after-hour’.”

Off the back of this early success, Roberto and Ernesto first connection to the club scene was a bar they rented in Amnesia. But it wasn’t too long before they found another seaside location on the rocks of Es Codolar. Roberto explains, “It was called Zenith and because it was in a protected natural area we weren’t allowed to build there. We were gifted an old orange and yellow military parachute from a friend that became an iconic part of the venue. Every week we had a 1,000-strong crowd there with people dancing in the water.”

With their reputation growing, one of the big players on the club scene came knocking. Roberto says, “In 1996 Pacha called us and we took the Zenith concept there. We started in the back room and called it Zenith Area. It was very dark, with live percussions and a tribal vibe. Even David Guetta, who wasn’t a superstar DJ back then, came by and asked if he could play with us. And Deep Dish played their first ever set in Spain there.”

From there, it was no stopping them. “In 2008, we started a new project with Luciano. We loved his music and wanted to help him start his own movement,” remembers Roberto. “Our concept was full of life, full of energy, and a world away from the minimal trend that was dominating the scene. Luciano’s sound was blowing people’s minds.”

With another success under their belt, Roberto and Ernesto created their It’s All About The Music brand and began to work with Marco Carola on Music On; one of the biggest projects in their Ibiza history. Always on the lookout for a new challenge, now the dynamic duo is part of Vagabundos 2.0. The concept has undergone an aesthetic metamorphosis down to the last detail and now writes itself VGBDOS – but the message at its heart remains timeless.

With a more futuristic vibe, the new look is a reflection of a fresh start not only for the party, but also its frontman Luciano. During this year’s International Music Summit, the Chilenean-Swiss producer spoke openly about his journey to sobriety, a challenging but rewarding path that led him back to the top of his game. Roberto agrees, “Luciano is back on track both personally and musically. He is full of great ideas and he is leading the party from a new perspective. We have a great team and everyone is working with a lot of passion.”

With so many success stories to their name – and undoubtedly more to follow – we have to ask what is the secret to their success? Ernesto says, “We do something that we really love and we refresh our mentality every year. It’s very important to stay involved with the latest developments, because there is a lot of competition for this kind of work. But competition is good.” Roberto adds, “Let’s just say Ernesto and I always had a desire to do something that hasn’t been done before.”

The Beat Goes On

If you can’t get enough of the sound championed by Roberto and Ernesto, tune into Ibiza Global Radio from Monday to Friday between 20.00 and 22.00 when the It’s All About The Music show takes over the airwaves. Roberto and Ernesto’s radio presence goes back to the Zenith Area days at Pacha, when they broadcast on Ibiza’s first radio station. Now, About Music Radio opens the studio doors to established international artists as well as new talent. Their forward-thinking musical vision has seen Roberto and Ernesto’s project win the award for Best Radio Program at the 2018 VMAs, and, as always with the two entrepreneurs, there’s more to come. Ernesto tell us exclusively that soon, It’s All About The Music will launch its own 24-hour online radio station. There really is no stopping this duo!

Ibiza Global Radio 100.8 FM
World Wide IbizaGlobalRadio.com

Zu den wunderbarsten Eigenschaften Ibizas gehört es, dass die Insel ein wahrer Schmelztiegel für Kreative und Künstler ist. Einer der schönsten Bereiche unserer Arbeit hier bei Ibiza Style ist es, ihre faszinierenden Geschichten zu hören. Jene, die Sie hier lesen, ist eine besonders bemerkenswerte, eine über Freundschaft, Abenteuer, unglaublichen Erfolg und, mehr noch als all das, die einer unsterblichen Leidenschaft für Musik.

Zwei der produktivsten Lichtgestalten nahmen sich die Zeit, um nicht nur ihre Erinnerungen an die prächtige Ära der 80er- und 90er-Jahre, an die Blütezeit von House und Techno in Europa mit uns zu teilen, sondern auch ihre Visionen. Also, bitte zurücklehnen, anschnallen und viel Vergnügen beim fulminanten Ritt durch 30 Jahre Musikgeschichte Ibizas, aus dem berufenen Munde der Vorreiter Roberto Postiglione und Ernesto Senatore.

Aufgewachsen sind Roberto und Ernesto in Neapel. Freunde waren sie bereits „lange Zeit”, bevor sie überhaupt Geschäftspartner wurden. Besessen von der Liebe zum Techno, gehörten sie zu jenen hingebungsvollen Fans, die quer durch Europa reisten, um ihrer geliebten Musik zu folgen. Roberto erinnert sich: „In den späten 80ern gab es in Italien einen großen Hype um Techno aus Deutschland und Amerika. Aus dem ganzen Land reisten Leute zu den wenigen Orten, an denen man diese Musik hören konnte. Wir folgten dem Sound nach London, Amsterdam oder Frankfurt… dann überlegten wir, nach Ibiza zu gehen.”

Vor genau 30 Jahren, 1989, kam das Duo in Ibiza an und tauchte ein in die Partyszene. „Unsere Gruppe hatte eine Route vom Pacha zum Privilege (damals noch Ku), von dort ins Amnesia zum Sonnenaufgang, zum Abschluss ins Space. Das machten wir jeden Tag. Wir hatten eine deutsche Freundin, genannt ‚die Lehrerin’. Wenn wir mal nicht kamen, schimpfte sie danach mit uns, als wenn wir den Unterricht geschwänzt hätten!”, lacht Roberto.

Mit ihrem Start als PRs im Hafen von Ibiza-Stadt, legte sie umgehend den Grundstein für einen neuen After-Party-Trend. Während das Space am Morgen um 11 Uhr schloss, mieteten Roberto, Ernesto und Robertos Bruder eine Seaside Bar in der Nähe, um die Clubber im Anschluss dorthin zu locken.

„Am Anfang war es schwer. Die Leute hatten kaum Lust auf einer After-Party bei 40 Grad Hitze in hellem Sonnenlicht zu tanzen”, erinnert sich Roberto. „Am Ende war aber nicht nur unser Beach Club ausverkauft, sondern auch die beiden nebenan! Sogar der Besitzer vom Space machte mit. Man nannte uns‚ die Erfinder der After-After-Hour’.”

Den frühen Erfolg im Rücken, mieteten sie eine Bar im Amnesia, die erste Verbindung zur Club-Szene für Roberto und Ernesto. Es dauerte nicht lange, bis sie eine weitere Seaside Location auf den Felsen von Es Codolar fanden. Roberto erklärt: „Es nannte sich Zenith. Da es ein Naturschutzgebiet war, durften wir dort nicht bauen. Von einem Freund bekamen wir einen alten, orange-gelben Militär-Fallschirm, der ein ikonischer Teil dieser Venue wurde. Jede Woche kamen 1000 Gäste, die Leute tanzten im Wasser.”

Ihr guter Ruf hatte sich schnell herumgesprochen, eine Frage der Zeit, bis sich einer der großen Player meldete. „1996 kam das Pacha auf uns zu, wir nahmen das Zenith-Konzept mit dorthin. Wir begannen im Backroom und nannten es Zenith Area. Alles sehr dunkel, mit Live-Percussion und Tribal-Vibe. Sogar David Guetta, damals noch kein Superstar-DJ, fragte, ob er bei uns spielen könne. Deep Dish spielten dort ihr erstes Set in Spanien überhaupt.”

Von nun an hielt sie nichts auf. „2008 starteten wir ein neues Projekt mit Luciano. Wir liebten seine Musik und wollten ihm beim Start seiner eigenen Bewegung helfen”, erinnert sich Roberto. „Unser Konzept war voller Leben, voller Energie, Welten entfernt vom Minimal Trend, der die Szene bestimmte. Lucianos Sound haute die Leute völlig um.”

Mit einem weiteren Erfolg auf der Haben-Seite, kreierten Roberto und Ernesto ihre It’s All About The Music-Marke und begannen, mit Marco Carola an Music On zu arbeiten, einem der größten Projekte in der Geschichte Ibizas. Immer auf der Suche nach neuen Herausforderungen ist das dynamische Duo nun Teil von Vagabundos 2.0. Das Konzept wurde bis ins letzte Detail ästhetisch überarbeitet und nennt sich jetzt VGBDOS – in seinem Kern jedoch bleibt die Botschaft unverändert.

Mit seinem futuristischen Vibe ist der neue Look nicht nur für die Party ein frischer Start, sondern auch für Frontmann Luciano. Auf der diesjährigen International Music Summit, sprach der argentinische Produzent sehr offen über seine Reise hin zum Nüchternsein, ein ebenso herausfordernder wie erfüllender Weg, der ihn zurück an die Spitze geführt hat. „Luciano ist wieder in der Spur, persönlich und musikalisch. Er hat viele tolle Ideen und bietet der Party eine ganz neue Perspektive. Wir sind ein tolles Team, in dem jeder mit sehr viel Leidenschaft arbeitet.”

Mit derartig vielen Erfolgsstorys – von denen es zweifellos weitere geben wird – kommen wir nicht umhin, die Frage nach ihrem Erfolgsgeheimnis zu stellen. Ernesto dazu: „Wir tun Dinge, die wir wirklich lieben und beleben unsere Einstellung jedes Jahr neu. Es ist wichtig, an den neuesten Entwicklungen teilzuhaben, da der Wettbewerb hart ist. Aber Konkurrenz ist eine gute Sache.” Roberto ergänzt: „Sagen wir mal so – Ernesto und ich hatten immer das Verlangen, etwas zu tun, das vorher noch keiner getan hat.”

The Beat Goes On

Wer auf Roberto und Ernestos Sound steht, dem sei Ibiza Global Radio empfohlen, montags bis freitags von 20.00 und 22.00 Uhr, dann steigt die It’s All About The Music-Show. Roberto und Ernestos Radio-Karriere geht bis in die Tage der Zenith Area im Pacha zurück, damals via Ibizas erster Radiostation. Heute öffnet About Music Radio seine Studiotüren für etablierte internationale Künstler ebenso wie für neue Talente. Als zukunftsweisende Visionäre wurden Roberto und Ernesto bei den VMAs 2018 mit dem Award für das ‚Beste Radio-Programm’ ausgezeichnet. Wie nicht anders zu erwarten bei den beiden, geht es immer weiter. Ernesto verrät uns exklusiv, das It’s All About The Music in Kürze seine eigene 24-Stunden-Online-Radiostation launcht. Dieses Duo ist wirklich nicht zu stoppen.

Ibiza Global Radio 100.8 FM
World Wide IbizaGlobalRadio.com