He threads together ideas and thoughts with astounding ease, depth and eloquence. From his office, decorated with motivational slogans, works of art and photos of his wife and his three daughters, Marc Rahola Matutes embodies the spirit that inspires his company, with projects based on concepts that have been developed with exquisite meticulousness. “We do things in much more detail while keeping the reasons why in mind much more than people could imagine. We are aware that there is always an idea behind everything that we do”.

It was precisely this different way of regarding tourism, in addition to his desire to prove himself, that made this nephew of Abel Matutes decide to leave a prosperous career in Grupo Palladium to create Ocean Group, a successful holding company that brings together hotels, real estate projects and even an unusual project to produce almonds in Lerida.

Everything started with the acquisition of Ocean Drive hotel in 2009. “When we started out, as tends to happen to all companies, we did not really know what we wanted to do and you begin defining what you do not want to do”. Their first establishment served to give the group its name thanks to the fascinating narrative that lay behind its name. Ocean, “the river that encircled the world”, was the Greek Titan who ruled the seas beyond the Aegean, where Atlantis was located.

Since then, Ocean Group has undertaken various real estate developments in places such as Cala Comte, Can Misses, Playa d’en Bossa, S’Olivera, Palma and Baqueira, several other Ocean Drive hotels in Talamanca, Port Portals (Mallorca) and Barcelona, the agro-tourism hotel Can Jaume in Ibiza, a future project in Saint Tropez, three Ryans hotels (Ibiza) and an OD Miami that will open in 2019. This last hotel is situated in a building that dates back to 1926. It has an unusual history since it was hit by a hurricane shortly after it opened, and during the crash of ’29, the bank that kept it sold its iron beams, thus lowering it to seven floors. With this project, OD is now recovering the original 17-storey building and the facade, which has great historical value. What is more, they will conserve one chamber of the bank where it is said that Al Capone kept some of his money. Once again, a project beneath which beats a fascinating narrative which gives it a very special value in a city with a relatively short history.

Marc-Rahola-Matutes_Ibiza-Style-008

He speaks to us about the current situation of tourism. “The crisis has brought about enormous changes in the tourism sector; each area has specialised in the things that suit it most. Nowadays, more people come to Ibiza, but they stay for less time because they want to go to other places.” And he goes further with regard to the much-touted “Airbnb effect”, which he considers to be the ‘Napster’ of tourism: “It is not that I am in favour or against it, but it is a reality that has changed the system. Today, companies either adapt rapidly or they are condemned”. Another of the keys to the philosophy of the OD Group is precisely that horizontality and adaptability that, for Marc Rahola Matutes, are crucial at a moment like now, “We make a set of dynamic products. With globalisation, changes are dizzying and you have to equip teams with ways of working that are very permeable and horizontal”. And he goes still further, “The product is the team. OD’s philosophy is based on having enormous permeability to changes so that our team has the ability to absorb them, the talent to interpret them and the capacity to rewrite them. We are constantly evolving, and making errors and failing are part of this process: they are a way of improving”.

Assuming that mistakes will be made as a vital part of the process contrasts with the impression that Rahola Matutes turns everything he touches into gold. That is what happened with one of his most talked about projects, a plan to grow almonds by irrigation system that was suggested to him five years ago. When rain fed, between 80 and 90 kg of shelled almonds can be produced per hectare, whereas using irrigation can produce up to 2,500 kg, with practically no loss of quality or flavour. Spain is the third biggest almond-producing country in the world and it’s a product of great interest since all of it can be used with a very wide range of applications. In the time since they began with 18 hectares to the present day, when they possess 1000 and are closing in on another 500, they are about to become one of the main producers in Spain and thus in the whole of Europe. And that’s with a project he embraced in an almost purely romantic way…

Unlike the Ocean Drive hotels, the Ryans chain, which has three establishments in Ibiza, is based on an idea of tourism that is inclusive and accessible to anyone, taking its inspiration in the notion of the Irish pub as social centre or meeting point, a bit like a tavern in the Far West. Following this model, at Ryans La Marina hotel, for example, the pub’s bar itself is the reception, creating an interesting mix between guests and people who can simply go in to have a drink. The pubs, what is more, have spread to every corner of the world, and they have also matched two other absolutely global concepts: beer and sports. In order to be able to develop the idea from scratch, Marc opened-along with two Irish expats-a chain of pubs in Barcelona: “When I felt that we had already gained enough experience, I got out of the bars in Barcelona, I kept the brand and created the first Ryans hotels.”

Taking care of the fine details in what he does is something that is equally reflected in the group’s real estate developments, which have a concierge service that enables them to solve the problems or bureaucratic steps that clients may encounter without them even having to journey to the island.

When it comes to what drives his restless, persevering, painstaking personality, he points out the enormous influence of his father, an architect and professor, and his mother, a decorator. Both of them have applied their respective specialisations when collaborating on many of Ocean Group’s projects, as well as his sister-an artist-who studied architecture and is now on a two-year grant at one of the best universities in the world.

Marc Rahola Matutes is convinced that life is lived once and that you have to take advantage of it, making mistakes as many times as is necessary, and understanding that, “When you have taken a decision, it is your mistake and what counts is your ability to get up again. You cannot draw up a draft of your life”. That determination is probably the secret of his great success as an entrepreneur: “I prefer to feel sorry for having done something than for not having done it. I like getting out of my comfort zone; it’s the need to express myself”.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 18th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|

Er fasst mit Leichtigkeit komplexe Visionen zusammen und seine Eloquenz ist beindruckend. Sein Büro, das mit Kunstwerken, Motivationsslogans und Fotos seiner Familie geschmückt ist, ist nicht nur Ideenwerkstatt, sondern verkörpert auch den Geist von Marc Rahola Matutes, der mit seiner Firma Projekte auf die Beine stellt, die nicht nur ihrer Zeit voraus sind, sondern auch auf Konzepten beruhen, die mit exquisiter Genauigkeit generiert wurden. „Wir entwickeln mit einer Akribie und einer Detailverliebtheit, die sich die meisten gar nicht vorstellen können. Hinter jedem Schritt, den wir tun, steht eine Idee, der wir folgen.“

Es war dieser genaue Blick auf den Tourismus und sein Wunsch nach Selbstverwirklichung, die den Neffen von Abel Matutes dazu bewogen haben, seine gutsituierte Position in der Palladium Gruppe aufzugeben und mit Ocean durchzustarten, einer erfolgreichen Holdinggesellschaft, die Hotels und Immobilien kauft und auch ungewöhnliche Ideen, wie den Mandelanbau in Lerida, fördert.

Alles begann mit der Übernahme des Ocean Drive Hotels 2009. „Als wir mit der Firma starteten, wussten wir noch nicht ganz genau, wohin wir wollten, haben aber als erstes definiert, was wir nicht wollten“. Die erste Amtshandlung war die Namensgebung und die Offenbarung der faszinierenden Geschichte dahinter: Ozean „der Fluss, der die Welt umkreiste“: Ein griechischer Titan, der die Meere jenseits der Ägäis regiert, dort, wo wild der Atlantik brandet.

Seitdem hat die Ocean Group viel bewegt: Immobilienprojekte in Cala Comte, Can Misses, Playa d’en Bossa, S’Olivera, Palma und Baqueira. Die Eröffnung weiterer Ocean Drive Hotels in Talamanca, Port Portals (Mallorca) und Barcelona sowie des Agro-Tourismo-Hotels Can Jaume in Ibiza, eines zukünftigen Projekts in St. Tropez, der Ryans Hotels und des OD Miami, das 2019 eröffnen wird. Das OD Miami hat eine besondere Geschichte. Es residiert in einem Gebäude von 1926, das kurz nach der Eröffnung von einem Hurrikan getroffen wurde, zudem verkaufte der Eigentümer, eine Bank, in der Finanzkrise von 1929 fast alle Eisenstreben und senkte es damit auf sieben Etagen ab. Für die Eröffnung soll das historische Gebäude, das vormals 17 Stockwerke und eine aufwendige Fassade aufwies, fast vollständig in den Originalzustand zurückversetzt werden. Als besonderes Highlight wird ein Tresorraum, in dem Al Capone einen Großteil seines Geldes aufbewahrt haben soll, in den Mittelpunkt gestellt. Erneut ein Projekt voller Visionen.

Marc-Rahola-Matutes_Ibiza-Style-008

Auch die aktuelle Situation des Tourismus betrachtet Matutes sehr genau: „Die Krise hat zu enormen Veränderungen im Tourismussektor geführt, jeder Bereich hat sich auf seine Stärken verlegt. Es kommen immer mehr Menschen nach Ibiza, aber sie bleiben nicht mehr so lange, da sie auch andere Orte bereisen möchten“. Den viel diskutierten „Airbnb-Effekt“ vergleicht er mit Napster. „Ich bin nicht dafür oder dagegen, es ist einfach ein Fakt, der das System verändert hat. Entweder die Unternehmen passen sich den neuen Trends an oder sie verlieren“. Genau das ist ein Schlüssel des Erfolgs der OD Group: Sie arbeitet zukunftsweisend und ist anpassungsfähig. Für Marc Rahola Matutes kann ein einziger Moment entscheidend sein. „Wir entwickeln eine Reihe dynamischer Projekte. Mit der Globalisierung nehmen Veränderungen schwindelerregende Wendungen und du musst dein Team mit passendem Rüstzeug ausstatten.“ Und er geht noch weiter. „Das Produkt ist das Team. Die Philosophie von OD beruht auf enormer Transparenz und Durchlässigkeit von Ideen. Das Team nutzt sein Talent, um jede Veränderung neu zu bewerten. Wir entwickeln uns stetig weiter, Fehler und Misserfolg sind Teil unseres Prozesses. Sie sind der Weg zur Verbesserung“.

Angenommen, Fehler sind tatsächlich Teil des Prozesses, dann steht das im Kontrast zu dem Eindruck, dass alles was Rahola Matutes anfasst, zu Gold wird. Nehmen wir sein meistdiskutiertes Projekt: Die Mandelproduktion, angeschlossen an ein Bewässerungssystem. Bereits seit 5 Jahren forciert er dieses Unterfangen und es überzeugt mit harten Fakten. Nur über den Regen bewässert, werden bis zu 80 oder 90 kg geschälte Mandeln pro Hektar produziert, während die Bewässerung für bis zu 2500 kg Mandeln pro Hektar sorgt, praktisch ohne Qualitäts- und Geschmacksverlust. Spanien gehört zu dem drittgrößten Produzenten von Mandeln weltweit und es ist ein Produkt, das auf großes Interesse stößt, da es so vielfältig eingesetzt und verarbeitet werden kann. Mit 18 Hektar gestartet, umfasst der Anbau heute 1000 Hektar (weitere 500 Hektar sind in Planung), gehört damit zu den größten Produzenten in Spanien und damit weltweit. Und wir sprechen hier von einem Projekt, das zunächst nur ein romantischer Gedanke Matutes war.

Anders als die Ocean Drive Hotels spricht die Ryans Kette, die inzwischen 3 Häuser auf Ibiza hat, ein Konzept an, das integrativ und für jedermann zugänglich ist. Als Inspirationsquelle diente hier die irische Kneipe als Mittelpunkt des sozialen Miteinanders oder auch die Taverne im Wilden Westen. Dieser Idee folgend ist die Rezeption des Ryans La Marina gleichzeitig die Bar des Hotels – ein kommunikativer Ort, an dem Hotelgäste auf Barbesucher treffen und sich locker unterhalten können. Die Idee des Pubs ist deshalb interessant, da sie zwei sehr populäre Dinge vereint: Bier und Sport – globale Konzepte des Amüsements. Diese Idee nutzend eröffnete Marc zunächst zwei irische Pubs in Barcelona. „Als ich spürte, dass wir genug Erfahrung gesammelt hatten, entwickelte ich daraus das Konzept des Ryans Hotels, heute eine erfolgreiche Marke.“

Wenn man sich wie er um die kleinsten Details kümmert, dann ist es nur selbstverständlich, dass in den Immobilienobjekten immer auch ein Concierge Service angeschlossen ist: Jemand der sich um die bürokratischen Details des Lebens kümmert, nützlich, wenn die Bewohner neu auf der Insel sind.

Wenn Matutes auf seine ruhelose, beharrliche und unermüdliche Persönlichkeit angesprochen wird, dann verweist er gerne auf den Einfluss seines Vaters, der als Architekt und Professor erfolgreich ist und auf seine Mutter, eine erfolgreiche Dekorateurin. Beide waren an zahlreichen Projekten der Ocean Group beteiligt und haben ihre Fähigkeiten eingebracht, genauso wie seine Schwester, einer Künstlerin, die Architektur studiert und derzeit einem zweijähriges Stipendium an einer der besten Universitäten der Welt folgt.

Matutes ist überzeugt davon, dass das Leben gelebt werden will und dass man ruhig Fehler machen kann, so lange, bis man sie versteht. „Wenn du eine Entscheidung getroffen hast, musst du damit leben, auch wenn es ein Fehler ist. Was zählt, ist deine Fähigkeit, wieder aufzustehen. Du kannst keinem festen Lebensplan folgen“. Es ist diese Entschlossenheit, die ihn zu so einem erfolgreichen Unternehmer macht. „Ich mache lieber etwas Falsches, als dass ich gar nichts getan habe. Ich mag es, aus meiner Komfortzone herauszukommen, es gehört zu meiner Persönlichkeit, mich auf diese Art auszudrücken.“