Two months ago Michael DB Levy was working in London for the biggest luxury brand in the world Rolls Royce. He wore beautiful suits, an expensive watch and drove £500,000 cars around town. And then one day he woke up and thought ‘it’s time to have a little adventure’…and resigned. He wanted to go back to the island he loved and missed. By skateboard.

Back in the 90s Michael was one of the most familiar faces in Ibiza working for Manumission, but like so many people returning home he quickly got sucked back into the rat race and the memories of picnics on Salinas, after parties at Space and Mike n’ Claire’s on stage sex shows were just that. Memories.

michael-db-levy-ibiza-style-009“I sent out 4 letters to equipment companies mapping out my idea and thankfully two came back the next day” he smiles in the San Rafael sunshine. “Abec11 provided me with the huge wheels giving me the ability to handle all terrains and my main sponsor was Mercury Wheel Bearings whose one set lasted the whole journey. I did the whole trip with no spares. All with a 16lb rucksack on my back.”

And what a trip it was. Sleeping in hedgerows under a flimsy mosquito net, fending off hungry wolves in the night, attacked by a cheeky French gang in a Lidyl car park, dealing with altitude sickness in the Pyrenees, racing alongside 50 tonne trucks on the Spanish highways…just him, his board and his headphones spurring him on.

But with all tales of such epic proportions came the kindness of strangers. Families who took him in for the odd night providing a hot meal and a bed, a farmer who saw the sweat dripping off Michael as he zoomed past his field and pointed out a deliciously cold lake for him to cool down in…and a simple little chat with two ladies in a burger bar in Narbonne that helped restore his soul and make him push on into the dusty distance.

Part of Michael’s epic journey was to help raise funds for a friend and his cancer fight. “That gave me another reason to take that first roll every morning, to keep hitting that 50km a day and always instill a firm sense of perspective whenever I found it really tough on the roads.”

Hollywood film makers. Are you listening?

Read the whole epic journey here and also details of the ‘Choose Life – The Clarky Appeal’ here…

Vor zwei Monaten arbeitete Michael DB Levy noch in London für die luxuriöse Marke Rolls Royce. Er trug schicke Anzüge, eine exklusive Uhr und fuhr mit 500.000 Pfund teuren Autos durch die Stadt. Eines Tages jedoch wachte er auf, und spürte, dass die Zeit für ein Abenteuer gekommen ist. Er wollte auf die Insel zurückkehren, die er liebte und vermisste – auf dem Skateboard.

In den 90er Jahren war Michael ein bekanntes Gesicht auf der Insel und arbeitete für Manumission. Aber einmal nach Hause zurück gekehrt, war er schnell wieder im alltäglichen Hamsterrad. Picknicks in Salinas, After Partys im Space, Mike und Claire und ihre Sexshows – alles nur noch Erinnerungen, die immer mehr verblassten.

michael-db-levy-ibiza-style-009„Ich schrieb 4 Briefe an Skateboardfirmen, in denen ich mein Vorhaben erläuterte und bereits am nächsten Tag hatte ich zwei positive Antworten”, lächelt Michael in die Sonne über San Rafael. „Abec11 stattete mein Board mit großen Rädern aus, die geländetauglich waren und mein Hauptsponsor Mercury Wheel Bearings mit einem Radlager, das die ganze Reise über hielt. Ich legte die ganze Reise ohne Ersatzteile zurück, hatte nur einen 16 Pfund schweren Rucksack auf meinem Rücken“.

Und was für eine Reise. In Gestrüpp übernachtet unter einem löchrigen Moskitonetz, verfolgt von Wölfen, attackiert von einer französischen Gang, geplagt von der Höhenkrankheit in den Pyrenäen, Kopf-an-Kopf-Rennen mit Trucks auf der spanischen Autobahn… Nur sein Willen, das Board und seine Kopfhörer trieben ihn voran.

Aber von all diesen epischen Erfahrungen war es vor allem die Freundlichkeit der Fremden, die ihn beeindruckte. Familien, die ihn aufnahmen und ihm eine Mahlzeit und ein Bett anboten. Ein Farmer, der den Schweiß bei ihm rinnen sah und ihm den Weg zu einem kühlen See wies. Die aufmunternden Worte zweier Damen in einem Burgerladen in Narbonne, die seiner Seele gut taten und die es ihm ermöglichten immer weiter zu fahren. Meter für Meter. Bis nach Hause.

Auf seiner mühseligen Reise sammelte er Geld für die Stiftung eines Freundes, die sich für die Bekämpfung von Krebs einsetzt. „Das war die Motivation, um jeden Morgen den ersten Schwung zu machen und meine geplanten 50 Kilometer am Tag zu fahren. Erst das gab mir den tieferen Sinn und eine Perspektive durchzuhalten”.

Hollywood-Regisseure aufgepasst: Haben Sie gut zugehört?

Read the whole epic journey here and also details of the ‘Choose Life – The Clarky Appeal’ here…

www.oldtricks.co.uk/the-long-push-to-ibiza

http://www.gofundme.com/v2ak88

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juni 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|