The world of dance music can be such an intriguing place. A few years ago two Dutch teenagers were happy with their lives combining their studies with making music in their bedrooms. Martijn lived in Amstelveen and was following a dream after watching the Olympics Opening Ceremony and witnessing a certain Tiesto playing music to millions. He fancied that life. Down in Rotterdam, Oliver’s life had changed forever after his annual school disco where what sounds like the coolest school ever, put on a party for their pupils that featured non other than Hardwell. He too was hooked immediately.

Zip forward to July 2015 where I’m now on stage at Ushuaia with the same two guys who haven’t done too badly for themselves since those experiences. Numerous No. 1 hits, millions of fans following them on social media, headlining every major festival on the planet, studio collaborations with the world’s biggest music artists, name your price sponsorship deals…and all this with a combined age of just 39.

“This is so unreal” laughs Martin Garrix as we wander outside the venue and check out the huge queue already snaking it’s way down the Bossa strip for the opening party of his new night Multiply. “The first time I came here I sneaked in through a back door to watch Swedish House Mafia play and was thrown out by security because I was so young. Now look at me, I have my own party here, it’s crazy. I can’t stop pinching myself.”

What’s even more crazy is that only thirty minutes earlier he was jogging down the steps of a private jet that had just flown in from America and his residency in Las Vegas. Tomorrow it’s his mother’s birthday and he is flying to Malta for two days to celebrate, I ask him what his parents think of their 19 year old son traversing the world in such extravagant manner? “Sometimes I do wake up from a show really tired and ask my team if it would be possible to fly in a private plane to the next gig knowing full well it will only be a few minutes before I get a call from my parents shouting down the phone, ‘what the fuck are you doing son? Get your lazy arse out of bed and down to the airport like any normal person!’ They really keep my feet on the ground that’s for sure.”

Oliver Helden too has a lot to thank his family for, more specifically his father who sounds like the coolest dude on the planet. “My father opened my ears to music in so many ways when I was growing up” he admits. “I’d be in my room doing my homework and I’d get a shout up the stairs, ‘Oliver come and check this record out quickly’. He’d then play me some obscure drum & bass, techno, funk or jazz track that I’d never heard of before looking at me for my approval, his taste in music is amazing.” Does he like your music I ask this young Dutch superstar, currently riding high with his ‘Shades of Grey’ track? “My father loves my music. I just told you, he has great taste!”

Fridays at Multiply look like a real house party this summer with Martin carefully choosing a group of his DJ friends to come and join himself and Oliver at a night where there are no rules. “My idea for Multiply is the same way that I look at my DJ sets. When I play I know what my first tune is going to be and what will probably by the last, but in between? I have no idea. I just enjoy rocking up and seeing where it goes.” That’s surely what being a DJ is all about I suggest, there are too many artists out there who are playing the same records in the same order every set? “Exactly Dan. What I love to do is surprising people, taking a chance, bring out a record I haven’t played in a while and make sure the crowd has seen a real performance. Every week at Multiply I have told my guests, if you wanna come and jump on the decks and play some back to back, go for it let’s have some fun and let’s be honest, there is nowhere in the world better to have fun than Ibiza.”

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: June 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|

Die Welt der Dance Music ist faszinierend. Noch vor ein paar Jahren waren zwei niederländische Teenager glücklich, studieren zu dürfen und nebenher in ihren Zimmern Musik zu machen. Martijn lebte in Amstelveen und verfolgte einen Traum, der bei der Eröffnung der Olympischen Spiele begann, als ein gewisser Tiesto vor Millionen von Menschen Musik auflegte. Das war das Leben, das er wollte. Auch in Rotterdam änderte sich Olivers Leben nach einer Disco an der wohl coolsten Schule, die für ihre Schüler niemand geringeren als Hardwell zur Schulparty engagiert hatte. Feuer und Flamme für Dance Music.

Später, im Juli 2015, stehe ich auf der Bühne mit denselben beiden Jungs, für die es seitdem nicht so übel gelaufen ist. Zahlreiche Nummer-1-Hits, Millionen von Followern in den Social Media, Headliner aller großen Festivals auf diesem Planeten, Studioarbeit mit den weltgrößten Music Artists, Sponsorenverträge, bei denen sie die Preise bestimmen… all das in einem Alter von zusammen 39 Jahren.

„Das ist so irreal“, lacht Martin Garrix, als wir vom Gelände schlendern und die riesige Schlange sehen, die sich schon den Bossa Strip zur Multiply-Eröffnungsparty herunterschlängelt. „Das erste Mal schlich ich durch eine Hintertür, um die Swedish House Mafia zu sehen und wurde von der Security rausgeworfen, weil ich nicht alt genug war. Jetzt habe ich hier meine eigene Party. Verrückt, ich kann nicht aufhören, mich zu kneifen.“

Noch verrückter ist, dass er 30 Minuten zuvor die Stufen eines Privatjets heruntergejoggt kam, der ihn aus den USA, von seinem Wohnsitz in Las Vegas, einflog. Morgen hat seine Mutter Geburtstag, und er fliegt für 2 Tage zum Feiern nach Malta. Ich frage ihn, was seine Eltern davon halten, dass ihr 19-jähriger Sohn so extravagant durch die Welt reist. „Manchmal wache ich nach einer Show wirklich müde auf und frage mein Team, ob wir einen Privatflug zum nächsten Gig nehmen können. Ich weiß genau, dass kurz darauf meine Eltern anrufen, ins Telefon brüllen und fragen, was verdammt nochmal ich da tue. Und dass ich meinen faulen Arsch aus dem Bett zum Flughafen schaffen soll, wie jeder normale Mensch. Sie sorgen dafür, dass ich mit beiden Beinen auf dem Boden bleibe.“

Oliver Helden hat seiner Familie ebenfalls viel zu verdanken, genauer gesagt seinem Vater, dem wohl coolsten Dude auf dem Planeten. „Mein Vater hat mir in so vieler Hinsicht die Ohren für Musik geöffnet“, sagt er anerkennend. „Ich machte Hausaufgaben in meinem Zimmer, er rief die Treppe hoch „Oliver, schnell, hör’ dir die Platte an“. Dann spielte er mir obskuren Drum & Bass, Techno, Funk oder Jazz vor, von dem ich noch nie was gehört hatte und wartete auf meinen Beifall. Sein Musikgeschmack ist großartig.“ Mag er deine Musik, frage ich den jungen Superstar aus Holland, gerade hoch im Kurs mit seinem „Shades of Grey“-Track? „Mein Vater liebt meine Musik. Ich habe doch gesagt, er hat einen großartigen Geschmack!“

Die Multiply-Freitage in diesem Sommer sind wie echte House Partys – mit Martin, der seine DJ-Freunde sorgfältig wählt, die mit ihm on stage sind, und mit Oliver, an Abenden ohne Regeln. „An Multiply gehe ich heran, wie an meine DJ Sets. Wenn ich spiele, kenne ich meinen ersten Ton und vermutlich den letzten, aber dazwischen? Keine Ahnung. Ich genieße es, abzurocken und zu sehen, wo es hingeht.“ Darum geht es als DJ letztlich, es gibt zu viele Künstler, die immer dieselben Platten in gleicher Reihenfolge in jedem Set spielen? „Genau, Dan. Ich liebe es, zu überraschen, etwas zu wagen, eine Scheibe rauszuholen, die ich länger nicht gespielt habe und dafür zu sorgen, dass die Leute eine echte Performance zu sehen bekommen. Jede Woche sage ich meinen Gästen, wenn sie aufs Deck kommen und hier Rücken an Rücken etwas machen wollen, dann los. Lasst uns Spaß haben. Seien wir ehrlich: Es gibt keinen besseren Ort auf der Welt, um Spaß zu haben als Ibiza.“

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: Juni 23rd, 2022|Categories: People|