It is not widely known that super stars such as Britney Spears and Justin Timberlake first earned their spurs in the “Disney Club”. But would you have guessed that one of the most influential disco giants took his first steps on Sesame Street? In 1970 Nile Rodgers played in the studio band of U.S. children’s series “Sesame Street.” And he wasn’t alone. Bass player Bernard Edwards, with whom in subsequent years he was to form the nucleus of the legendary band Chic, also formed part of the stage show’s tour ensemble. Unbelievable but true: one of the most successful and influential collaborations in pop music had its origins surrounded by Big Bird and Grover, Ernie, Bert and Mr. Huber.

IBIZASTYLE_NILERODGERS-008The two quickly became popular thanks to the unique way they played together, went on to found the Big Apple band and scored their first successes, for instance when they supported the Jackson Five and child prodigy Michael Jackson. When it finally turned out that there was already a band with the words Big Apple in their name somewhere else, Rogers and Edwards were forced to rename their group. Hence the birth of Chic in 1977.

And the beginning of an era. This was followed by massive hits of the calibre of “Le Freak” (awarded platinum status three times over), “Dance Dance Dance” (with its characteristic “yowser, yowser, yowser” line) or “I want your love”. Chic were not only successful as a band; under the banner “The Chic Organization” their productions brought success to other artists, for example Diana Ross, all the while further refining their sound. Although in doing so they thoroughly adapted the basis of their sound to the respective acts, their trademarks; the smooth, irresistible bass line as well as the crazy guitar lick from Rodgers’ laidback hands always remained in focus. Other classics included hits by Sheila B. Devotion (“Spacer”) and the unforgettable “We are Family” by the no-less-legendary Sister Sledge.

In the 80s, Chic’s grooves became one of the decisive rhythm blueprints for hip-hop (“Rapper’s Delight”). Rodgers also introduced David Bowie to dance with the huge success of “Let’s Dance”, produced Duran Duran, Madonna, Mick Jagger and so on and so forth – the list of big names is practically endless. Whether newcomer or superstar, experimental solo artist such as Laurie Anderson or bands as distinct as the Thompson Twins and Earth, Wind & Fire – all yearned for the man with the golden hand’s Midas touch.

In the 90 Rodgers increasingly went back to playing live while also doing more and more work on soundtracks such as “Beverly Hills Cop 3” or “The Flintstones”. In 2005, he was inducted into the “Disco Hall of Fame”; for the ” Rock and Roll Hall of Fame,” however, he needs to hold his breath a bit longer. With eight nominations in ten years Rodgers holds the record. It will be interesting to see when he’s finally admitted. Recently, however he’s had far bigger things to worry about than awards and merits.

In 2011, he was diagnosed with a particularly serious form of prostate cancer. Rodgers took on the fight against the disease and documented it in his blog “Walking on Planet C”. With brutal honesty he remarked: “Cancer is a degrading disease and I want my dignity back”. And victory in this battle was ultimately his. In July last year he tweeted the news of his recovery .

And when he wanted to turn the sound of this message into music, his most recent teamwork together with disco heirs and cultural custodians Daft Punk – the aptly titled “Get Lucky” – also became a major hit worldwide, seamlessly joining the ranks of Rodgers’ squad of monster hits. We are excited about what comes next.

IBIZASTYLE_NILERODGERS-007

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Es ist nicht hinlänglich bekannt, dass Superstars wie Britney Spears und Justin Timberlake sich ihre ersten Sporen einst im „Disney Club“ verdient haben. Aber hätten Sie es gewusst das einer der stilprägendsten Disco-Giganten seine ersten Schritte in der Sesamstraße machte? Anno 1970 spielte Nile Rodgers in der Studioband der US-Kinderserie „Sesame Street“. Und nicht nur er. Auch Bassist Bernard Edwards, mit dem er in den Folgejahren den Nukleus der legendären Band Chic bilden sollte, gehörte zum Tour-Ensemble der Bühnenshow. Unglaublich, aber wahr: Eine der erfolgreichsten und einflussreichsten Kollaborationen der Popmusik fand ihren Ursprung inmitten von Bibo und Grobi, Ernie, Bert und Herrn Huber.

IBIZASTYLE_NILERODGERS-008Die beiden fanden schnell Gefallen am ihrem einzigartigen Zusammenspiel, gründeten daraufhin die Big Apple Band und verbuchten erste Erfolge, etwa als Support für die Jackson Five um das Wunderkind Michael Jackson. Als sich schließlich herausstellte, dass es andernorts bereits eine Band mit dem großen Apfel im Namen gab, waren Rogers und Edwards gezwungen, ihre Gruppe umzubenennen. Die Geburtsstunde von Chic anno 1977.

Und der Beginn einer Ära. Es folgten Überhits vom Schlage „Le Freak“ (dreifach mit Platin veredelt), „Dance Dance Dance“ (mit der charakteristischen „Jause, Jause, Jause“-Zeile“) oder „I want your Love“. Dabei waren Chic nicht nur als Band erfolgreich, unter dem Banner „The Chic Organisation“ waren es ihre Produktionen, die Erfolge für andere Künstler, etwa Diana Ross, einfuhren und den Sound dabei immer weiter verfeinerten. Den jeweiligen Acts das Klangfundament dabei durchaus anpassten, die Trademarks jedoch, den anschmiegsamen, unwiderstehlichen Bass, dazu dieses Wahnsinnslick aus dem lockeren Händchen Rodgers’, immer im Fokus behielten. Zu weiteren Klassikern wurden Hits von Sheila B. Devotion („Spacer“) und das unvergessene „We are Family“ der nicht minder legendären Sister Sledge.

In den 80ern wurden die Grooves von Chic zu einer der maßgeblichen Rhythmus-Blaupausen des Hip-Hop (“Rapper’s Delight”). Rodgers brachte zudem David Bowie mit dem Riesenerfolg von „Let`s Dance“ das Tanzen bei, produzierte Duran Duran, Madonna, Mick Jagger und, und, und – die Liste der Big Names ist schier endlos. Ob Emporkömmling oder Superstar, experimentelle Solistin, wie etwa Laurie Anderson oder so unterschiedliche Combos wie die Thompson Twins und Earth, Wind & Fire – alle lechzten nach dem Midas Touch des Mannes mit dem goldenen Händchen.

In den 90er spielte Rodgers wieder vermehrt live, arbeitete zudem verstärkt an Soundtracks, wie etwa „Beverly Hills Cop 3“ oder „The Flintstones“. Anno 2005 wurde er in die „Disco Hall of Fame“ aufgenommen, für die „Rock’n Roll Hall of Fame“ benötigt er jedoch längeren Atem. Mit acht Nominierungen in zehn Jahren hält Rodgers den Rekord. Man darf gespannt sein, wann es endlich mit der Aufnahme klappt. Der Mann hatte zuletzt jedoch weitaus größere Sorgen als Auszeichnungen und Meriten.

Im Jahre 2011 wurde bei ihm eine besonders schwere Form von Prostatakrebs diagnostiziert. Rodgers nahm den Kampf gegen die Krankheit an und dokumentierte ihn in seinem Blog „Walking on Planet C“. Mit schonungsloser Offenheit: “Krebs ist eine entwürdigende Krankheit, und ich will meine Würde zurück“, hatte er verkündet. Und trug in diesem Fight schlussendlich den Sieg davon. Im Juli vergangenen Jahres twitterte er die Nachricht von seiner Genesung.

Und als wollte er den Klang dieser Botschaft in Musik verwandeln, zog auch sein jüngstes Teamwork einen Siegeszug um die Welt an: „Get Lucky“, treffend betitelt, zusammen mit den Disco-Erben und Kulturgutbewahrern von Daft Punk reihte sich nahtlos in Rodgers’ Riege der Riesenhits ein. Wir sind gespannt, was als nächstes kommt.

IBIZASTYLE_NILERODGERS-007

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|