For gourmets and discerning travellers from all over the world, the Nobu name is associated with culinary excellence and outstanding hospitality. Therefore Ibiza, the island of superlatives, is a natural fit for the renowned restaurant and hotel brand.  Arriving with a splash in the summer of 2017, Nobu Hotel Ibiza Bay recently celebrated its first anniversary on the White Isle, with founders Robert De Niro, Meir Tepr and, of course, chef Matsuhisa Nobu flying in for the occasion.

With a first Ibiza season under its belt, both the luxurious hotel and its onsite Nobu branch have hit their stride. Effortlessly fusing modern glamour with the easy-going vibe of the Balearics, the famous eatery offers a modern, unpretentious spot to enjoy a sun-soaked lunch framed by breath-taking views of the sparkling Talamanca Bay and elegant sail boats from two sides. Inside the airy dining room, guests can marvel at the handiwork of executive chef Giacomo Notarbartolo’s kitchen team behind the glass encased sushi theatre.

An exclusive selection of sake wines from the Hokusetsu Brewery on Sado Island in the Sea of Japan, an expertly crafted cocktail or a crisp glass of fine grapes from the extensive wine list will set you up nicely for your meal. The mixology team is on hand to help you choose from enticingly named concoctions such as the citrusy English Rose, a martini made with Tanqueray Ten Gin, Chartreuse, fresh berries, yuzu juice and rose liqueur, or The Look, a trendy bitter with a tropical twist mixed from Tanqueray Ten Gin, Aperol, Thai lemongrass, grapefruit juice and a silky layer of passion fruit foam.

Nobu Ibiza Bay’s menu offers a mix of Matsuhisa Nobu’s signature Japanese and Peruvian fusion dishes as well as plates inspired by the White Isle. Loyal Nobu guests who have visited other branches of the world-famous concept will be pleased to find iconic classics such as the Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno – delicate slices of fish with a delightful spicy kick, a recipe inspired by the cuisine guru’s time in Peru – White Fish Dry Miso, a feast of contrasting textures served in a heavenly yuzu and olive oil marinade, and the Baby Spinach Salad with Dry Miso and Yuzu Truffle Oil, a creation that manages to be healthy and incredibly indulgent at the same time.

Of course, the almost legendary star dish of Black Cod with Miso, couldn’t be missing. A master class in the expert preparation of fish and the balancing of flavours, the fillet is served perfectly silky and moist, topped with a crisp skin that graduates in colour from golden to rich brown and bursts with the sweetness of the miso. The final touch, a stalk of pickled ginger sprout aids in cleansing the palette before the next dish. Another standout dish, meat lovers must not leave without trying the melt-in-your-mouth Beef Anticucho Donburi, coated in a delightfully spicy and smoky red sauce and served with a side of fluffy rice, tangy pickles and seaweed salad.

Guests who want to try the exclusive Balearic fusion dishes should not miss the Padron Peppers accompanied by a miso and sesame dip, the perfect juxtaposition of bitter and sweet. The Zamburiña baby scallops are a world-wide exclusive to Nobu Ibiza Bay, while the red shrimp, Ibicencan lamb and Wagyu beef dressed with local hierbas allow the island’s produce to shine.

A light and summery sorbet or an assortment of moreish mochis (Japanese rice cake filled with a variety of exotically flavoured ice cream) makes for the final flourish. With the attentive and knowledgeable staff at hand to guide you through this spectacular culinary journey, whether you’re a Nobu virgin or long-time fan, it’s almost certain that your first visit to the brand’s Ibiza Bay outpost won’t be your last.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: May 26th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

Gourmets und anspruchsvolle Reisende aus der ganzen Welt assoziieren mit dem Namen Nobu exzellente Küche und außergewöhnliche Gastfreundschaft. Und so ist es eine geradezu selbstverständliche Konsequenz, dass die renommierte Hotelkette auch auf Ibiza eine Dependance eröffnete: das Nobu Hotel Ibiza Bay. Erst kürzlich feierte das Luxushotel seinen ersten Geburtstag: Grund genug, für die prominenten Inhaber Robert de Niro, Meir Tepr und natürlich Nobu Matsuhisa, persönlich zu gratulieren.

Bereits in seiner ersten Saison hat sich das Hotel in den Himmel der Top-Destinationen der Insel geschossen. Cooler Glamour mischt sich perfekt mit ibizenkischer Lässigkeit. Der unprätentiöse Style des Restaurants, von dem aus man einen fantastischen Blick über die Bucht von Talamanca hat, passt zu einem lockeren Lunch genauso wie zu einem gehobenen Dinner. Im luftigen Innenbereich können die Gäste das perfekte Handwerk des Küchenchefs Giacomo Notarbartolo durch eine gläserne Abtrennung bestaunen.

Die exzellenten Sake Weine werden exklusiv von der Hokusetsu Sake Brauerei für den international gefeierten Starkoch Nobu Matsuhisa produziert. Doch auch die Cocktails und die Auswahl der klassischen Weine sind hervorragend. Das Mixology Team hilft gerne mit Empfehlungen weiter, … vielleicht ein zitroniger English Rose, ein Martini aus Tanqueray Ten Gin, Chartreuse, frischen Beeren, Yuzusaft und Rosenlikör oder ein The Look, ein trendiger Bitter aus einer tropischen Mischung Tanqueray Ten Gin, Aperol, Thai Zitronengrass, Grapefruitsaft und einem Passionsfrucht-Schäumchen.

Im Nobu Ibiza Bay vereint sich die japanisch-peruanische Küche von Nobu Matsuhisa mit ibizenkischer Kochkunst. So müssen die treuen Nobu Fans nicht auf berühmte Klassiker, wie das Gelbschwanz Sashimi mit Jalapeno verzichten – eine wunderbare Mischung aus dem süßlich-saftigen Fisch und dem scharfen Biss der kleinen Paprika. Oder auch der Petersfisch mit getrocknetem Miso, ein Gaumenschmaus voller kontrastierender Texturen im Mund, beträufelt mit einer himmlischen Yuzo-Trüffelöl-Marinade. Dazu passt auch der Babyspinatsalat mit getrocknetem Miso und dem Yuzu-Trüffelöl, eine köstliche und zugleich gesunde Komposition.

Der absolute Star der Nobu-Küche: der schwarze Kabeljau mit Miso. Dieses Gericht ist außergewöhnlich, die Aromen sind sehr fein ausbalanciert, das Filet wird auf den Punkt gegart, noch leicht feucht und etwas glasig, getoppt mit einer knusprigen Haut, die von goldbraun zu dunkelbraun variiert und damit einen Gegenpart zu dem süßlichen Miso eingeht. Eine zarte Ingwer Sprosse rundet dieses Gericht ab und neutralisiert den Geschmack für weitere Gänge. Zum Beispiel das im Mund schmelzende Anticucho Donburi, ein sehr ursprüngliches Fleischgericht, das mit einer scharfen roten Soße mit Räucheraromen, lockerem Reis, Pickles und Seetang Salat serviert wird.

Gäste, denen der Sinn nach balearischer Küche steht, sollten Pimientos dePadron nicht verpassen, gepaart mit einem Miso-Sesam-Dip: ein perfektes Zusammenspiel von Bitterem und Süßem. Die Zamburiña Baby-Jakobsbabymuscheln sind weltweit exklusiv für das Nobu Hotel Ibiza Bay produziert und auch die roten Garnelen der Insel, das ibizenkische Lamm und das Wagyu Rindfleisch werden hier mit hiesigen Kräutern und Aromen bestens in Szene gesetzt.

Ein sommerliches Sorbet oder eine Auswahl von Moreish Mochis (kleine japanische Reiskuchen, gefüllt mit exotischen Eissorten) krönen das kulinarische Fest im Nobu. Die Mitarbeiter des Restaurants bieten nicht nur einen herzlichen Service, sondern sind auch perfekt geschult. Die Gäste, egal ob Stammgast oder Premierengast, werden kompetent beraten und wir sind uns sicher, dass unser erster Besuch sicher nicht der letzte sein wird.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Juni 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Juni 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Juni 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Mai 26th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|