2017 is something of a milestone for Rachel Parsons, as she celebrates her 20th year of living, loving and working on the island. And, she tells me, it’s been an incredible journey, full of highs and lows.

Having never even visited the island before, she was inspired to make the move after a chance conversation with Sean Pertwee in London, who told her about the Morna Valley school, and his own experience of growing up on this carefree, bohemian island.

Searching for a fresh start after the sudden death of her best friend, she came to Ibiza seeking a better life for her two daughters, and the daughter of her friend, whom she adopted after she lost her mother. She recalls arriving, three daughters in tow, in the dark, and waking up the next morning in this blissful house on the top of the mountain, thinking she had found heaven.

Originally from Bristol, growing up listening to the Wild Bunch in the legendary Dug Out from the age of 13 , Rachel found herself immersed in the world of fashion from an early age, working in London alongside some of the industry’s most iconic and inspirational designers such as Vivienne Westwood, Bella Freud and Michael Kopelman of Gimme 5.

Ironically, she thought that when she decamped to this little island, she was leaving the fashion world behind her. She recalls that in her early years on the island, it was something of a struggle to make money, but determined to ensure her children were able to enjoy the carefree campo life and have a good education, she worked tirelessly in various roles.

However, the turning point for her career was meeting Victor Guasch, the owner of Atzaro, which at the time was enjoying its second year of success. He gave her the opportunity of working with the English community on the island to create PR for Atzaro, and from here, a dream partnership was born.

Victor’s passion for culture and art, and his open minded attitude to combining the rustic tradition of the beautiful hotel with cutting edge fashion, art and music is what has allowed her to transform Atzaro into the hub of culture that we all recognise today.

A chance remark from Rachel to Victor that the gardens of Atzaro would be the perfect place to hold a fashion show led to his instant approval, handing Rachel full creative control, and so it became that she was once again drawn back into the heady world of fashion. Her innate talent for bringing together and recognising the talents of both local and international designers has led to Atzaro being true pioneers of fashion in Ibiza, and enjoying 8 years of spectacular fashion shows.

A dedicated Nichrien Diashonin Buddhist, Rachel explains that chanting is an integral part of her life, and has helped her through the most difficult of times, including beating breast cancer with the care of Can Misses hospital, the daily ritual of chanting Nam-myoho-renge-kyo allows her to be the very best person she can be. She chants to release any negative energy before stepping into the world each day, chanting to create value in Atzaro, for the staff’s happiness, taking responsibility for her own life.

So, as she enters her second decade on the island, what does the future hold for Rachel Parsons? She tells me that she is delighted that her three daughters are all flourishing in their lives, her joy at becoming a grandmother this year, and her anticipation and excitement at beginning the next chapter of her life, with great hopes and dreams for both herself and Atzaro. We are sure that Rachel’s future will be nothing but bright as her star continues to shine.

Rachel-Parsons_Ibiza-Style-003

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 18th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|

2017 ist ein Meilenstein im Leben von Rachel Parson, denn aktuell lebt, liebt und arbeitet sie seit 20 Jahren auf Ibiza und schaut dankbar zurück auf eine unglaubliche Reise voller Höhen und Tiefen. Niemals hatte Rachel Ibiza besucht, bevor sie den Entschluss fasste, auf die Insel zu ziehen, es war die Konsequenz aus einem inspirierenden Gespräch mit Sean Pertwee in London, der ihr von seiner unbeschwerten Jugend an der Morna Valley School auf Ibiza erzählte.

Ein Neuanfang war genau das, was Rachel damals brauchte. Ihre beste Freundin war verstorben und es war eine Zeit voller Schmerz. Mit ihren drei Töchtern (eine ist die adoptierte Tochter ihrer verstorbenen Freundin) brach sie nach Ibiza auf. Sie erinnert sich noch ganz genau daran, wie sie am ersten Morgen die Sonne über den Hügeln aufgehen sah und sich fühlte, als sei sie endlich im Paradies angekommen.

Ursprünglich stammt Rachel aus Bristol, sie wuchs mit der Musik des Kollektivs Wild Bunch auf und zog bereits mit 13 durch den legendären Dug Out Club. Neben der Musik war es die Mode, die sie inspirierte und so zog es sie früh nach London. Hier arbeitete sie für bekannte Designer wie Vivienne Westwood, Bella Freud und Michael Kopelmann von Gimme 5.

Ironie des Schicksals: Rachel glaubte fest daran, dass mit dem Umzug nach Ibiza auch ihre Karriere in der Modewelt enden würde. Die ersten Jahre auf der Insel waren hart, sie hielt sich mit zahlreichen Jobs über Wasser, um so sicherzustellen, dass ihre Kinder das sorglose Leben auf dem Campo genießen konnten und eine gute Ausbildung erhielten.

Für einen Wendepunkt in ihrem Leben sorgte das Zusammentreffen mit Victor Guasch, dem Inhaber vom Atzaro, das zu diesem Zeitpunkt gerade sein zweijähriges Bestehen feierte. Er sah das Talent von Rachel und mit dem Ziel, die englische Gemeinschaft der Insel stärker anzusprechen, gab er ihr einen PR-Job – eine Traumpartnerschaft war geboren!

Victors Leidenschaft für Kunst und Kultur und seine Aufgeschlossenheit, die traditionellen Werte des Hotels mit modernster Mode, Kunst und Musik zu verbinden, erlaubten es Rachel, das Atzaro zu dem zu machen, was es heute ist – eine kulturelle Hochburg der Insel.

Rachel schlug Victor damals vor, die Gärten als perfekte Kulisse für eine Modenschau zu nutzen und der Hotelchef gab ihr nicht nur sofort grünes Licht, sondern auch die volle kreative Verantwortung. Damit kehrte Rachel zurück in die Welt der Mode. Ihr angeborenes Talent, lokale und auch internationale Designer für ihr Projekt zu begeistern, machte das Atzaro zum Mode-Pionier auf Ibiza – seit 8 Jahren finden hier die wichtigsten Modenschauen der Insel statt.

Als engagierte Nichrien Daishonin Buddhistin ist das Singen integraler Bestandteil ihres Lebens und hat ihr durch schwierige Zeiten geholfen, so auch während ihres Kampfes gegen den Brustkrebs und der Zeit im Krankenhaus Can Misses. Das tägliche Ritual des Chantens von Nam-myoho-renge-kyo macht sie zu der besten Person die sie sein kann, so Rachel. So singt sie auch jeden Morgen ehe sie ins Atzaro fährt, um jegliche negative Energie vom Hotel fernzuhalten und für das Glück der Mitarbeiter, um ihnen zu helfen, die Verantwortung für ihre Leben zu übernehmen.

Nun, da sie ihre zweite Dekade auf Ibiza vollendet, was hält die Zukunft bereit für Rachel Parsons? Sie erzählt mir, dass sie sich in erster Linie darauf freut, ihre drei Töchter in ihrer Lebensblüte zu sehen, dieses Jahr das erste Mal Großmutter zu werden und dass sie voller Freude jedes neue Kapitel ihres Lebens begrüßt. Für sich und das Atzaro gehen ihr die Träume und hoffnungsvollen Pläne nicht aus und wir sind uns sicher, dass der hellglänzende Stern Rachels weiter strahlen wird.

Rachel-Parsons_Ibiza-Style-003