El Portalon is Anne’s first restaurant venture following the release of her debut book ‘Eivissa: The Ibiza Cookbook’ last summer. Anne oversees menu creation at El Portalon, alongside Executive Chef Filippo Alberi and Head Chef Joel Bonino. Justin manages the front of house team alongside General Manager Mark Winstone.

El Portalon’s menu is seasonality-led, using produce from Can Riero, Anne and husband Rene’s organic farm, as well as sourcing from Ibiza’s local artisan producers. Modern Ibizan dishes such as ‘Clams with bellota julianne, belotta consommé and courgette pearls’ and ‘Ibizan squid, sobrasada, cabbage and romesco sauce’ feature on the concise menu alongside house-made breads, pickles and chutneys. Anne, Filippo and Joel also recently introduced a daytime tapas menu offering a selection of snacks including ‘Watermelon gazpacho’ and ‘Lamb meatballs with yoghurt and cucumber’. Drinks at El Portalon follow the same ethos as the food, with cocktails using ingredients such as plum and apricot puree from Can Riero. These sit alongside a European-focused wine list curated by Justin alongside Morgan Lewis, offering a selection of organic and biodynamic wines with a strong Spanish offering.

The restaurant is set on the ground floor of a historic Palacio and offers space for 20 inside, spread across two dining areas and a bar, and a further 40 outside in the floral courtyard. The interiors, designed by Angie Vestey, have been sympathetically restored to incorporate traditional Ibicencan features alongside contemporary minimal twists.

RECIPES: SOBRASADA AND SPINACH STUFFED SQUID

Serves 4

  • 500g (1lb 2oz) small whole squid (frozen or fresh)
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, plus extra for brushing
  • 1 1/2 onions, finely chopped
  • 3/4 red pepper, deseeded and finely chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
  • 150g sobrasada
  • 250g spinach, washed and chopped
  • salt and pepper

 

If you are using frozen squid, place in a bowl of cold water to defrost. Wash the fresh or frozen squid thoroughly, cut off the tentacles and set aside, then remove the hard ‘quill’ and the ink sac from inside the bodies. Remove and discard the heads. Peel away the membranes and skin from the bodies and set aside.

Heat the olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat, add the sobrasada and fry until cooked thru, remove and drain on kitchen roll, set aside, but reserve the fat. Heat 2 tbsp of the fat in the frying pan over medium heat and fry the onions, red pepper and garlic until slightly soft and golden, 3 or 4 minutes. Add the spinach and toss with a pair of tongs, frying for 2 minutes. Add the sobrasda to the vegetables, stir to combine and cook for 2 or 3 minutes to marry the flavors. Season to taste with salt and pepper and remove from heat.

Hold the squid bodies like an ice cream cone, spoon in the stuffing packing them tightly. Close each one with a wooden tooth pick.

Brush the bodies and the reserved tentacles with olive oil, place them in a roasting pan, cover with tin foil and roast at 180 for 15 minutes, until slightly under cooked. Remove foil and brush lightly with olive oil again if dry. Set the pan under a grill or in griddle pan for 3 or 4 minutes, until the squid is golden, turning carefully to grill all sides. Brush and grill the tentacles briefly for color only. Serve with romesco sauce, fried sweet potato chips and sea foam.

For the romesco sauce, fried sweet potato and sea foam recipes please contact El Portalon via email at kitchen@elportalonibiza.com.

El Portalon

Plaça dels Desemparats, 1

Dalt Vila, Ibiza

+34 871 110 925

www.elportalonibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

Es ist ihr erster Ausflug in die Restaurantwelt, nachdem sie letztes Jahr ihr Debüt-Buch „Eivissa: The Ibiza Cookbook“ veröffentlicht hat. Neben dem Chefkoch Filippo Alberi und dem Küchenchef Joel Bonino wird Anne die Menüauswahl maßgeblich mitbestimmen. Justin wird den Veranstaltungsbereich leiten, als Geschäftsführer fungiert Mark Winstone.

Das El Portalon bietet eine frische, regionale Küche, die Produkte stammen vom Biohof Can Riero, der von Anne und ihrem Ehemann Rene geführt wird, aber auch von weiteren lokalen Anbietern. Serviert werden moderne Gerichte, wie Muscheln mit Bellota Julianne, Bellota Consommé und Zucchini-Perlen, ibizenkischer Tintenfisch mit Sobrasada, Kohl und Romescosoße. Des Weiteren überzeugen hausgemachte Brote, eingelegte Gurken und würzige Chutneys. Anne, Filippo und Joel haben auch ein Tages-Tapas-Menü zusammengestellt, in denen Snacks wie  Wassermelonen-Gazpacho oder Lammbällchen mit Joghurt und Gurken überzeugen. Auch die Cocktails betören durch ihre natürlichen Aromen, wie Pflaumen- oder Aprikosenpüree aus Can Riero. Die Weine stammen fast alle aus Europa und wurden von Justin und Morgan Lewis kuratiert, eine fantastische Auswahl organischer Weine, davon zahlreiche aus Spanien.

Das Restaurant im Erdgeschoss eines historischen Palazzo bietet im Innenbereich 20 Plätze, die sich über zwei Räume und eine Bar verteilen und 40 romantische Plätze im Außenbereich, umgeben von wunderschönen Blumen. Das Interieur wurde von Angie Vestey designet und verbindet traditionelle ibizenkische Motive mit modernen Highlights.

REZEPT: SOBRASADA UND SPINATGEFÜLLTER TINTENFISCH

4 Portionen

  • 500g (1lb 2oz) kleine ganze Tintenfische (gefroren oder frisch)
  • 2 TL  Extra Virgin Olivenöl, plus ein wenig zum Bepinseln
  • 1,5 Zwiebeln, klein gehackt
  • 3/4 rote Paprika, entkernt und fein gehackt
  • 3 Knoblauchzehen, fein gehackt
  • 150g Sobrasada
  • 250g Spinatblätter, gewaschen und gehackt
  • Salz und Pfeffer

 

Sollten Sie gefrorene Tintenfische verwenden, tauen Sie sie in einer Schüssel mit kaltem Wasser auf. Waschen Sie den Tintenfisch gründlich, schneiden Sie die Tentakel ab und legen Sie sie beiseite. Dann entfernen Sie die „harte“ Füllung und den Tintensack vom Tintenfisch. Die Köpfe abschneiden und entsorgen. Haut und Schleimhäute abziehen.

Das Olivenöl in einer Pfanne bei mittlerer Temperatur erhitzen, die Sobrasada hinzufügen, durchbraten, dann rausnehmen und das Öl abtropfen lassen (aber behalten). Mit diesem Öl die Zwiebeln, rote Paprika und Knoblauch anbraten, bis sie weich und goldbraun sind (3-4 Minuten), dann den Spinat hinzufügen und für 2 Minuten mitkochen. Dann kommt die Sobrasada wieder hinzu und wird vorsichtig untergezogen, 3-4 Minuten mitköcheln und dann mit Salz und Pfeffer abschmecken. Vom Herd ziehen.

Die Tintenfische wie kleine Eistüten öffnen und mit der Gemüse-Sobrasada-Mischung füllen und einem Holzstäbchen verschließen.

Die gefüllten Tintenfische und die beiseite gelegten Tentakel mit Olivenöl bestreichen, in eine hitzebeständige Form geben, mit Alufolie abdecken und bei 180 Grad 15 Minuten in den Ofen schieben. Folie entfernen und erneut mit Olivenöl bestreichen, die Form jetzt wieder in den Ofen stellen und 3-4 Minuten goldbraun grillen, dabei vorsichtig wenden. Mit Romesco Soße, Süßkartoffel-Chips und Meeresschaum servieren.

Für die Romesco Soße, gebackene Süßkartoffel und Meeresschaum-Rezepte bitte das El Portalon per Email kontaktieren kitchen@elportalonibiza.com.

El Portalon

Plaça dels Desemparats, 1

Dalt Vila, Ibiza

+34 871 110 925

www.elportalonibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 23rd, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 21st, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|