Welcomed as always by their infectious, upbeat good nature, we talk to them about their life here in Ibiza and their plans for the summer ahead. Determined to make a life on the island where they met and fell in love, on the hallowed dancefloor of Space over twenty years ago, in 2011 they decided to throw caution to the wind, and left the UK for their dream life on the white isle. . It wasn’t all art and glamour to begin with, with Scott working as a “man with a van” when they first arrived, but their drive to succeed at all costs has led them along the path to where they are today.

Scott recalls a pinnacle moment in his journey, whilst sitting on the cliffside at Es Cubells and pondering how to progress with his chosen life on the island, he was inherently drawn back to his love of art. Having studied at art school, he drew on his past talents and began to create sketches, which soon manifested into t-shirts, clothing and finally bespoke prints with his unique, distinctive style, which have since become synonymous with the soul of the island. It was Mandy who came up with the name “Chapter”, Scott´s alter ego as an artist, as she recognised this as a groundbreaking chapter in their new lives.

Scott´s foray into the music scene came slightly later, having dabbled with DJ´ing at various beach clubs, he met Vaughan , the longtime promoter of Pacha´s Funky Room whilst playing at a house party, who was so instantly impressed by his unique soulful style that he immediately booked him for dates in the Funky Room in summer 2014. From there the ball never stopped rolling, and Scott, along with Paul Reynolds, Ben Santiago and Juan Corbi went on to form the now infamous Melon Bomb Crew, who have been bringing the house down at venues all over Europe throughout the winter, and have big plans to do the same in Ibiza for the summer ahead.

Inspired and encouraged at all times by Mandy, whose own inimitable style is surely the inspiration for Chapter´s colourful designs, they are very much a united team, and Scott says that Mandy is the first person he turns to for advice and support. Mandy tells us that her definitive Ibiza moment was standing on the dancefloor of Space, where the couple met over 20 years earlier, wearing a dress made from silk imprinted with Scott´s designs and watching her husband DJ´ing in the booth of the world famous  superclub, and realising that THIS was what life is truly all about. A true Ibiza love affair.

Describe YOUR Ibiza in five words

Scott… “It gets your juices flowing”
Mandy… “Magical and full of possibilities”

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 18th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|

Mit ansteckend guter Laune und gewohnt großer Herzlichkeit begrüßt uns das Paar, um mit uns über ihr Leben auf Ibiza und ihre aktuellen Pläne zu sprechen. Das Schicksal nahm vor über 20 Jahren seinen Lauf auf dem heiligen Dancefloor vom Space, auf dem sich Mandy und Scott ineinander verliebten. Es sollte aber noch dauern, bis die beiden Briten den Mut fanden, ihre Segel neu zu setzen und 2011 für immer nach Ibiza zogen. Damals noch wenig glamourös und weit von dem erfolgreichen Künstlerdasein entfernt, der ihren Lifestyle heute prägt. „Ich war der Mann mit dem Van“, lacht Scott, der sich für keine Arbeit zu schade war.

Er erinnert sich genau an den magischen Moment in seinem Leben, der die entscheidende Wende brachte. Auf einer Klippe von Es Cubells sinnierte Scott über seine eigentliche Berufung und fühlte tief im Herzen seine Liebe zur Kunst, die ihn auch dazu bewegt hatte, Kunst zu studieren.  Er begann erneut zu malen und zu zeichnen und es war,  als ob er eine Quelle angezapft hätte: Die Ideen sprudelte nur so aus der Feder, die alsbald ihren Weg auf T-Shirts, Plakate sowie letztendlich großflächige Bilder fanden. Mandy ließ mit dem Namen Chapter sein altes Künstler-Ego auferstehen und es war in der Tat ein neues Kapital welches die beiden aufschlugen.

Scotts Durchbruch als DJ sollte erst später erfolgen, auch wenn er schon immer gerne mit Freunden auflegte. Bei einem Event lernte er Vaughan kenne, den langjährigen Promoter vom Funky Room im Pacha. Dieser erkannte sofort das Talent von Scott, war begeistert von dem warmen Soul seiner Musik und buchte ihn 2014 erstmalig  im Funky Room. Von da an war es, als ob Scott nie woanders als auf der Kanzel gewesen wäre. Zusammen mit Paul Reynolds, Ben Santiago und Juan Corbi bildete er die berüchtigte Melon Bomb Crew, die im Winter mit ihrem typischen House Sound die Hotspots Europas zum Kochen brachte und das gleiche für diesen Sommer auf Ibiza plant.

Muse in Scotts Leben ist Mandy, deren unnachahmlicher Stil die bunten Entwürfe Chapters maßgeblich beeinflusst. Zusammen sind sie ein Team, das Stärke und Liebe ausstrahlt und Mandy ist für Scott die wichtigste Beraterin. Mandys Stimme wird ganz weich, als sie von ihrem magischen Ibiza Moment berichtet: Auf der Tanzfläche stehend, auf der sie vor 20 Jahren Scott das erste Mal geküsst hat, und nun in einem seidenen Kleid, bedruckt mit Scotts Zeichnungen, die Augen auf ihren Mann gerichtet, der an diesem Abend auflegt und das in dem berühmtesten Club der Welt! In dieser Sekunde begreifend,  dass das IHR Leben ist und kein Film. Eine echte Ibiza Lovestory…

Beschreibe DEIN Ibiza in fünf Worten…

Scott… „Es lässt deine Säfte fließen“
Mandy… „Magisch und voller unzähliger Möglichkeiten“