Having first come here on a lad’s holiday in 1989, it was work that brought him back to the island at the end of the 90s. At that time, he was travelling the world putting on music events featuring artists like Underground and Prodigy for different international brands including Kahlua and Ballantine’s. Meanwhile, when he was back home in south London, with its fractious soul scene, he used to deejay. The effect of fin-de-siècle Ibiza’s heady vibes was instant and life-changing: “I remember going to Amnesia and seeing everybody hugging each other and crying, with Hill Street Blues playing at the end of the night. And I thought, I don‘t know what‘s going on here but I need to find out.”

Once the bug had bitten him, it was a question of applying his experience as an events organiser to making a living on the island. He realised very quickly that there were no global events in Ibiza. With the exception of MTV.The very year he was scouting around for work as a promoter its licence was revoked, sending out a very bad signal to all the international companies wanting to stage an event here. So it was no surprise then that it took quite a few years and a lot of convincing before he got his first decent client, Red Bull, to venture back onto the white island. After that, its doors slowly opened.

17 years later, going to work on the Tube is history. Simeon admits his good fortune in that his job enables him to work with the same clients and the same crazy parties anywhere on the planet.  Nonetheless, it is a long season and he isn’t able to truly relax until November, which is after the company holds its last event, Halloween. Focusing on his children, who go to school here, and short snowboarding trips, city breaks and stints in Asia fill out his downtime over the winter. In his mind, there is no doubt that Ibiza is now his home. There’s just too much that’s right about the island’s lifestyle for him to imagine returning to the big city any time soon. Despite the difficulties, life in Ibiza in 2017 is better in many ways: more professional, more business-like, with many more nice restaurants and better utilities. As Simeon well recalls, “When we first got internet, Telefonica put something like a traffic light on the wall, with three lights, and when it went amber, you had to get ready and you could use it. It was mental!”

So how does a veteran clubber manage to juggle family life and hectic work engagements amid all the insanity of the high season in Ibiza? “I‘m not sure I‘ve ever escaped the madness of the summer to be honest. I love hectic; I live on adrenaline. So actually, the lifestyle suits me perfectly.”

Describe YOUR Ibiza in five words only.

“Exciting, frustrating, intense, hot and rewarding”

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 18th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: People|

Simeon Friend kam 1989 das erste Mal nach Ibiza, um Urlaub zu machen. Knapp zehn Jahre später trieb ihn der Job erneut auf die Insel. Auf der Suche nach Musikevents mit Bands wie Underground und Prodigy suchte er hier im Auftrag namhafter internationaler Marken wie Kahlua und Ballentines nach passenden Acts. Zur gleichen Zeit versuchte seine Soulseele sich in seiner Heimat Südlondon als Deejay auszuleben. Ein Jahrtausend ging zu Ende und Simeon war geradezu berauscht von den Vibes auf Ibiza. „Ich weiß noch genau, wie ich im Amnesia stand und Menschen sah, die sich umarmten, weinten und dazu lief die Musik von Hill Street Blues. Ich verstand nicht, was da passierte, aber musste es unbedingt herausfinden“.

Einmal vom Ibiza Flair verzaubert, war es nur noch eine Frage der Zeit, bis er nicht nur beruflich auf Ibiza die ersten Schritte unternahm, sondern auch seinen Wohnsitz hierhin verlegte. Er erkannte schnell, dass es keine globalen Events auf Ibiza gab (mit Ausnahme von MTV). Es sollte ein schweres erstes Jahr werden, er suchte Arbeit als Promotor und es gab Probleme mit fehlenden Lizenzen. Kein Wunder, dass internationale Firmen zunächst zurückhaltend auf Ibiza reagierten. Es sollte Jahre dauern, bis er den Ruf festigen konnte und mit Red Bull sich die erste Größe nach Ibiza wagte. Danach ging es aufwärts.

17 Jahre später gehören diese Anfangsschwierigkeiten der Vergangenheit an. Simeon geht nach wie vor in seinem turbulenten Job auf: Er liebt seine Kunden und die verrückten Partys, die er auf der ganzen Welt organisiert. Nichtsdestotrotz: Die Saison ist lang und hart und erst im November kehrt etwas Ruhe ein, Halloween ist immer die letzte große Party, danach heißt es durchschnaufen. Zeit für die Kinder, etwas Snowboard fahren, ein paar Städtetrips und Reisen nach Asien – das ist die Winterzeit für Simeon. Er ist angekommen auf Ibiza, es ist seine Heimat geworden und sein Leben. Trotz mancher Schwierigkeiten ist es für ihn 2017 in vielerlei Hinsicht besser: Die Insel ist professioneller und businessorientierter geworden, es gibt wunderbare Restaurants und viele gute Dienstleister. „Als wir damals Internet bekamen, stellte Telefonica so eine Art Ampel auf mit drei Farben, und nur wenn es Orange leuchtete, konntest du das Internet nutzen und musstest dich beeilen: es war crazy!“

Jetzt haben wir Hochsaison, jede Nacht ist ein Arbeitstag für Simeon. Wie gelingt es dem Club-Veteranen Familie und seinen stressigen Job unter einen Hut zu bekommen? „Ich bin nicht sicher, ob ich überhaupt jemals versucht habe, diesem Wahnsinn zu entkommen. Ich liebe diese Hektik, ich lebe täglich auf Adrenalin. Mein Lebensstil passt perfekt zu mir“

Beschreibe DEIN Ibiza in fünf Worten

„Aufregend, frustrierend, intensiv, heiß und bereichernd“