Stacey Pullen was born in 1969, a year after the Detroit riots, an event that kick-started the city’s gradual decline into poverty. Growing up against an increasingly dilapidated backdrop of economic uncertainty and civil unrest, music soon became Stacey’s creative outlet. “My uncle was a session drummer,” Stacey explains. “My dad played in motown groups and used to teach violin and trumpet in a local record store. Music was always around, but I didn’t think it was my calling until I started playing the flute when I was nine years old. That’s when everything started coming together.”

After the riots in ’68, the city’s Fortune 500 businesses relocated to the suburbs, while the thriving automotive industry that had defined the region began moving its operations abroad. Once the most affluent city in the United States, within the space of a decade commerce and communities were abandoning Detroit on mass. “I remember taking the bus with my mum,” Stacey recalls. “She used to tell me stories about the club scene, how you didn’t have to travel for 20 minutes to get to a grocery store. But it took decades for Detroit to reach its lowest point.”

The city finally hit rock bottom in 2014, when Detroit’s Water and Sewerage Department cut off supply to thousands of households who were unable to pay their bills. At the time, the United Nations considered the act a possible human rights violation. Since then, the situation has stabilised somewhat and Detroit is actually having something of renaissance. “Businesses are returning, restaurants are opening,” Stacey continues. “Real estate prices are rising, but they are still much cheaper than most US cities. You can buy a house in Detroit for as little as $500. But you’ve got to invest in the neighbourhood as well. It’s going to take twenty years of investment to rebuild the communities. Right now, I think Detroit is a lot like Berlin was when the wall came down. Young entrepreneurs want to invest in the city and make it great again.”

At the time of writing, downtown Detroit is currently going through the process of gentrification. Low-income residents are being displaced in favour of big business, which is moving in to restore the rundown central areas. “The whole gentrification thing is a hard pill for people to swallow,” Stacey says. “The people living in those downtown areas have been living there all their lives. But it’s a catch-22 situation, because you need new ideas to help the neighbourhoods flourish again. Most of the people who live in Detroit have never been outside Detroit, so it’s all they know. I’m fortunate enough to travel the world as an ambassador for my music and for my city. To be able to tell these stories from a different perspective… it’s like a therapy session. We’ve always had these documentaries labelling Detroit as the murder capital of the world. And in some ways this is true, but in other ways it’s a beautiful chaos and I think the story needs to be told from a different perspective.”

Catch Stacey Pullen performing at Music On at Amnesia throughout the summer, and at Paradise at DC10 on August 24th. 

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Stacey Pullen  wurde 1969 geboren, ein Jahr nach den Detroit Riots – ein Ereignis, das für den Beginn des Abstiegs der Stadt steht. Aufgewachsen vor dem Hintergrund von sozialen Unruhen und wirtschaftlicher Schieflage, wurde Musik schnell zu Staceys kreativem Fluchtpunkt. „Mein Onkel war Session-Drummer“erklärt Stacey. „Mein Vater spielte in Motown Bands und unterrichtete Violine und Trompete in einem Musikladen der Stadt. Musik war immer da, aber ich wusste nicht recht, ob es mein Ding sein würde, bis ich im Alter von neun Jahren mit dem Flötenspiel begann. Von da an kam eines zum anderen“.

Nach den Riots von 1968 zog sich das Fortune-500-Business in die Vorstädte zurück, während die vormals blühende Auto-Industrie, die die Region prägte, sich ins Ausland verlagerte. Einst die aufstrebendste Stadt der USA, kehrten Kommerz und Communities Detroit binnen einer Dekade den Rücken zu. „Ich erinnere mich, wie ich einmal mit meiner Mutter im Bus fuhr“ erzählt Stacey. „Sie erzählte mir Geschichten aus der Clubszene und aus jener Zeit, da du nicht erst zwanzig Minuten bis zum nächsten Laden unterwegs warst. Bis zum absoluten Tiefpunkt Detroits sollte es dennoch einige Zeit dauern“

Den erreichte die Stadt schließlich 2014, als die Stadtwerke tausenden von zahlungsunfähigen Haushalten die Wasserleitungen kappten. Eine Maßnahme, die von der UN als eine mögliche Menschenrechtsverletzung angesehen wurde. Die Situation hat sich inzwischen wieder stabilisiert und Detroit erlebt eine kleine Renaissance. „Unternehmen kommen zurück, Restaurants eröffnen“ berichtet Stacey. „Grundstück- und Häuserpreise steigen, sind aber immer noch um einiges günstiger als in den meisten US-Städten. In Detroit kannst du ein Haus für 500 Dollar kaufen, aber du musst auch in die Nachbarschaft investieren. Es wird zwei Jahrzehnte dauern, bis die Communities wieder aufgebaut sind. Heute ist die Stadt so ähnlich wie Berlin zum Zeitpunkt des Mauerfalls. Junge Unternehmer wollen investieren und die Stadt zu alter Größe zurückführen.“

In diesen Tagen erlebt downtown Detroit seine Gentrifizierung. Einwohner mit niedrigem Einkommen werden vom big Business an den heruntergekommenen Rand der Stadt gedrängt. „Das ganze Gentrifizierungs-Ding ist eine bittere Pille für die Leute“ sagt Stacey. „Die Menschen in den Downtown-Gegenden haben dort ihr ganzes Leben verbracht. Aber es ist eine Catch-22-Situation – du brauchst neue Ideen, um die Gegend wieder nach vorn zu bringen. Viele der Leute, die in Detroit leben, waren nie weg. Sie kennen nichts anderes. Ich hatte das Glück, als Botschafter meiner Musik und meiner Stadt um die Welt zu reisen. Diese Geschichten aus einer anderen Perspektive zu erzählen, das ist wie eine Therapiesitzung.  Es gab immer diese Dokumentationen, in denen Detroit den Stempel „Hauptstadt der Morde“ aufgedrückt bekam und sicher ist das auf eine bestimmte Art wahr. Aber gleichzeitig ist das Ganze auch ein wunderschönes Durcheinander und diese Geschichte muss ebenso aus einem anderen Blickwinkel erzählt werden.“

Nicht verpassen – Stacey Pullen bei Music On im Amnesia während des ganzen Sommers, außerdem am 24. August beim Paradise im DC10

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|