From Easter when the holiday season starts until the end of October, hordes of visitors and also quite few locals treat themselves to a trip around the harbour of Ibiza on board a Llaüt, a small boat traditional to the Island. These wonderful and affordable waterborne excursions operated by Aniano and Lourdes Costa Mariné are particularly spectacular as the sun sets and evening begins to fall. This brother-and-sister team are the heirs of the man who started up the regular ferry between the pier in the harbour and the Playa de Talamanca which in those days was a veritable mini-paradise. Benjamí Costa Bailach, a union activist of a socialist persuasion, founded the shipping line that is now run by his grandchildren back in 1932: however, the boats now only serve the shopping and hotel area of Es Botafoc.

Under the Franco regime, the ship owner was ‘rewarded’ for his allegiance to the Second Spanish Republic during the Civil War with a fourteen-year jail sentence, seven and a half years of which were spent in the cells of the Town Hall. These were hard times for him and his family. And yet, after surviving repression under the Fascists, ‘Laieta’ as he was known managed to get his business up and running again with the help of his children. At that time he also owned the ‘La Estrella’ café which still exists to this day. 1953 was a pioneering period with few visitors coming to the Island and plenty of wild ideas about the economic potential that the Pitiusas offered, even in those days.

As demand increased, the old Llaüt ‘Reina del Mar’, which also transported cement and building materials to Formentera, was replaced with two more modern and functional craft: the ‘Talamanca’ built in 1960 and the ‘Illa Plana’ built in 1967. Both of these are still in service and were joined by a new member of the fleet, the ‘El Corso’ built in 1988. The route plied by these boats today includes stops opposite the El Divino discotheque, the company’s most important client. “We adapt ourselves to the times,” explains Antonio, whose mini-fleet won the 2003 award for ‘Best Company in Ibiza and Formentera’. A tremendous honour for this legendary seafaring outfit.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 13th, 2022|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: July 19th, 2018|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: July 13th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: June 24th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: May 25th, 2016|Categories: Tradition|

Ab Ostern, wenn die Saison beginnt, bis Ende Oktober gönnen sich ganze Scharen von Urlaubern und auch viele Einheimische das Vergnügen, den Hafen von Ibiza an Bord einer Llaüt zu erkunden, einem traditionellen kleinen Boot der Insel. Diese wunderbaren und erschwinglichen Ausflüge auf dem Wasser, die besonders im Sonnenuntergang zu empfehlen sind, wenn es langsam Abend wird, verdanken wir den Geschwistern Aniano und Lourdes Costa Mariné. Sie sind die Erben des Gründers des regulären Schiffsverkehrs zwischen dem Anleger in der Stadt und der Playa de Talamanca, die zur damaligen Zeit noch ein richtiges kleines Paradies war. Der Reeder Benjamí Costa Bailach, ein gewerkschaftlicher Aktivist mit sozialistischer Weltanschauung, führte 1932 eine Seelinie ein, die mittlerweile von seinen Enkeln betrieben wird, obwohl die Boote heutzutage nur noch die Einkaufs- und Hotelzone Es Botafoc anfahren.

Die Franco-Diktatur „prämierte” den Reeder für seine Treue zur Zweiten Spanischen Republik während des Bürgerkrieges mit vierzehn Jahren Haft, von denen er siebeneinhalb Jahre im Klosterkerker des Rathauses verbrachte. Es waren harte Zeiten für ihn und seine Familie. Und dennoch: Nachdem er die Repressalien der Faschisten überstanden hatte, kurbelte „Laieta”, der Besitzer des heute noch existierenden Cafés La Estrella, das Geschäft mit Hilfe seiner Kinder wieder an. Man schrieb das Jahr 1953, eine Pionierzeit mit nur wenigen Gästen, aber voller Illusionen in Anbetracht der wirtschaftlichen Perspektiven, die die Pitiusas schon damals geboten haben.

Mit ansteigender Nachfrage wurde die alte Llaüt „Reina del Mar”, die auch Zement und Baumaterial nach Formentera geliefert hatte, durch zwei modernere und funktionellere Boote ersetzt: „Talamanca” (aus dem Jahr 1960) und „Illa Plana” (1967). Beide Kähne sind noch heute in Betrieb und erhielten noch einmal Unterstützung in Form von „El Corso” (1988). Die heutige Route beinhaltet Haltestellen gegenüber von der Diskothek El Divino, dem wichtigsten Werbeträger der Betreiber. „Wir passen uns an die neuen Gegebenheiten an”, erläutert Aniano, dessen Mini-Flotte im Jahre 2003 mit dem Preis für die Beste Firma von Ibiza und Formentera ausgezeichnet worden ist. Eine große Ehre für diese legendäre Seefahrer-Saga.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 19th, 2018|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Juli 13th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Juni 24th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Mai 25th, 2016|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: August 6th, 2015|Categories: Tradition|