Formula 1 driver Nico Rosberg is under a lot of stress – as he normally is at this time of year after grueling weeks of testing his new Formula 1 supercar in advance of the season beginning on March 17. Traditionally kicking off in Melbourne, Australia, this will be the first real test for Nico Rosberg and his new Silver Arrow. As one of the stars of the multi-billion Formula 1 circus he goes back on tour around the globe, this time with 19 races scheduled and in which by the end of November the world champion will be crowned.

IBIZASTYLE_NICOROSBERG-003Nico and his new teammate, Lewis Hamilton, along with Mercedes have put sweat and tears into developing the new company car. The next stage in their fate rests upon a number of things but namely: how fast can the car really go? Is it stable? Will Rosberg and Hamilton make the cut? Answers to these questions will undoubtedly become clear during the first race of what’s going to be a long and grueling season.

The job as a Formula 1 driver requires an element of everything. Since it is important for Rosberg to be fit and recharge between races to power his batteries, this is something he does regularly on the Balearic island. However Ibiza is more than a holiday resort – the island is a place to call home for the 27-year-old and he is firmly rooted here. Rosberg was indeed born in Wiesbaden but grew up in Monte Carlo and Ibiza. “I love the island because I spent a lot of time on it as a child. Many people simply feel at home here” he says.

IBIZASTYLE_NICOROSBERG-006Rosberg has inherited the racing genes from his father, the former Finnish world champion Keke Rosberg. In the eighties Rosberg senior built a go-karting track next to his house in Ibiza and at the age tender age of just two years old, the father put his son on his lap and let the future star steer the kart for the first time. At ten Nico got his own car and at the age of 17 when he articulated a Formula 1 racing car for the first time during a test – that was the moment when his destiny was laid bare.

The addiction to the intoxicating feeling of acceleration has never let go. In 2006, he became a regular driver in the famous British ‘Team Williams’ and in 2010 he moved to Mercedes where he hangs with his teammate, world champion Michael Schumacher, every season.

It was in the summer of last year when Rosberg, who speaks English, German, French and Italian, and his girlfriend Vivian Sibold found their house in Ibiza. Rosberg often comes to the island after grueling races in order to “load his batteries” and spends his vacation in the summer here.

He often visits the beaches and says he loves to plow a jet ski through the deep blue water. “I’ll drive for a very long time. Jet skiing is great fun if you can jump over the waves.” He also loves the calmer paddleboards or balancing on a rope – both of which he says are a “great workout”.

IBIZASTYLE_NICOROSBERG-001Rosberg adds that he finds the conditions in Ibiza ideal for swimming, cycling and running – if he wanted to ramp up his physical training for example and venture into doing a triathlon. However when he really wants to enjoy his time here he warms up his vocal cords and sings karaoke for his friends.

Rumor has it he’s quite good.

Formel-1-Pilot Nico Rosberg steht unter Hochspannung, es ist wieder soweit: Nach aufreibenden Testwochen startet die neue Formel-1-Saison am 17. März traditionell im australischen Melbourne – der Ernstfall für Rosberg und seinen neuen Silberpfeil. Als einer der Stars des milliardenschweren Rennzirkus‘ geht er wieder auf Tour rund um den Globus, diesmal sind es 19 Rennen, in denen bis Ende November der Weltmeister gekürt wird.

IBIZASTYLE_NICOROSBERG-003Schweiß und Tränen haben sie bei Mercedes in die Entwicklung des neuen Dienstwagens von Nico Rosberg und seinem neuen Teamkollegen, Lewis Hamilton, gesteckt. Jetzt kommt es darauf an: Wie schnell ist das Auto wirklich? Ist es stabil? Fahren Rosberg und Hamilton endlich in der Spitze mit? Antworten darauf werden die ersten Rennen einer langen und kräftezehrenden Saison geben.

Schweiß und Tränen haben sie bei Mercedes in die Entwicklung des neuen Dienstwagens von Nico Rosberg und seinem neuen Teamkollegen, Lewis Hamilton, gesteckt. Jetzt kommt es darauf an: Wie schnell ist das Auto wirklich? Ist es stabil? Fahren Rosberg und Hamilton endlich in der Spitze mit? Antworten darauf werden die ersten Rennen einer langen und kräftezehrenden Saison geben.

Der Job als Formel-1-Pilot verlangt einem alles ab. Da ist es für Rosberg wichtig, fit zu sein und zwischen den Rennen Kraft zu tanken – und das macht er regelmäßig auf der Balearen-Insel. Doch Ibiza ist mehr als ein Urlaubsort: Die Insel ist ein Stück Heimat für den 27-Jährigen, hier ist er festverwurzelt. Geboren wurde Rosberg zwar in Wiesbaden, wuchs aber in Monte Carlo und Ibiza auf. „Ich liebe die Insel, denn ich habe dort als Kind viel Zeit verbracht, kenne viele Leute und fühle mich zu Hause“, sagt er.

IBIZASTYLE_NICOROSBERG-006Rosberg hat die Rennfahrer-Gene von seinem Vater geerbt, dem früheren finnischen Weltmeister Keke Rosberg. Rosberg senior lässt in den achtziger Jahren neben seinem Haus auf Ibiza eine Kartbahn bauen – der Vater nimmt den Jungen das erste Mal mit zwei Jahren auf den Schoß und lässt ihn das Kart lenken. Mit zehn Jahren bekommt er ein eigenes. Und spätestens seit er mit 17 Jahren das erste Mal einen Formel-1-Boliden bei einem Test lenkt, ist es um ihn geschehen. Die Sucht nach dem berauschenden Gefühl der Beschleunigung hat ihn seitdem nicht losgelassen. 2006 wird er Stammfahrer beim britischen Traditionsteam Williams, 2010 wechselt er zu Mercedes und hängt seinen Teamkollegen, Rekordweltmeister Michael Schumacher, in jeder Saison ab.

Seit Sommer vergangenen Jahres haben Rosberg, der deutsch, englisch, französisch und italienisch spricht, und seine Freundin Vivian Sibold ein Haus auf Ibiza. Rosberg kommt nach aufreibenden Rennen oft auf die Insel, um „seine Batterien zu laden“ und verbringt seinen Urlaub in der Sommerpause hier.

IBIZASTYLE_NICOROSBERG-001Er fährt dann oft an den Strand. Rosberg liebt es, mit dem Jetski durch das tiefblaue Wasser zu pflügen: „Ich fahr‘ schon sehr lange Jetski. Es macht enorm viel Spaß, wenn man über die Wellen springen kann.“ Außerdem liebt er das etwas ruhigere Paddleboard oder das Balancieren auf einem Seil, die ein „tolles Training“ sind.
Will er härter trainieren, wagt er sich auch an einen Triathlon: Schwimmen, Radfahren, Laufen. Für all diese Aktivitäten findet er auf Ibiza ideale Voraussetzungen. Wenn er aber mal wirklich Spaß haben will, trainiert er seine Stimmbänder – und singt für seine Freunde Karaoke.

Gerüchteweise kann er das auch ganz gut.