My name is Iain Thomson, managing editor at Essential Ibiza. I’m an Ibizaholic! From my first encounter in 1983, I have been addicted to the island, to help me get a handle on that addiction it was time to check into therapy; Ibiza Therapy. The pop-up gastronomic experience has been one of the hottest tickets throughout the winter, offering islanders a unique combination of Michelin star chefs in the kitchen and respected Ibiza based DJs behind the booth. As the island starts to ease into life and look to the new season, I headed to OD Ocean Drive hotel for the latest edition of Ibiza Therapy, where we would be treated to the talents of not one but three chefs – Dave de Belder, Luca Rossi and Andrea Magnelli.

It’s a great time to be on the island, there is a real sense of calm before the approaching storm, the roads are quiet, there is last minute building being completed and some fantastic intimate gatherings to be enjoyed. The first spattering of tourists has already landed and can be easily identified with their shorts and tee-shirts as the rest of us stay layered up. The marina is not quite at its vibrant peak but many of the venues are full as I drop in for my first taste of the dining experience that has captured the imagination of the island. Howard Hill is on deck duty and is in the early throws of his musical masterclass that will see him take us through several genres throughout the evening. It’s sets the tone perfectly as diners gather early to sample the delights of Law Gin.

Having already collected several awards and seen the brand launch in several other countries, the Ibiza based Law Gin is enjoying the fruits of its labour. With a station packed with all sorts of goodies, brand ambassador Raquel Herrera Garcia infused the popular gin with a selection of different additions to give each glass a unique flavour. Ibiza Therapy boasts a chilled atmosphere, offering the opportunity to make new friends as well as meet old ones, all under the premise of sharing some of the most amazing food, as Dave, Luca and Andrea worked their magic in the kitchen. The conversation flowed around the table as new friends got to know each other, that is, until Luca appeared with the first dish and talked us through its creation. This an entertaining part of the experience and gives some insight into the level of creativity and love that has gone into every part of the feat we were about to enjoy.

Our first taste of the magic that has been produced in the kitchen is a homemade goat ricotta, almonds, Kombucha vinegar and wild herbs and a Mediterranean cod croquette, with coconut, aji amarillo kimchie, two completely different dishes that complement each other. The creamy ricotta with the subtle bite of the Kombucha vinegar a is a delight but it is the burst of flavours from the cod croquette, including a little sweet and sour and a fiery kick from the homemade kimchie that really catches the attention. The portions are the perfect size to appreciate the culinary artistry but leave enough space for the following rounds. Next up is the crispy fish roe bao burger, avocado jam, ají limo mayo and criolla salsa. Cutlery is abandoned in favour of hands as we all munch through another plethora of textures and flavours. We debate which is the more impressive, the unbelievable taste of the food itself or the creativity to come up with these magnificent combinations before bringing them to fruition.

Clams are not a dish I would normally opt for, given the choice but the
venus clam with creamy coconut, kefir lime, green beans, chili and cilantro is another stand out. Having disposed of the clams themselves, we are left with what is a delicious soup, which is quickly dispatched. Another flavor explosion in the mouth from the distinctive clams to the bite of the chili. The general consensus up to this point is that we couldn’t identify a clear favourite, such was the level of each dish. This was about to change with the arrival of the crispy chicken wings gado-gado, spicy pineapple, miso mustard and wild sorrel. It was time to get our fingers messy as we delve into the bowl to fish out the wings. The meat fell off the bone, the miso mustard was the perfect accompaniment and the sweet and spicy mix of the pineapple was incredible. Such was the impact of this particular dish hat plans were hatched to nab another portion, unsuccessfully.

It was probably just as well we didn’t overdo the chicken wings as there was just enough room for the final dish of the evening, one that was made in Ibiza. Every ingredient was sourced locally and to say the cafe de Ibiza, es broll, carob and passion fruit was a fitting finale to one of the extraordinary meals I have ever had the pleasure of sitting down to would be the understatement of the day! All of the ingredients combined to create a spectacular climax for one of the most memorable dining experiences ever. The good news is that Ibiza Therapy will be continuing throughout the summer, meaning you have plenty of chances to book your table. Forget everything you ever knew about cooking or eating out and prepare to have your mind blown by this gastronomic masterclass.

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

Mein Name ist Iain Thomson, Chefredakteur bei Essential Ibiza,  und ich bin ein Ibizaholic. Seit meinem ersten Kontakt mit der Insel 1983 bin ich süchtig nach den Aromen der Insel und es gibt nur eine Therapie, die mich wirklich heilen kann: Ibiza Therapy. Ein ungewöhnlicher Name für eine gastronomische Eventreihe, deren Tickets in diesem Winter wie Gold gehandelt wurden. Michelin-Sterne-Köche am Herd und Star DJs an den Pults, eine heiße Mixtur, deren explosiver Anziehungskraft ich mich nicht entziehen konnte und mich auf dem Weg ins Ocean Drive Hotel machte, um die neueste Therapiesitzung nicht zu verpassen. Diese wartete gleich mit drei Chefköchen, Dave de Belder, Luca Rossi und Andrea Magnelli, auf.

Ich liebe die Stimmung auf der Insel kurz vor Saisonbeginn, die sogenannte Ruhe vor dem Sturm: Die Straßen sind frei vom Verkehr, es gibt neue Gebäude, die in letzter Minute fertiggestellt werden und fantastische Veranstaltungen, die im kleineren, etwas intimeren Kreis, genossen werden können. Ein paar Touristen sind bereits unterwegs, unschwer zu erkennen an Shorts und T-Shirts, während wir Einheimischen den Lagenlook bevorzugen. Der Hafen ist noch weit von vibrierender Ekstase entfernt, aber einige beliebte Sonnenplätze sind bereits gut besucht, wie ich auf dem Weg zu meiner experimentellen Therapiestunde registriere. Der satte Sound von Howard Hill begrüßte die illustre Gästeschar bei ihrem ersten Law Gin Aperitif.

Seit seiner Markteinführung konnte der hiesige Gin zahlreiche Awards abräumen und setzte seinen Siegeszug auf den internationalen Markt in rasender Geschwindigkeit fort.  Markenrepräsentant Raquel Herrera Garcia darf sich zu Recht etwas auf den Früchten seines Erfolgs ausruhen. Sein Konzept, die Aromen der Insel, wie z.B. Zitronenblüten, Wacholder und Meersalz, in den Gin einfließen zu lassen, ist aufgegangen. In lockerer Runde genießen die Gäste das Wiedersehen mit alten und neuen Freunden, teilen ihre Vorfreude auf das Überraschungs-Menü, während Dave, Luca und Andrea natürlich längst in der Küche verschwunden sind, um das Essen vorzubereiten. Luca übernimmt  den ersten Gang und allein seine detaillierten Ausführungen zu Beginn lassen die Liebe und die Akribie des gastronomischen Entstehungsprozesses jedes einzelnen Gerichts lebendig werden, das wir an diesen Tag genießen werden.

Unsere erste magische Kostprobe ist ein hausgemachtes Ziegen-Ricotta mit Mandeln, Kombucha-Essig und Wildkräutern sowie eine mediterrane Kabeljau-Krokette mit Kokosnuss und Aji Amarillo Kimchie. Eine Kombination, die es in sich hat: Der milde cremige Ricotta bekommt durch den Kombucha-Essig den nötigen Pep und die Kabeljaukrokette erhält durch die süßsaure Schärfe des Chili-Chinakohls einen feurigen Auftritt. Die Größe der Portionen sind perfekt, um wirklich alle Aromen vollständig zu genießen, aber auch noch Platz für die folgenden Runden zu lassen. Als nächstes wird ein knuspriger Fischrogen-Bao-Burger mit Avocado-Marmelade, Ají Limo Majo und Criolla Salsa serviert. Das weiche Brötchen (Bun) erinnert an einen Hefekloß und ergänzt sich perfekt mit dem Fischaroma und den scharfen Begleitern. Unsere Gespräche drehen sich inzwischen nur noch um diese großartigen Geschmacksnuancen und das Können der in der Küche verborgenen Genies.

Venusmuscheln sind zugegebener Maßen nicht mein Lieblingsgericht, aber die folgende asiatisch angehauchte Variante mit Kokosnussmilch, Limetten-Kefir, grünen Bohnen, Chili und Koriander ist ein weiteres Highlight. Nachdem wir die Muscheln herausgefischt haben, genießen wir die herrliche Suppe. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt sind wir bereits alle einer Meinung: Das Niveau jedes einzelnen Gerichts, jeder einzelnen Zutat ist extrem hoch, auf einen Favoriten konnten wir uns indes noch nicht einigen. Das sollte sich mit dem nächsten Gericht ändern: eine große Schüssel knuspriger Hähnchenflügel-Gado Gado mit scharfer Ananas, Miso-Senf und wildem Sauerampfer…  Voller Genuss lassen wir die Hemmungen und das Besteck fallen und fischen die Flügel mit den Fingen aus der Schale, um sie tief durch die herrliche Soße zu ziehen, um ja nichts zu verschwenden. Das Fleisch ist so zart und saftig, dass es sich von den Knochen löst und der Miso-Senf und die süßscharfe Ananas verschmelzen zur perfekten Synthese.

Und obwohl die Chicken Wings nach mehr schrien, sind wir nun froh, dass wir es nicht übertrieben haben, denn es wartet ein letzter Gang auf uns – so rein und natürlich wie Ibiza selbst. Jede einzelne Zutat dafür stammt von der Insel: Johannisbrot und Passionsfrucht – ein ibizenkisches Finale, in seiner Einfachheit ein grandioser Abschluss für eine außergewöhnliche Reihe fantastischer Gerichte. Allein die Kombinationen waren denkwürdig und das Beste, was ich seit langem gegessen habe. Wirklich spektakulär! Eine gute Nachricht zum Schluss: Nachdem Ihnen wahrscheinlich schon das Wasser im Munde zusammenläuft, Ibiza Therapy wird auch im Sommer Gäste und Gaumen erfreuen. Also sollten Sie es nicht versäumen, rechtzeitig einen Tisch zu buchen!

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 23rd, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 21st, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|