We met up with Brianna Price, better known to the world as B.Traits, in late May. Bri was in town to discuss the hot topic of gender equality within the music industry at the International Music Summit (IMS) at Hard Rock Hotel.

“These days, gender equality is not as much of an issue as it used to be,” Bri explains. “But a few years ago I was in a place where I didn’t want to talk about it. It was difficult to get equal billing on line-ups and also to get equal pay. I am quite positive that every female DJ has comes across a promoter or a sound engineer who doesn’t look at them with the respect they deserve. Or they’ve walked into the offices of a major record label and been told that a man is going to make their music because it’s going to sound better. A lot of us are really fighting against that now and saying: ‘I’m completely capable of doing this on my own. Just watch me do it!’”

Female DJs are currently thriving across the entire dance music spectrum, but when B.Traits first started DJing female role models were few and far between. “I had DJ Rap, and Kemistry & Storm,” Bri recalls. “And Daphne Oram who was the first woman to bring electronic music to the BBC. It’s quite a bit different now. Obviously you shouldn’t just include a female on any line-up just to tick that particular box. That’s ridiculous, but it needs to be considered.”

In addition to the gender debate at Hard Rock, Bri’s 2016 IMS commitments also included a DJ performance at Dalt Vila alongside Dubfire and Tale Of Us. “I’m feeling a little nervous,” she continues. “I’ve never played Dalt Vila before, but I’ve been to at least four raves up there. Ibiza is such a magical island, but playing at Dalt Vila is going to be really special.”

So special, in fact, that Bri pre-recorded her weekly Radio 1 broadcast in order to perform in Ibiza. “I think it’s really important to be live,” she explains. “It’s helped me grow as a presenter. When I’m live on the radio there is such a buzz; when I’m pre-recorded it’s not the same energy. I’ve given up most Friday gigs, but if it’s a really great event like the one at Dalt Vila I will occasionally pre-record.”

Back in London, the home Bri moved into in February is nearly finished. “We gutted the entire house,” she explains, “redesigned the whole thing. It’s got a Moroccan feel to it and we have lots of plants. I’m really into my green spaces.”

Bri’s villa on the outskirts of San Miguel is just as lush. “This year’s villa is absolutely beautiful,” she smiles. “When I come to Ibiza it’s nice to escape and just listen to the birds and the crickets, eat fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden. The club life here is incredible, but in the last two years I’ve been trying to experience more of the countryside. To be able to chill out and not hear a 4/4 kick drum for a few hours makes life as a DJ a lot more enjoyable!”

Catch B.Traits performing with Carl Cox at Space, for VIVa Warriors at Sankeys, and at ONYX at Space throughout the summer.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Wir trafen Brianna Price, besser bekannt als B.Traits, Ende Mai. Bri war gekommen, um beim International Music Summit (IMS) im Hard Rock Hotel über das Thema Gleichberechtigung in der Musikindustrie zu sprechen.

„Heutzutage ist die Gender-Diskussion nicht mehr das Riesenthema wie früher,“ erklärt Bri. „Aber vor einigen Jahren sah das anders aus. Es war schwierig, gleichberechtigte Line-ups zu bekommen und das gleiche Geld wie ein Mann. Ich bin sicher, jeder weibliche DJ ist schon einmal einem respektlosen Promoter oder Soundtechniker begegnet. Oder sie fanden sich im Büro eines Majorlabels wieder, um sich anhören zu müssen, ein Mann würde jetzt ihre Musik machen, weil es sich einfach besser anhört. Viele von uns kämpfen heute dagegen und sagen: ‚Ich bin absolut in der Lage, mein Ding allein zu machen. Schau einfach her!‘“

Weibliche DJs sind im gesamten Dancemusic-Spektrum auf dem Vormarsch. Als B.Traits mit dem DJen begann, war die Situation eine andere. „Ich hatte DJ Rap, Kemistry & Storm,“ erinnert Bri sich. „Und Daphne Oram, die erste Frau, die elektronische Musik zur BBC brachte. Es ist schon anders heutzutage. Dennoch sollte man nicht einfach eine weibliche Künstlerin nur der Vollständigkeit halber ins Line-up nehmen. Das ist völlig daneben, aber zuweilen Tatsache.“

Neben ihrer Teilnahme an der Gender-Debatte im Hard Rock Hotel, gehört auch eine DJ-Performance an der Seite von Dubfire und Tale of Us zu Bris diesjährigen IMS-Commitments. „Ich bin etwas nervös,“ sagt sie. „Ich habe noch nie in Dalt Vila gespielt, obwohl ich schon auf mindestens vier Raves dort war. Ibiza ist so eine magische Insel, die Show in Dalt Vila wird etwas ganz Besonderes sein.“

Tatsächlich so besonders, dass Bri ihren wöchentlichen Radio1-Broadcast vorproduziert hat, um auf Ibiza auftreten zu können. „Ich denke, es ist sehr wichtig, live zu arbeiten,“ erklärt sie. „Dadurch bin ich einfach besser geworden. Wenn man live im Radio ist, da vibriert es förmlich. Ich habe die Freitags-Gigs fast völlig aufgegeben. Es sei denn, es findet so ein Riesen-Event wie jetzt in Dalt Vila statt. Dann nehme ich vorher auf.“

Daheim in London hat Bri ihre neue Wohnung in Kürze fertig renoviert. „Wir haben das ganze Haus auf den Kopf gestellt. Alles neu designt. Es hat jetzt einen marokkanischen Touch, überall sind Pflanzen. Darauf steh ich total.“

Bris Villa am Rande von San Miguel kann sich ebenfalls sehen lassen. „Dieses Jahr ist das Haus einfach wunderschön,“ lächelt sie. „Wenn ich nach Ibiza komme, ist es herrlich, sich zurückzuziehen und den Vögeln und Grillen zuzuhören, frisches Obst und Gemüse aus dem Garten zu essen. Das Clubleben hier ist unglaublich, aber in den letzten Jahren versuche ich das Landleben mehr zu genießen. Es macht das Leben als DJ einfach angenehmer, wenn man ein paar Stunden ohne 4/4-Kickdrum chillen kann!“

Catch B.Traits tritt zusammen mit Carl Cox im Space auf, für VIVa Warriors im Sankeys, und im ONYX at Space während des gesamten Sommers

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|