When one thinks of fine dining in Ibiza, the scene is truly diverse, different and daring, with more and more new restaurants throwing open their doors each year, offering innovative and unusual cuisines from across the globe, using gimmicks, outrageous decor and inventive menus to attract the notoriously fickle set of visitors and island residents alike who dine and drink each year. However, it is rare that many of these new ventures have what it takes to stand the test of time on an island so full of spirit and adventure.

One exception to this rule is the simply iconic dining destination Bambuddha, which this years celebrates a mighty and majestic 20 years of offering the people of Ibiza their very own, truly unique MediterrAsian cuisine, a description which was given to their very inimitable style of food by founder johnmoon, and has since gone on to be copied, but most certainly never equalled, by venues across the world. Bambuddha, a place where the unusual is not only embraced but encouraged, personifies the ‘anything goes’ attitude of this island which we live, laugh and love on.

No one who has, or will in future visit the Temple which houses Bambuddha will ever forget their experience, here, johnmoon began the legacy in 1999, and coined the now infamous phrase, ‘The Black Sheep Tribe’ for those mavericks, radical, reckless and unconventional dissidents who made up the initial clientele in Bambuddha early days.

Over the years, the restaurant has withstood the challenges of time, facing the ups and downs, highs and lows which Ibiza throws at all of us who reside on her hallowed lands, and has continued to reinvent herself as a leading light in the culinary scene of the island, with both loyal customers who return year upon year to enjoy the inimitable atmosphere, as well as new visitors who are welcomed and drawn in by the magic which only Bambuddha can offer.

In 2017 johnmoon handed over the reins to his son Jonjon who now has the pride of guiding the restaurant into her 20th year, a true achievement, and one he is clearly proud of, proving that Bambuddha is very much a family affair.

As we enter this milestone year, the menu at Bambuddha is unchanged, yet still boasts some of the most innovative and divine dishes to be found anywhere on the island. To name just two, which are indeed amongst the most popular choices, we dined on the Alaskan Crab, a signature dish, inspired by travels to Kowloon in Hong Kong, that resulted in this delectable combination of succulent crab claws, roasted in Tobanjan paste which has a fiery, feisty flavour. Served with a fresh lime which brings out the flavours to perfection, it’s no surprise that this is a dish which has become a repeated request.

Embracing our inner carnivore, we turned our attention the Fusion BBQ Wagyu, with these slices of Korean marinated organic beef so moist and cooked to perfection that they simply melt in the mouth. The meat has been slowly smoked in traditional American barrel style, using local woods to achieve the unmistakable aroma and flavour.

The food and infamous cocktail menu at Bambuddha reflect the diversity of the restaurant itself, and the sensuality which the venue exudes at every point, from the covered Temple dining area to the inviting Balinese beds which simply beg to be lounged upon after indulging in a divine dinner.

We at Ibiza Style have been Bambuddha devotees for the last 20 years, and raise our glass to Jonjon and his team as they enter their next decadent decade, which will no doubt offer the same unrivalled standards of food, service, and excellence.

 

Bambuddha

Carrer de Sant Joan, Km 8.5
07814 Santa Eulària des Riu

Die gastronomische Szene auf Ibiza ist abwechslungsreich, experimentierfreudig und ausgefallen. Jedes Jahr öffnen weitere Restaurants und versuchen mit ungewöhnlichen Menüs und exzentrischem Interieur, den rastlosen Besuchern und Bewohnern neue Erlebnisse zu bieten. Doch so schnell diese Sterne am Gastro Himmel auch aufblitzen, so rasch erlischt ihr Glanz auch wieder. Nur wenige Restaurants bestehen dauerhaft auf der schnelllebigen Insel.

Eine große Ausnahme stellt die Restaurant-Ikone Bambuddha dar, die in diesem Jahr ihr 20 (!)jähriges Bestehen feiern darf – ein unglaublicher Geburtstag, der im Grunde schon alles über die Exzellenz und die Qualität der einzigartigen „MediterrAsian“ Küche aussagt. Inhaber Johnmoon prägte seit der Eröffnung diesen Stil und ließ damit seine kulinarischen Erlebnisse einfließen, die er in den Jahren zuvor auf seinen Reisen durch die Welt gesammelt hatte. Bambuddha ist mehr als ein Restaurant, es ist eine Haltung, in der das Ungewöhnliche nicht abgelehnt, sondern zelebriert und der freie Geist der Insel gefeiert wird.

Wer einmal im Tempel Bambuddha war, wird dieses Erlebnis nicht vergessen, ein Abenteuer, das Johnmoon 1999 startete und bei dem ihn, wie er sagt, „eine Horde schwarzer Schafe“ maßgeblich unterstützten: unkonventionelle Dissidenten und Bonvivants, die das unangepasste Leben und natürlich gutes Essen liebten.

In Laufe der Jahre hat sich das Restaurant den Herausforderungen der Zeit gestellt, den Aufs und Abs, die wie Wellen auf den Strand schlugen und das Restaurant jedes Mal wie reingewaschen und unbeschadet zurückließen. Das Bambuddha hat sich stets neu erfunden, ohne jemals seine Quintessenz aufzugeben und erstrahlt jedes Jahr aufs Neue am gastronomischen Himmel Ibizas, gleichermaßen besucht von Stammgästen und neuen Besuchern, magisch angezogen vom legendären Ruf.

Vor zwei Jahren übergab Johnmoon die Leitung des Restaurants an seinen Sohn Jonjon, der nun die Ehre hat, das Restaurant in sein Jubiläumsjahr zu führen und der wahnsinnig stolz auf das Familienunternehmen ist.

Auch nach 20 Jahren ist die Speisekarte des Bambuddha im Kern unverändert. Einige göttlich schmeckende Gerichte verzaubern die Gäste jedes Mal aufs Neue und sind sonst nirgends auf der Insel zu finden. Ich möchte an dieser Stelle nur zwei erwähnen: Zunächst Alaskan Crab, inspiriert von einer Reise nach Kowloon in Hongkong. Die Garnelen werden in Tobanjan-Paste geröstet und bekommen dadurch einen feurig-frischen Geschmack. Serviert mit frischer Limette, die die Aromen perfekt herauskitzelt, ist es kein Wunder, dass das Gericht zu den beliebtesten des Restaurants gehört.

Ein Traum für alle Fleischliebhaber: Das Fusion BBQ Wagyu. Das Bio-Rind wird in schmale Streifen geschnitten und in einer koreanischen Gewürzmischung mariniert. Es wird dann nach amerikanischer Grill-Tradition, im Barrel Style, langsam geräuchert, wobei nur einheimische Hölzer verwendet werden, das gibt den unverwechselbaren Geschmack.

Nicht nur die Speisen und die berüchtigte Cocktailkarte spiegeln die üppige Vielfalt und den sinnlichen Geist des Bambuddha wider, auch das Interieur mit seinem überdachten Tempelbereich und den balinesischen Betten, die zum Entspannen einladen, machen das göttliche Ambiente aus.

Wir von Ibiza Style sind Fans vom Bambuddha, und das genau seit 20 Jahren! Wir freuen uns mit Jonjon und seinem Team auf ein weiteres Jahrzehnt voller kulinarischer Exzellenz und überragendem Service. Happy Birthday!

Bambuddha

Carrer de Sant Joan, Km 8.5
07814 Santa Eulària des Riu