Never before has an Ibiza season been prefaced by so many gripping news stories. The closure of Space. The opening of Hï. The sale of Pacha to Trilantic Capital. Defected’s daring move to San Antonio. Not to mention the relocation of techno godfather Carl Cox to Privilege, the biggest nightclub in the world.

“This summer, Privilege will be revamped,” Carl explains. “After Space, I was never going to do another Ibiza residency. So, I’m doing two huge shows at Privilege instead. I’m not there to be cool, I’m not there to be trendy, I’m there to do what I do best – deliver pure techno, pure energy, purely what I believe in. It’s a vision of 21st century raving at a 21st century Privilege!”

Excited yet? You should be, after all, Pure Carl Cox is the largest underground party to land at Privilege since Manumission. “One of the reasons Manumission was so appealing was the wow factor,” Carl continues. “It was hard to believe so many people were together on the same dancefloor, enjoying the music and the atmosphere at the same time. We had that same ideal at Space, but it was harder to pull off because Space was split over four rooms. Half the people were in the Discoteca, the rest were scattered across the venue. At Privilege, we can get everyone under one roof. The spectacle is going to blow people’s minds.”

From the early days of Turbo Sound, since rave began, to their long running partnership at Space, Carl has been working with Funktion One loudspeaker systems boss Tony Andrews. Reassuringly, the two friends will come together again at Privilege later this summer. “I wouldn’t be able to do this without Tony,” Carl admits. “It would be impossible. Anyone can put a big rig in a nightclub, but Privilege is not an easy space to fill with sound. Tony knows everything about pinpointing frequencies in any room and he’s going to make sure the sound in that club is the very best you’ve ever heard. We always had the flagship soundsystem at Space, now Privilege is going to be the absolute experience.”

Without a full season DJ residency to manage, this summer Carl has the opportunity to devote more of his time to his second passion – drag racing his custom-built Ford Capri in Australia. “My car is a turbo car,” says Carl. “You need catlike reactions to handle it. Anticipate the lights, anticipate your move. Wind it up to three-quarter power, drop the button and the thing takes off. 0 to 60 in a second! The car wants to do all manner of crazy stuff. You’re on a knife edge every time you go out there. The engine can break down, catch fire. You might crash into the barriers or into another car. But that’s motorsport and I enjoy it immensely. Right now I have two elements in my life pushing me forward – DJing and drag racing – and I’m extremely grateful to be doing both at such a high level.”

Rave at Pure Carl Cox at Privilege on July 11 and July 18

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Nie zuvor gab es im Vorfeld der Ibiza-Saison so heiße News. Die Schließung des Space. Die Eröffnung des Hï. Der Verkauf des Pacha an Trilantic Capital. Der gewagte Schritt von Defected nach San Antonio. Nicht zu vergessen, den Umzug des Techno-Godfather Carl Cox ins Privilege, den größten Nachtclub der Welt.

„Diesen Sommer wird das Privilege überarbeitet,“ erklärt Carl. „Nach dem Space wollte ich keine Residency mehr auf Ibiza übernehmen. Also starte ich stattdessen zwei riesige Shows im Privilege. Nicht, um cool oder trendy zu sein, nicht- Ich bin da, um das zu tun, was ich am besten kann – puren Techno liefern, pure Energie, alles, woran ich glaube. Es ist die Raving-Vision des 21. Jahrhunderts im Privilege des 21. Jahrhunderts!“

Schon gespannt? Mit Recht. Pure Carl Cox ist die größte Underground-Party im Privilege seit Manumission. „Was Manumission ausmachte war der Wow-Faktor,“ so Carl weiter. „Es war unglaublich, so viele Menschen zusammen auf demselben Dancefloor zu erleben, die die Musik und Atmosphäre im selben Moment erleben. Das war auch im Space so, aber dort war es schwieriger, da es sich über vier Räume verteilte. Die Hälfte der Leute war in der Discoteca, der Rest in der Venue verteilt. Im Privilege haben wir alle unter einem Dach. Das Spektakel wird die Leute zum Durchdrehen bringen.“

Von den frühen Rave-Tagen des Turbo Sound bis zur langjährigen Partnerschaft im Space, hat Carl Cox mit dem Boss von Funktion One Lautsprecher-Systemen, Tony Andrews, zusammengearbeitet. Gut zu wissen, dass die beiden Freunde diesen Sommer auch im Privilege zusammenarbeiten. „Ohne Tony ginge das nicht,“ gibt Carl zu. „Es wäre unmöglich. Klar kann jeder eine große Anlage in einem Nachtclub installieren, aber es ist nicht so leicht, den Sound für das Privilege zu machen. Tony weiß alles über die feinsten Frequenzen in jedem Raum und er gewährleistet, dass der Sound im Club zum Besten gehört, was es gibt. Wir hatten immer das Flagship Soundsystem im Space, jetzt wird das Privilege das Maß aller Dinge.

Ohne die Full-Season-Residency hat Carl Cox in diesem Jahr Gelegenheit, seiner zweiten Leidenschaft mehr Zeit zu widmen – Dragracing mit einem maßgeschneiderten Ford Capri in Australien. „Mein Auto ist ein Turbo,“ sagt Carl. „Du musst katzenartig reagieren, um ihn zu handlen. Die Signale antizipieren, die Bewegung. Hochfahren auf dreiviertel Power, die Knöpfe drücken und das Ding geht ab. Von 0 auf 60 in einer Sekunde. Das Auto will alles Mögliche anstellen, du reitest förmlich auf der Rasierklinge. Der Motor kann zusammenbrechen, das Teil Feuer fangen. Du krachst in die Barrieren oder ein anderes Auto, aber das ist Motorsport und ich genieße es unglaublich. Jetzt habe ich zwei Dinge, die mich antreiben – Djing und Drag Racing – und ich bin sehr dankbar, das beides auf so hohem Level machen zu können.“

Rave beim Pure Carl Cox im Privilege am 11. Und 18. Juli

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|