When, at the beginning of this year, Jonathan Thorogood went into the spa of the Gran Hotel, he had no idea that this would completely change his life. There, he happened to meet an acquaintance whose deal on the sale of a beach restaurant had just fallen through. When Jonathan enquired which restaurant it was, the acquaintance replied, “El Chiringuito in Es Cavallet”. And Jonathan, who had always dreamed of owning a beach restaurant, found himself saying, “Oh, I would be interested in that.” He rang his wife Olivia and asked her which beach restaurant she would like to own if she had the choice. Quite spontaneously she replied, “El Chiringuito. Why do you ask?” “I’m on my way home and I’ll explain everything when I get there,” he said. Then everything happened in quick succession.

They negotiated a price, and five weeks later, contracts were signed. They had the restaurant sympathetically refurbished, as they both felt that the Chiringuito, which had been going for 30 years, had acquired cultural heritage status and should not lose its integrity. Staff were appointed, including the new chef, Martin Ponzo who had trained with Bocuse and whose last job was working in the Arts Hotel in Barcelona. In record time he motivated and trained his new kitchen crew in his own style. This is, according to the header on the menu, Mediterranean with Spanish, Italian and French influences. The menu was reworked, modernised, shortened and adapted to suit the requirements of the guests. Visitors to the beach want summery, light, uncomplicated food.

So, in addition to a wide range of salads and carpaccio of Wagyu beef, there are plenty of meat dishes. We particularly enjoyed the mixed leaf salad with a confit of bacalao on a carpaccio of Ibicencan potatoes with a honey, lemon and rosemary sauce. We were pleasantly surprised that it was served with home-made bread straight from the oven. The pan-fried monkfish on grilled vegetables with a soy sauce reduction was also excellent. Sometime you must try the fish and chips at El Chiringuito – a particular favourite with children. The chips are made from Ibicenco potatoes of course, and are just as homemade as the remoulade which accompanies them. Here, the kitchen provides all the proof you need that even the most grisly English fast food with a terrible reputation can be prepared in such a way to make it attractive to gourmets. For here, only fresh top-quality ingredients are used, many of them organically grown. “The best cook is only as good as the ingredients he uses,” says Jonathan. Another of Chiringuito’s classic dishes has also been revamped – Arroz con Bogavante. And many say it tastes even better than before. All in all, the new style has been extremely well received by guests. In contrast to many restaurants that have been hit by people tightening their belts, El Chiringuito has no shortage of guests. It has become a family-friendly, cosmopolitan hotspot, where celebrities such as Sienna Miller, J P Gaultier, the D2squared twins Dan and Dean, and Patsy Kensit, Liam Gallagher’s ex, feel just as comfortable as the other guests and former Dutch football stars such as Ronald de Boer and Philippe Cocu can also enjoy a degree of anonymity.

Another Dutchman, by contrast, is much more likely to attract attention. Kitted out in a long white rubber apron with a bucket, bottles and spices attached to his belt, he goes from table to table. He is Robbert, also known as Don Ostra. He sells fresh oysters which he opens in front of the guests, as many as they require, and seasons them to taste. I have to admit that I have rarely eaten such plump tasty oysters in Ibiza as these, which arrive fresh every day from northern Brittany.

The wine list is as cosmopolitan as the guests. It contains both simple and very fine wines from many regions of Spain as well as from Argentina, New Zealand, Austria, Germany, Italy and various regions in France.

Incidentally, food and drink can be served on the beach if required or in the lounge with the sea view at the back of the restaurant. Here, there is also a juice bar and the most delicious breakfast is served from 10am – a well kept secret up to now. The choice ranges from homemade muesli and natural yoghurt, to a wide selection of fruit and bacon and eggs.

It plays host to many events such as the recent launch of the book ‘Outstanding 100 Ibiza’ and the beach party of the upmarket London Boujis club where Princes William and Harry like to party. Weddings can also be held here, as El Chiringuito can apply for an official licence for ceremonies on the beach.

In conclusion, we can confirm that the change in ownership of this ‘snack bar’ – a literal translation of chiringuito – has been highly successful. Or as the French put it, ‘Le roi est mort, vive le roi’ – ‘the King is dead, long live the King.’ Here, the credit must go to the pleasant, young, dedicated owners – Jonathan and Olivia. They are also particularly grateful to their wonderful crew, as they are fully aware that without them nothing would work. When you next go in to Chiringuito, you will certainly be greeted with a friendly smile from the attractive multilingual receptionist – Anna van der Laan.

El Chiringuito

Playa Es Cavallet

07830 Sant Josep de sa Talaia

+34 971 395485

www.elchiringuitoibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 13th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: June 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|

Als Jonathan Thorogood Anfang dieses Jahres in’s Spa des Gran Hotels ging, ahnte er noch nicht, dass dies sein Leben komplett verändern würde. Denn er traf dort zufällig einen Bekannten, dem gerade ein Deal mit einem Kaufinteressenten für ein Beach-Restaurant geplatzt war. Auf Jonathans Nachfrage, um welches Lokal es sich handle, sagte der Bekannte: „El Chiringuito in Es Cavallet“. Und Jonathan, der schon immer den Wunschtraum hatte ein Strandlokal zu haben sagte spontan:“Oh, daran bin ich interessiert“. Rief seine Frau Olivia an und fragte sie, welches Beachrestaurant sie am liebsten besitzen würde, wenn sie es sich wünschen könnte. Spontan sagte sie: „El Chiringuito. Warum fragst Du?“. „Ich komme nach Hause und erkläre es Dir“ sagte er.

Und dann ging es Schlag auf Schlag. Kaufverhandlungen wurden geführt, und schon nach fünf Wochen waren die Verträge unterzeichnet. Das Lokal wurde mit Fingerspitzengefühl renoviert, denn in den Augen der beiden hat der mittlerweile seit 30 Jahren bestehende Chiringuito Kulturerbe-Status und sollte seine Integrität nicht verlieren. Personal wurde gesucht und eingestellt, darunter auch der neue Küchenchef Martin Ponzo, der bei Paul Bocuse gelernt hat und zuletzt im Arts Hotel in Barcelona am Herd stand. Er motivierte und trainierte in Rekordzeit seine neue Küchencrew auf seinen Stil ein. Und der ist – wie es so treffend als Überschrift auf der Karte zu lesen ist – mediterrane Küche mit Einflüssen aus Spanien, Italien und Frankreich. Die Karte wurde überarbeitet, modernisiert, konzentriert und den Wünschen der Gäste angepasst. Strandbesucher wollen sommerlich leichte, unkomplizierte Kost.

So gibt es neben vielen Salatvariationen und Carpaccio vom Wagyu-Rind viele Fischgerichte. Uns schmeckte besonders gut ein gemischter Blattsalat mit Confit vom Bacalao auf einem Carpaccio ibizenkischerKartoffeln mit einer Zitronen-Honig-Rosmarin-Sauce. Angenehm fiel auch auf, dass dazu selbstgebackenes Brot frisch aus dem Ofen serviert wurde. Ausgezeichnet auch der gebratene Seeteufel auf Grillgemüse an einer Sojareduktion. Unbedingt probieren sollten Sie im El Chiringuito auch mal Fish & Chips (natürlich aus ibizenkischen Kartoffeln genauso hausgemacht wie die dazu servierte Remouladensauce), besonders beliebt auch bei den Kids. Hier liefert die Küche den Beweis, dass man ein als grausam englisches Fast-Food verrufenes Gericht auch für Gourmets genießbar zubereiten kann. Denn hier werden frische Spitzenprodukte verwendet, viele aus biologischem Anbau. „Der beste Koch kann nur so gut sein wie das Material, das er verwendet“ sagt Jonathan. Auch ein Klassiker vom Chiringuito wurde überarbeitet, der Arroz con Bogavante. Und viele sagen, dass er nun noch besser schmeckt als früher. Überhaupt kommt der neue Stil bei den Gästen außerordentlich gut an. Im Gegensatz zu vielen „krisengebeutelten“ Restaurants kann sich das El Chiringuito nicht über Mangel an Gästen beklagen. Es hat sich zu einem familienfreundlichen, kosmopolitischen Hotspot entwickelt, wo sich Sienna Miller, J.P. Gaultier, die D2squared Zwillinge Dan and Dean oder Patsy Kensit, die Ex von Liam Gallagher, genauso wohl fühlen wie die übrigen Gäste und auch die früheren holländischen Fußballstars wie Ronald de Boer oder Philippe Cocu es genießen nicht aufzufallen.

Ein anderer Holländer hingegen fällt da schon mehr auf. Angetan mit langer weißer Gummischürze und an einem Gürtel befestigten Eimer, Flaschen und Gewürzen geht er von Tisch zu Tisch: Robbert, auch Don Ostra genannt. Er bietet frische Austern an, von denen er vor den Augen der Gäste so viele öffnet wie sie wünschen und je nach Gusto würzt. Ich muss gestehen, selten habe ich so fleischige, wohlschmeckende Austern auf Ibiza gegessen wie diese, die täglich frisch aus der nördlichen Bretagne kommen.

Ebenso kosmopolitisch wie das Publikum ist die Weinkarte. Es finden sich sowohl einfache wie auch sehr edle Tropfen aus vielen Regionen Spaniens als auch aus Provenienzen wie Argentinien, Neu Seeland, Österreich, Deutschland, Italien und diversen Regionen Frankreichs.

Übrigens werden auf Wunsch auch Essen und Getränke am Strand serviert oder in die im hinteren Bereich liegende Lounge mit Meerblick. Hier befindet sich auch eine Saftbar, und – was viele noch nicht wissen –hier wird schon ab 10 Uhr morgens ein leckeres Frühstück serviert. Das Angebot reicht vom hausgemachten Müsli über Naturjoghurt, eine große Auswahl an Früchten bis hin zu Bacon and Eggs.

Hier finden häufig Events statt wie kürzlich die Präsentation des Buches „Outstanding 100 Ibiza“ oder die Strandparty des Londoner Edelclubs Boujis, in dem auch die Prinzen William und Harry gerne feiern. Auch Hochzeiten werden hier gefeiert, denn das El Chiringuito kann eine offizielle Genehmigung für solche Zeremonien am Strand besorgen.

Abschließend können wir also bestätigen, dass der Wechsel in dieser „Imbißbude“ – denn nichts anderes heißt Chiringuito übersetzt – erfolgreich verlaufen ist. Oder wie die Franzosen sagen: „Le roi est mort, vive le roi“. Das ist nicht zuletzt das Verdienst des engagierten jungen und sympathischen Inhaber-Paares Jonathan und Olivia. Die wiederum sind ihrer tollen Crew besonders dankbar, denn sie wissen, dass ohne sie nichts gehen würde. Wenn Sie demnächst mal in den Chiringuito gehen, werden Sie sicherlich mit einem freundlichen Lächeln von der vielsprachigen, sympathischen „Empfangsdame“ Anna van der Laan begrüßt werden.

El Chiringuito

Playa Es Cavallet

07830 Sant Josep de sa Talaia

+34 971 395485

www.elchiringuitoibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Juni 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Oktober 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|