Three years ago, Jackmaster and fellow DC10 DJs Jasper James and Skream rented an apartment behind Pacha. It was Jack’s first full summer on the island and the setup made for an “eventful season.” In 2015, Jack, Jasper and a few friends decided to do things differently, renting a remote villa with one of their managers, a move designed to keep them out of trouble. “But I don’t drive,” Jack explains, “so living in a villa was difficult. I’d wake up and there would be no water, no food and I’d be left hanging. I ended up getting stranded and missing some gigs, so this year we’ve got a really pimping apartment just above the pizza shop next to Pacha. The Martinez Brothers are upstairs, Seth is downstairs – we call it DC Towers.”

Jackmaster’s wild side hasn’t prevented him becoming one of the most in-demand DJs on the underground circuit. Later this month, DJ Kicks – the legendary mix album series famed for their collaborations with the likes of Maya Jane Coles and Four Tet – release their latest offering. And Jackmaster is fronting it. “I wanted to set the record straight with this mix,” Jack says. “Some people seem to think that I’m a dubstep DJ. Others perceive me as this party DJ who mixes up ‘80s tunes with house and techno, but it’s not something I really do anymore. It wasn’t a decision to shift to straighter music all of a sudden. I just got tired of playing the way I used to and it gradually faded out.”

So what does Jackmaster’s new DJ Kicks offering sound like? Well, it’s a full-on dancefloor mix, underpinned by Detroit grooves and Chicago-style percussion. It’s also evident that Jack’s selections originate from deep inside the box. “A lot of the DJ Kicks CDs are almost like a back to the influence thing,” he continues, “but as much as I have an eclectic taste in music, if I’m dropping a mix it’s going to sound like I’m on the dancefloor.”

Despite his obvious prowess inside the booth, Jack seldom listens to DJ mixes. “DJs use other DJ mixes to steal tunes,” he says. “I’ve watched DJs skipping through mixes, Shazaming certain tracks, but it’s not for me. With any music, it’s so transparent when you’re not being honest. If I spent a lot of time listening to DJ mixes it would influence me and I want to be Jackmaster, I don’t want to be anyone else.”

And Jackmaster wouldn’t be Jackmaster without just a little bit of controversy.

“There aren’t many DJs I rate in Ibiza,” Jack concludes. “They all do this whoosh-bang thing: white noise, 32-bars, high pass filter. It’s house music for people who don’t really understand house music. That’s my honest opinion. I love this island, but some people aren’t going out because they like the music; they’re going out because they like the scene. At Circoloco, I’m trying to do something a little bit different. This year, Paradise has booked some really good stuff and I’m impressed with Maceo’s line-ups at Pacha. Other than that, people aren’t really pushing things forward, so someone has got to do it.”

Jackmaster is a summer resident at Circoloco at DC10.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Vor drei Jahren mieteten Jackmaster und seine DC10-Kollegen Jasper James und Skream ein Apartment hinterm Pacha. Es war Jacks erster Sommer auf der Insel und somit beste Voraussetzung für eine „ereignisreiche Saison“. Anno 2105 gingen Jack, Jasper und einige Freunde die Dinge anders an. Mit ihrem Manager mieteten sie eine abgelegene Villa, um sich aus dem Gröbsten rauszuhalten. „Ich fahre nun aber kein Auto,“ erklärt Jack, „das machte das Leben in der Villa etwas schwierig. Ich wachte morgens und es gab kein Wasser, nichts zu essen. Ich war auf mich gestellt und verpasste einige Gigs.Diesmal haben wir uns ein cooles Apartment über dem Pizzashop gleich neben dem Pacha gemietet. Die Martinez Brothers sind oben, Seth unten – wir nennen es DC Towers.“

Heute ist Jackmaster, eigenwillig und direkt, einer der gefragtesten DJs im Underground Circuit. In diesem Monat gibt es die neue Ausgabe von DJ Kicks, der legendären Sampler-Reihe in Kollaboration mit Maya Jane Coles und Four Tet, und Jackmaster hat sie zusammengestellt. „Ich wollte mit dem Mix etwas klarstellen,“ sagt Jack. „Viele Leute halten mich für einen Dubstep-DJ. Andere sehen in mir den Party-DJ, der 80er Tunes mit House und Techno mixt, dabei mache ich das nicht mehr. Es war keine bewusste Entscheidung für das straightere Material, es hat sich einfach so ergeben, dass bestimmte Sachen anfingen, mich zu langweilen.“

Wie klingt also jener Sound, den Jackmaster für DJ Kicks zusammengestellt hat? Es ist der pure Dancefloor-Stoff, versetzt mit Detroit Grooves und Chicago-Style Percussion. Es ist kein Zufall, dass Jacks Auswahl sich anhört, als käme sie direkt vom DJ-Pult. „Viele der DJ-Kicks-Sachen drehen sich um die Einflüsse des jeweiligen Mixers, aber wie eklektizistisch mein Musikgeschmack auch sein mag: Wenn ich einen Mix droppe, dann hörte sich das an, als wäre ich auf dem Dancefloor.“

Ungeachtet seiner eigenen Künste in der Booth, hört Jack sich selten an, was andere DJs so mixen. „DJs hören DJ-Mixes, um Songs zu klauen,“ sagt er. „Ich habe DJs beobachtet, wie sie durch Mixes skippen, mit Shazam den Track finden, aber das ist nicht mein Ding. Es ist so offenkundig, wenn du nicht ehrlich bist. Würde ich zu oft andere DJs hören, würde mich das beeinflussen und das will ich nicht. Ich will Jackmaster sein und niemand anderes.“

Und Jackmaster wäre nicht Jackmaster ohne ein bisschen Kontroverse. „Es gibt nicht viele DJs auf Ibiza, die ich schätze. Sie alle machen dieses Whoosh-Bang-Ding: White noise, 32 Takte, Highpass-Filter. Das ist House Music für Leute, die House nicht wirklich verstehen. Das ist meine ehrliche Meinung. Ich liebe die Insel, aber einige Leute gehen nicht aus, weil sie Musik lieben, sondern nur, weil sie auf die Szene stehen. Beim Circolo versuche ich die Dinge etwas anders anzugehen. Paradise hat dieses Jahr ein ziemlich cooles Booking am Start und Maceos Line-Ups im Pacha begeistern mich wirklich. Davon abgesehen bringen viele Leute die Dinge einfach nicht nach vorn. Also muss es jemand tun.“

Jackmaster ist in diesem Sommer Resident beim Circoloco im DC10.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|