BeCrazy! Records frontman Jean Claude Ades returns to Lío Ibiza this summer to curate and headline an exclusive 21-date run of weekly dance music parties. The deep house and tech star, renowned for his über elegant studio productions and emotive underground DJ sets, will also be performing at Scorpios, the open-air beach bar in Mykonos that everybody is talking about.

“Mykonos is more low-key than Ibiza,” Jean Claude explains. “You have the famous beach clubs and some smaller clubs, but you don’t have the big post-midnight superclubs like Pacha and Amnesia. Nevertheless, the demand for dance music is definitely growing. More people are starting to see Mykonos as a viable summer destination, especially in July and August. To escape, they head to Mykonos for a week. It’s becoming a staple part of people’s holiday schedule. Before it was St Tropez and Ibiza, or Sardinia and Ibiza; now it’s Mykonos and Ibiza. People go wild here, then head over to Mykonos to relax. It’s the perfect daytime destination.”

What Mykonos lacks in terms of Amnesia-sized superclubs, it certainly makes up for when it comes to high-end beach bars. With a Funktion-One soundsystem and a capacity for around 4,000 discerning ravers, Scorpios is one of the most impressive venues of its kind anywhere in the world. “For me, Scorpios is one of the most beautiful beach clubs in the world,” Jean Claude continues. “The venue is built on the edge of a huge rock. The architecture is just incredible, likewise the food and the soundsystem. The crowd tends to be quite bohemian – you have a real Tulum vibe going on – especially on Tuesday’s with DJs like Acid Pauli, Damian Lazarus and Bedouin performing. The music on Sundays is a more uplifting blend of house and tech-house. That’s when I play. It’s the busiest day at Scorpios and a real advert for club culture in Mykonos.”

Closer to home, Jean Claude’s BeCrazy! residency at Lío remains a bonafide hub for plethora of respected underground producers who are often considered too avant-garde for some of the larger dancehalls on the island. “I’ve invited back Guy Mantzur and Marcus Worgull,” says Jean Claude, “along with Ruede Hagelstein, Konstantin Sibold and Guy J. That’s the direction of the sound this summer – deep with a touch of progressive. When it comes to booking DJs, I invite people I click with, people who create a posse mentality inside the booth. A good party is about chemistry. First and foremost, it’s about the quality of the music. But it’s also about the energy and vibe of the artists you have beside you.”

In the studio, Jean Claude has had a wonderfully productive winter. One of his most recent productions, which takes inspiration from Bach’s classical masterpiece ‘Appassionata’, has all the makings of a season defining anthem. “My next EP is classically pitched,” Jean Claude smiles. “I’m going to call it ‘Overture’. It’s a mix of classical, progressive deep house with a rolling arpeggiator. It’s been getting a great reception everywhere I’ve played it. I don’t know whether to release it now or wait until later in the summer. But you’ll know it when you hear it!”

Catch Jean Claude Ades at BeCrazy! Ibiza at Lío every Thursday until October 12th, and also at Scorpios, Mykonos on July 16, August 8, 20, 27, September 9, 17, 24 and October 1.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Der Macher von BeCrazy! Records, Jean Claude Ades, kehrt in diesem Sommer zum Lío Ibiza zurück, um die wöchentlichen Dance Music Partys – exklusive 21 Dates sind es – zu kuratieren und zu headlinen. Der Deep House und Tech Star, bekannt für seine überaus eleganten Studio-Produktionen und Underground-DJ Sets, tritt zudem im Scorpios auf, jener Open-Air-Beachbar auf Mykonos, über die zur Zeit jeder spricht.

„Mykonos ist ein bisschen mehr low-key als Ibiza“, erklärt Jean Claude. „Es gibt die berühmten Beach Clubs und ein paar kleinere Clubs, aber eben nicht die Superclubs wie Pacha oder Amnesia. Dennoch steigt der Bedarf an Dance Music. Immer mehr Leute sehen Mykonos als lohnenswerte Sommer-Location, besonders im Juli und August. Sie ziehen sich für eine Woche nach Mykonos zurück, es wird so zum Startpunkt im Urlaubsplan der Leute. Zuvor war es St. Tropez und Ibiza, oder auch Sardinien und Ibiza. Jetzt ist es Mykonos und Ibiza. Hier drehen die Leute auf, dann geht es nach Mykonos zum Entspannen. Es ist die perfekte Tages-Destination.

Was Mykonos an Superclubs von Amnesia-Ausmaßen fehlt, macht es durch seine High-End-Bars wett. Mit seinem Funktion-One Soundsystem und einer Kapazität für 4000 anspruchsvolle Raver ist das Scorpios eine der weltweit beeindruckendsten Venues. „Für mich ist Scorpios einer der schönsten Beach Clubs der Welt“, fährt Jean Claude fort. „Die Venue liegt am Rand eines riesigen Felsens. Die Architektur ist unglaublich, wie auch die Speisen und das Soundsystem. Die Crowd ist ziemlich bohemien, eine Art Tulum-Vibe, würde ich sagen, besonders am Dienstag, wenn DJs wie Acid Pauli, Damian Lazarus und Bedouin performen. Die Musik am Sonntag, wenn ich spiele, ist eher uplifting, ein Mix aus House und Tech House. Es ist der vollste Tag im Scorpios, ein Aushängeschild für die Clubkultur auf Mykonos.

In diesen Breiten ist Jean Claudes BeCrazy!-Residency nach wie vor der Knotenpunkt einer ganzen Armada von Underground-Produzenten, die zuweilen durchaus als etwas zu avantgardistisch für die größeren Venues der Insel angesehen werden. „Ich habe Guy Mantzur und Marcus Worgull wieder eingeladen“, sagt Jean Claude. „Zusammen mit Ruede Hagelstein, Konstantin Sibold und Guy J. Das ist der Stil dieses Sommers – Deep mit einem Touch Progressive. Wenn ich DJs einlade, dann solche, die so ticken wie ich, und die in der Booth eine Posse-Stimmung entstehen lassen. Eine gute Party ist eine Frage der gemeinsamen Chemie. Zuallererst geht es um die Qualität der Musik, aber auch um die Energie und den Vibe der Künstler um dich herum.“

Einen ausgesprochen kreativen Winter hat Jean Claude im Studio verbracht. Eine seiner aktuellen Produktionen, inspiriert von Bachs Meisterwerk ,Apassionata‘, hat das Zeug zur Hymne der Saison. „Meine nächste EP hat einen klassischen Touch“, lächelt Jean Claude. „Ich nenne es ,Overture‘. Ein Mix aus Klassik, progressivem Deep House mit rollenden Akkorden. Überall, wo ich es spielte, wurde es großartig angenommen. Ich bin nicht sicher, ob ich es jetzt oder etwas später im Sommer veröffentlichen soll. Wenn du es hörst, wirst du wissen, worum es geht!“

Jean Claude Ades beim BeCrazy! Ibiza im Lío, jeden Donnerstag bis zum 12. Oktober. Außerdem im Scorpios, Mykonos, am 16. Juli, am 8., 20. und 27. August, am 9., 17., und 24. September und am 1. Oktober

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|