La Velada, whose name translates from Spanish as “evening”, started as a wine bar but soon had its accent shifted, so now it is 50% a bar and 50% a restaurant. Switch off your mobile, never look at your watch and give yourself a most sophisticated present – a few relaxed hours with your best friends and a bottle of good wine.

The food menu might be not that big in size, yet absolutely unique in terms of its contents. Fusing Italian and Spanish cuisine in almost equal proportions, it offers such dishes as scallops with fresh herbs (warm and unbelievably delicious), goat cheese with onion marmalade and nuts (never has the process of waiting for the main course been so savoury), linguine from Gragnano with clams from Galicia (rather salty and totally mouth-watering), magret of duck marinated with four spices and rosemary potatoes (delectable and succulent).

The logic behind the menu is to offer something that is hardly represented in the neighbourhood – or maybe on the whole island. For example, barley risotto with squid ink, prawns and mint, that looks absolutely like rice but is indeed made of barley. Or spinach salad with bacon, 24 month aged parmesan and hard boiled eggs – how easily will you find this gourmet kind of cheese in Ibiza? The newest entry to the menu is monk fish ceviche, a powerful rival to the flawless salmon tartar.

La Velada Ibiza

The secret behind the exquisite taste is not just the outstanding skills of the chef, but also the quality of ingredients. Cod comes from Alaska, salmon from Norway, and such items as goat cheese, lamb or vegetables are all locally produced. For a restaurant owner it might be a bit more costly and effort-consuming to rely exclusively on the provisions from Ibicenco farmers, but it makes all the dishes taste heavenly, and there is an authentic story behind each of them.

The wine selection at La Velada is notable to say the least and deliberately avoids the big omnipresent denominations. The list consists only of Spanish and Italian produce, and every two or three weeks has several new positions added to it. The price range is pretty reasonable: from Coto de Hayas Tempranillo Cabernet from Campo de Borja, Spain at 14€ to Marques de la Concordia Hacienda de Susar from Rioja, Spain at 73€, from Every Day Farina from Veneto, Italy at 15€ to Barolo Pietrin D.O.C.G. Franco Conterno from Piedmont, Italy at 78€. Whichever sort you choose, you can be sure that it will make a good match to the food from the menu.

La Velada opens its doors every year on Easter and welcomes the guests every day from 8pm till 1am, except Sunday. Its typical customer is normally French or Dutch, middle aged and with a cultivated love for wine. Local Ibicencos also drop in frequently, attracted mainly by the word of mouth, but Italians call on surprisingly rarely – probably because they are normally looking for more touristic spots.

La Velada is neither mass market nor fastfood. Waiting a few extra minutes to be served your filet mignon with celery cream, potatoes, asparagus and mushrooms is not a matter of annoyance here, but a part of the measured ritual. Music will not muffle your conversation, since there is no music outside. Enjoy your dinner, take your time and savour your wine – let your evening be is as simple and authentic as that.

La Velada

C/ Sa Xeringa 11
07800 Ibiza
+34 673 622 615

La Velada, abgeleitet aus dem spanischen „Abend“ begann als kleine Weinbar, aber nun ist es zur Hälfte Bar und zur anderen Hälfte Restaurant. Schalte dein Handy aus, schau nicht auf die Uhr und mache dir selbst ein erlesenes Geschenk: ein paar entspannte Stunden mit Freunden und einer guten Flasche Wein.

Die Speisekarte ist zwar klein, aber fein und erlesen: Qualität statt Quantität. Hier küsst die italienische Küche den spanischen Koch und diese Kombination verzaubert mit Gerichten wie gebratenen Jakobsmuscheln mit frischen Kräutern (warm und köstlich), Ziegenkäse mit Zwiebelkonfitüre und Nüssen (niemals hat sich das Warten auf ein Gericht so gelohnt), Linguine aus Gragnano mit Muscheln aus Galicien (würzig und salzig), zarte marinierte Entenbrust mit vier Gewürzen und Rosmarinkartoffeln (saftig und köstlich).

Die Philosophie dahinter ist einfach: Etwas anbieten, was in der Nachbarschaft schwer zu finden ist – oder auch vielleicht auf ganz Ibiza. Zum Beispiel Gerstenrisotto mit Tintenfisch, Garnelen und Minze – sieht fast aus wie Reis, aber hat einen kräftigeren Geschmack. Oder Spinatsalat mit Speck, 24 Monate altem Parmesankäse und hartgekochten Eiern – wo findet man das ein zweites Mal auf Ibiza? Der neueste Star auf der Karte: Seeteufel Ceviche – ein würdiger Konkurrent zu klassischem Lachstatar.

Das Geheimnis hinter diesem exquisiten Geschmack liegt natürlich zum einen in den Kochkünsten des Chefkochs, aber auch in der Qualität der Produkte begründet. Der Kabeljau kommt aus Alaska, Lachs aus Norwegen und wunderbare Basics wie Ziegenkäse, Lamm oder Gemüse sind lokale Erzeugnisse. Für einen Restaurantbesitzer ist es sicherlich etwas kostenintensiver, in die hochwertigen Produkte der ibizenkischen Erzeuger zu investieren, aber die Qualität gibt dieser Investition recht.

La Velada Ibiza

Die Weinauswahl im La Velada ist bemerkenswert. Bewusst wurden die massenkompatiblen Marken vermieden und kleine, ausgesuchte Weinbauern gewählt. Nur spanische und italienische Rebsorten und alle zwei bis drei Wochen wird eine Neuentdeckung präsentiert. Die Preisspanne ist fair und reicht vom Coto de Hayas Tempranillo Cabernet vom Campo de Borja für 14 €, über Marques de la Concordia Hacienda de Susar von Rioja für 73 €, einem köstlichen Farina aus Venetien für 15 €, einem Barolo Pietrin D.O.C.G., Franco Conterno aus dem Piemont für 78 €. Doch egal, für welchen Wein man sich entscheidet, er wird dem Menü schmeicheln.

La Velada öffnet jedes Jahr zu Ostern und heißt seine Gäste dann täglich von 20 Uhr bis 1 Uhr willkommen – sonntags ist Ruhetag. Die Gäste sind meist mittleren Alters, viele Franzosen und Holländern darunter und teilen die Freude an gutem Wein. Auch viele Einheimische genießen das wunderbare Ambiente der Bar, selten trifft man auf Italiener, die häufig mehr touristisch angehauchte Spots besuchen.

Das Restaurant ist weder Fast Food, noch ist es massenkompatibel. Genießen Sie die Zeit, die Sie auf Ihr Filet Mignon mit Selleriecreme, Kartoffeln, Spargel und Champignons warten und stimmen sich auf Ihr Dinner ein. Keine Musik wird das Gespräch mit Ihren Tischnachbarn stören – pure Atmosphäre, reiner Genuss – das ist ein Abend im La Velada.

La Velada

C/ Sa Xeringa 11
07800 Ibiza
+34 673 622 615