The recent US election cycle has definitely made a lot of people feel uneasy. Suddenly the future looks more uncertain that it has done in a very long time. Yet for many, including tech-house star Lauren Lane, the uncertainty of the period has actually fostered a sense of empowerment.

“People everywhere are worried about their rights,” Lauren explains. “Being in the music business, I’m here to help people forget about their problems. I try to focus on DJing and touring, but when things are as crazy as they are now, politics is hard to ignore.”

750,000 people took to the streets of downtown LA in January to advocate a number of issues, in particular women’s rights. Lauren was one of them. “The Women’s March was a positive experience,” she continues. “I’m used to being at parties when the bass drops and you see the crowd reacting in unison; the March had a similar vibe. I realised that everyone is fighting for something and that no one is alone. We may not be fighting the same battles, but we’re all defending something in our lives.”

In hindsight, the Women’s March was more than just an impulse reaction to the fallout of the election; it was a confluence of people from every race, religion and social strata. “Native Americas, people with disabilities, women concerned about their reproductive rights,” Lauren recalls, “everyone came together. I don’t know what the outcome of this election will be. Trump seems to have a narrow minded vision of what’s best for America, but sometimes it takes something like this to shake everybody up. I remain hopeful that good will prevail.”

Although the photos that accompany this interview look as though they were taken in Ibiza, they were actually shot in LA. “Ross Laurence and I picked that location because the rocky background looks a bit like Ibiza,” Lauren laughs. “We had to hike down carrying a whole hanger full of clothes, plus the photographic equipment. We didn’t realise it was going to be such a treacherous hike. We definitely got more exercise than we planned that day!”

Lauren lands in Ibiza later this month to prepare for the coming European dance season. It’ll be her fourth summer living on the island. In a sonic sense, she considers ANTS, Ushuaïa’s acclaimed daytime tech-house party, her musical home. “It’s always an honour to play there,” she concludes. “The brand is just so cool and the guys who organise it really look after me. Besides Ibiza, I’m playing a bunch of their ANTS parties, including Tomorrowland in Belgium. It says a lot about a brand when they find people that work well with them and then really get behind them. As an artist I really appreciate the fact that they believe in me.”

Catch Lauren at Hï on June 10. ANTS on June 17, July 1, July 29, September 30. And Paradise on July 12 and September 20.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Die Entwicklungen rund um den Wahlkampf in den USA haben zuletzt vielen Menschen ein ungutes Gefühl gegeben. Plötzlich sieht die Zukunft um so vieles unsicherer aus, als sie das seit langer Zeit getan hat. Gleichzeitig haben die Ereignisse vielen, darunter auch Tech-House-Star Lauren Lane, einen neuen Energieschub gegeben.

„Überall sind Menschen um ihre Rechte besorgt,“ erklärt Lauren. „Für mich als Teil des Musikbusiness geht es darum, die Leute ihre Sorgen vergessen zu lassen. Ich versuche, mich aufs DJen und Touren zu konzentrieren, wenn es aber so verrückt wird, dann ist es schwer, die Politik zu ignorieren.“

750.000 Menschen sind in L.A. im Januar auf die Straße gegangen, um auf Themen aufmerksam zu machen, insbesondere auf Frauenrechte. Lauren war dabei. „Der Women’s March war eine positive Erfahrung,“ berichtet sie. „Ich kenne das von Parties, wenn der Bass reindreht und die Menge gemeinsam reagiert; der Marsch hatte einen ähnlichen Vibe. Mir wurde klar, dass wir alle für etwas kämpfen und niemand allein ist. Wir mögen unterschiedliche Kämpfe austragen, aber wir verteidigen etwas im Leben.“

Im Rückblick war der Women’s March mehr als nur eine spontane Reaktion auf die Wahl; es war eine Versammlung von Menschen aller Rassen, Religionen und sozialen Schichten. „US-Natives, Menschen mit Handicap, Frauen, die für ihre Rechte eintreten,“ erinnert sich Lauren, „alle kamen zusammen. Ich weiß nicht, wie alles weitergehen wird. Trump scheint eine sehr eingeschränkte Vorstellung davon zu haben, was gut für Amerika ist, aber manchmal braucht es so jemanden, um neue Dinge anzustoßen. Ich hoffe, dass am Ende das Gute siegt!“

Obwohl die Bilder so aussehen, als wären sie in Ibiza aufgenommen, sind sie tatsächlich in L.A. entstanden. „Ross Laurence und ich haben uns für die Location entschieden, weil der Hintergrund mit den Felsen ein bisschen an Ibiza erinnerte,“ lacht Lauren. „Wir mussten mit einem riesigen Anhänger voller Klamotten und Equipment dort hinunter. Wir hatten nicht geahnt, dass der Weg so schwierig werden würde. Das war mehr Training als wir gedacht hatten!“

Diesen Monat kommt Lauren nach Ibiza, im sich für die europäische Dance-Saison vorzubereiten. Es wird ihr vierter Sommer auf der Insel. In gewissem Sinne ist ANTS, die famose Tech-House-Party tagsüber im Ushuaïa, ihre musikalische Heimat. „Es ist eine Ehre, hier zu spielen,“ resümiert sie. „Die Marke ist so cool und die Leute, die es organisieren, kümmern sich wirklich um mich. Neben Ibiza spiele ich noch einige der ANTS-Parties, wie etwa Tomorrowland in Belgien. Es sagt eine Menge über dieses Brand aus, wenn die Leute, die sie ins Boot holen,  ihnen dann auch treu bleiben. Als Künstler weiß ich es zu schätzen, dass sie an mich glauben.“

Lauren im Hï am 10. Juni, ANTS am 17. Juni, 1. und 29. Juli, 30. September. Paradise am 12. Juli und 20. September

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|