In January, she’s opening Europe’s first natural horse & life academy for young people. It’s a project that’s about a whole lot more than horses. Ever since she began teaching children how to handle horses in a natural way in 2009, this mother of four sons and boss of Noahs Garden knows what leads young people to success. And not only in riding. In order to cope with life they need physical, mental, emotional and spiritual strength.

“The world is changing rapidly”. Today, no-one knows any more what the future holds and what children will need some day. “That is why we have to help them to grow into strong personalities who know exactly who they are,” Karen says.

Schools are only able to fulfil that to a certain extent. They give grades for knowledge about a subject, hard work, cooperation and order. In real life, however, the things that count are entirely different: creativity, originality, humour, charisma, initiative, sense of community, anticipation of good goals and love of people, animals and nature. Horses help these strengths to develop early. The desire to be together with them challenges children. They are the wind in the sails.

Five special people and their projects inspired her to set up the academy; a visit to the Green School in Bali, monkey researcher Jane Goodall with her project Roots and Shoots, the International Council of 13 Indigenous Grandmothers, the Foxfield Drill Team in California and Pat and Linda Parelli’s Natural Horsemanship. What they all share in common is making nature the guiding principle in all decisions so that our planet has a future.

This is no normal riding school. Everything that life with horses involves is taught here. Ground work and horse gymnastics, bareback riding without a bridle, dressage, communication through body language and mental messages, herbal medicine, shoeing and saddle knowledge. Ability to work in a team, meditation, energy work and the art of sharing what you know with others also form the basis of the training.

_MG_3586

Like this, it’s the horse and not the sport at the centre of things. “We want horses to be happy to be together with us. If we respect and motivate them properly, they give us more than just high performance. Closeness, joy and things that we had never taken for possible.”

All activities take place in the afternoon, on weekends and holidays. Learning intensively for an entire year as well as school takes willpower and it has to be demonstrated. Young people can apply with a video and an email. Meaning it isn’t important to show what they can already do. What’s decisive is visible motivation and joy. Alegria: the spark that jumps when we see something that we really like.

By us, Karen means the team and it’s a top-class one. Over the course of her life, Karen has met many great horse people and all of them were delighted by the idea of sharing their knowledge with young people. In addition to regular lessons, weekends are enriched with coaches from all fields. Renowned dressage and natural horsemanship trainers, stunt riders, international liberty dressage stars, animal healers and horse osteopaths as well as spiritual masters and shamans. “Kids are looking for role models so why not precisely the best? Then they’ve got the right thing into their heads and can work on themselves.”

In the academy’s first year there’s room for seven young people with their own horse and 20 children aged between five and 12 years old. In 2016 the entire grounds of Noahs Garden will be made available to the academy. Garden construction will continue to go on, Karen ensures, but we do not need as much space for it. It can be put to much better use: for vegetable gardens, a green cooking school, seminars and events, rooms for therapists, sports and meditation classes and even more space for horses, who live there in paradise. Thatched open stables and meadows where, once their work is done, they can just go back to being horses.

In April the Natural horse&life academy for young people will be inaugurated with a big show that people are eagerly looking forward to. All information about the program, registration and activities can be found at www.alegria-ibiza.org

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 29th, 2016|Categories: Leisure & Sport, Leisure & Sport|

Im Januar eröffnet sie Europas erste „natural horse & life academy“ für junge Menschen. Ein Projekt in dem es um viel mehr als Pferde geht. Spätestens seit sie 2009 damit begann Kinder im natürlichen Umgang mit Pferden zu unterrichten, weiß die Mutter von vier Söhnen und Chefin von Noahs Garden, was junge Menschen zum Erfolg führt. Nicht nur im Reitsport. Um das Leben zu meistern brauchen sie körperliche, geistige, emotionale und spirituelle Stärke.

„Die Welt ist in einem schnellen Wandel. Heute weiß keiner mehr was die Zukunft bringt und was Kinder einmal brauchen werden. Deswegen müssen wir ihnen helfen zu starken Persönlichkeiten heran zu wachsen, die genau wissen wer sie sind.“ sagt Karen.

Schulen können das nur begrenzt erfüllen. Sie geben Zensuren für Fachwissen, Fleiß, Mitarbeit und Ordnung. Im wahren Leben zählen aber ganz andere Dinge: Kreativität, Originalität, Humor, Ausstrahlung, Initiative, Gemeinschaftssinn, Vorfreude auf gute Ziele und die Liebe zu Menschen, Tieren und Natur. Pferde helfen diese Stärken schon früh zu entwickeln. Der Wunsch mit ihnen zusammen zu sein fordert Kinder heraus. Sie sind der Wind in den Segeln.

Fünf besondere Menschen und ihre Projekte inspirierten sie zur Akademie. Ein Besuch der Green School in Bali, die Affenforscherin Jane Goodall mit ihrem Projekt Roots and Shoots, der Rat der 13 indigenen Grossmütter, das Foxfield Drill Team in Kalifornien und Pat und Linda Parellis Natural Horsemanship. Allen gemeinsam ist, die Natur zum Kompass aller Entscheidungen zu machen, damit unser Planet eine Zukunft hat.

Eine normale Reitschule ist es nicht. Hier wird alles gelehrt, was das Leben mit Pferden mit sich bringt. Bodenarbeit und Gymnastik der Pferde, freies Reiten ohne Gebiss und Sattel, Dressurreiten,  Kommunikation mit Hilfe von Körpersprache und mentalen Botschaften, Pflanzenheilkunde, Hufbeschlag und Sattelkunde. Zur Basis der Ausbildung gehören auch Teamfähigkeit, Meditation, Energiearbeit und die Kunst das eigene Wissen mit anderen zu teilen.

Dabei steht das Pferd und nicht der Sport im Mittelpunkt. „Wir wollen das Pferde gerne mit uns zusammen sind. Wenn wir sie respektieren und richtig motivieren, schenken sie uns mehr als nur Höchstleistung. Nähe, Freude und Dinge die wir nie für möglich gehalten hätten.“

_MG_3586

Alle Aktivitäten finden nachmittags, an Wochenenden und in den Ferien statt.  Ein Jahr lang neben der Schule intensiv zu lernen braucht Willen und der muss gezeigt werden. Mit einem Video und einer Mail können Jugendliche sich bewerben. Dabei ist es nicht wichtig zu zeigen, was sie schon alles können. Entscheidend ist die erkennbare Motivation und Freude. Alegria. Der Funke der überspringt, wenn wir etwas sehen, was uns richtig gut gefällt.

Mit uns meint Karen das Team und das ist hochkarätig. Im Laufe ihres Lebens ist Karen vielen großen Pferdemenschen begegnet und alle sind von der Idee begeistert ihr Wissen mit jungen Menschen zu teilen. Neben regelmäßigem Unterricht werden die Wochenenden mit Coachs aus allen Richtungen bereichert. Renommierte Dressur- und Natural Horsemanship Trainer, Stuntreiter, internationale Stars der Freiheitsdressur, Tierheilpraktiker und Pferdeosteopathen, ebenso wie spirituelle Meister und Schamanen.  „Kinder suchen Vorbilder. Warum nicht gleich die Besten? Dann haben sie das richtige im Kopf und können an sich arbeiten.“

Im ersten Jahr der Akademie gibt es Platz für 7 Jugendliche mit eigenem Pferd und 20 Kinder zwischen 5 und 12 Jahren. 2016 wird dann das gesamte Gelände von Noahs Garden der Akademie zur Verfügung stehen. Der Gartenbau wird weiter laufen, versichert Karen, aber dafür brauchen wir nicht so viel Fläche. Die kann viel besser genutzt werden. Für Gemüsegärten, eine grüne Kochschule, Seminare und Events, Räume für Therapeuten, Sport- und Mediationsklassen und noch mehr Platz für Pferde. Die leben dort im Paradies. Grasgedeckte offene Ställe und Weiden, auf denen sie nach getaner Arbeit einfach nur Pferd sein können.

Im April wird die Natural horse&life academy for young people mit einer großen Show eingeweiht auf die man gespannt sein darf. Alle Informationen zu Programm, Anmeldungen und Aktivitäten gibt es auf  www.alegria-ibiza.org

Related Posts

  • Published On: Februar 12th, 2019|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Juli 15th, 2017|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Mai 31st, 2017|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: September 23rd, 2016|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Juli 29th, 2016|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|