It’s 3am on a Saturday at the Metropolis Strip Club in East London. The place is normally full of city suits and local randy types, tonight though it’s packed with well toned gay men dancing to lyrical disco-infused house music. And it’s within these mirrored out 70s glam/dive bar walls at this delicious hour that something made me look a lot closer at the people around me: a black, arty-leotard-clad tranny in an oversized luminous hair-piece complete with a Rita Ora make-over making shocking use of the mezzanine and a pole.

This frenzy was just the kind of quirky scene regulars of Savage have come to expect. Conceived originally as the huge when-we-feel-like-it parties called Sink The Pink in 2008 by Amy Zing and Glyn Famous, this aesthetic wonderland gay club has grown beyond its modest underground roots, developing the weekly, sexy sister night Savage. When it started seven years ago it made The Bethnal Green Working Mans Club its base.  It seems as if the brains behind it are onto a deeper logic of morphing once traditional hetro-zones into polysexual playgrounds: ‘It’s been seven years in the making, we’ve put on parties in the most hetero-normative of spaces from working men’s clubs to strip clubs. We are re-appropriating them and making them safe queer spaces”. Amy says.

glitter-ibiza-style-009

Just as we all agree: ‘only in East London’, Savage start the summer, unexpectedly, in Ibiza with Glitterbox, the new Friday residency at Space.

“I think Defected have done something really beautiful here” says Glyn, “we’re combining the biggest DJs and spreading love and drag queens around the world. We’re basically bringing a selection of the best East London performers out to out perform! It feels reminiscent of the glory Ibiza days, I used to always go to Manumission and loved it”.

It all started with a desire to dance and a feeling like something was missing on the conventional club circuit. Glyn and Amy wanted to create a party where art and performance was part of the action, and the crowd were part of the art too: “It was about bringing the best aspects of fashion, dance, drag and the club kids and creating different crews that all love one another. They all are real individuals but they look almost superhuman together. It was also really important that they all had worked together before, these guys are all like family.” Says Glyn.

The artist collaborations also deepened. “We’ve performed on the main stage of credible festivals like Field Day and artsy ones like Hay On Wye, it’s about saying; we’re all the same.  If a group of guys with beards or girls with guitars can get booked for this event, then so can a group of slut-dropping transvestites. Now it’s time for Ibiza.” Says Amy.

At Space, the performances consists of three different dance crews; Sink The Pink, Hot Heels & Nutbags who will all bring their own unique energy to Friday’s Glitterbox residency: “We have Hot Heels who are these epic androgynous dancers that whack, vogue and slut drop to the nines, then Imma Mess who is such a great performance artist, plus Mikey Woodbridge and Mc Gaff E who are huge in London” says Glyn.

Much of the collective look like they are inspired by the late performance artist, fashion and club legend Leigh Bowery, with perverse comic-book identities and latex dresses stretched over exaggerated body parts.

It makes you wonder what references the young performers are storytelling: “From early on I have been inspired by clean and precise choreography – stuff that I could copy in my bedroom. I grew up watching Madonna and Michael Jackson videos, Madonna was always so sexually suggestive with her dance moves and Jackson was always so sharp and I like to bring elements of both into my work.  I am also obsessed with the American Vogue Ball culture, as featured in Paris is Burning. I try to encompass all these elements in my choreographic work. At Glitterbox we will be blurring the lines between gender and sexuality, creating visually stimulating performances that will force party-goers to question what they are seeing” admits Joan Oh, part of the performance troupe

It must feel a feat for the Savage club collective whose London nights feel less like a club and more like a cool friend’s sweaty house party that had got a little out of hand, to be performing along big names like Hercules & Love Affair, Todd Terje, Julio Bashmore and Fatboy Slim? “We are going to have a summer that will never be forgotten” Glyn beams. “You haven’t seen anything yet…”

Savage dance crews will be appearing at Space Ibiza for Glitterbox’s Friday residency throughout the summer. Head to http://glitterboxibiza.com/events for full event details and tickets

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 31st, 2022|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: July 29th, 2022|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: May 9th, 2019|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: September 21st, 2018|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: July 15th, 2018|Categories: Party|

Es ist 3 Uhr morgens im Metropolis Strip Club in East London. Normalerweise sieht man Anzugträger und sexgeile Typen aus der Gegend, aber jetzt ist es voll von durchtrainierten schwulen Männern, die zu gefühlvoller, diskolastiger House Music tanzen. Etwas an dieser vollverspiegelten, schicken 70er-Spelunke bei Nacht macht, dass ich genauer hinschaue: Eine schwarze Transe im hautengen Einteiler, mit phosphoreszierenden XXL-Haarteil und Rita-Ora-Makeover macht schockierenden Gebrauch von Bühne und Pole-Stange.

Rauschender Wahnsinn ist genau die Art skurille Szene, die Savage-Stammgäste längst kennen. Ursprünglich von Amy Zing and Glyn Famous 2008 als riesige „When we feel like it“-Partys mit dem Namen „Sink The Pink“ gedacht, ist der ästhetische Wunderland-Schwulen-Club über seine bescheidenen Underground-Wurzeln hinausgewachsen und hat die wöchentliche sexy Schwester-Nacht Savage hervorgebracht. Zu Beginn war das Bethnal-Green-Arbeiterheim ihr Stützpunkt. Als würden die Köpfe hinter dieser Idee einen tiefere Sinn verfolgen, verwandeln sie ehemals traditionelle Hetero-Zonen in polysexuelle Spielplätze: „Seit sieben Jahren veranstalten wir Partys an klassischen Hetero-Orten, vom Arbeiterheim bis zum Strip-Club. Wir erobern sie und machen sie zu einem sicheren Raum für Schwule“, so Amy.

glitter-ibiza-style-009

Gerade war man sich einig, dass so etwas „nach East London gehört“, da eröffnet Savage unerwartet zu Beginn des Sommers die neue Freitags-Residenz im Space auf Ibiza. „Defected“ hat hier etwas so Schönes geschaffen“, sagt Glyn, „wir kombinieren die größten DJs mit Spreading Love und Drag Queens aus aller Welt. Vor allem bringen wir eine Auswahl der besten Performer aus East London dazu, sich selbst zu übertreffen! Erinnert an die Glanzzeit Ibizas, als ich zu Manumission ging und es geliebt habe“.

Am Anfang war das Verlangen zu tanzen und so ein Gefühl, dass noch etwas auf dem konventionellen Club-Rundkurs fehlte. Glyns und Amys Idee war es, eine Party mit Kunst und Performance zu gestalten, bei der die Zuschauer ebenfalls ein Teil der Action sein sollten „Es ging darum, das Beste aus Fashion, Tanz, Drag und Club Kids zu nehmen und unterschiedliche Crews entstehen zu lassen, die sich alle gegenseitig lieben. Jeder ist ein Individuum, aber zusammen wirken sie geradezu übermenschlich.  Ganz wichtig war, dass alle vorher einmal zusammengearbeitet hatten, alles ist familiär“, erklärt Glyn.

Auch das künstlerische Miteinander vertiefte sich. „Wir haben auf den Hauptbühnen bekannter Festivals wie Field Day und Hay on Wye aus der Kunstszene performed. Soll heißen: Wir sind alle gleich. Wenn eine Gruppe bärtiger Typen oder Mädchen mit Gitarren gebucht werden können, dann auch „slutdropping“ Transvestiten. Jetzt ist Ibiza dran“.

Im Space besteht die Performance aus drei verschiedenen Dance Crews: Sink The Pink, Hot Heels & Nutbags, die alle ihre eigenen Energien in „Glitterbox’s Friday Residency“ einbringen. „Wir haben Hot Heels, unglaubliche

androgyne Tänzer, „voguing“ und „slutdropping“ bis zum Anschlag. Und Imma Mess, einen ganz großartiger Performance Künstler sowie Mikey Woodbridge und Mc Gaff E, die in London riesig bekannt sind“, freut sich Glyn.

Ein Großteil wirkt, als hätte er sich vom früheren Performance-Künstler, Fashion- und Club-Legende Leigh Bowery inspirieren lassen, pervertierte Comic-Identitäten mit Latex-Anzügen über übertrieben großen Körperteilen.

Da wird man neugierig, auf wen die jungen Künstler sich beziehen: „Von klein auf hat saubere und präzise Choreographie mich inspiriert – Sachen, die ich in meinem Zimmer nachmachen konnte. Ich bin mit Madonna- und Michael-Jackson-Videos groß geworden, Madonna war in ihren Tanzbewegungen so sexuell anzüglich und Jackson gestochen scharf, und ich bringe gern Elemente von beidem in meine Arbeit ein. Außerdem bin ich besessen von der amerikanischen Vogue-Ball-Kultur, wie in „Paris is burning“. Ich versuche, all das in meine Choreographie einzuschließen. In der Glitterbox lassen wir die Grenzen zwischen Geschlecht und Sexualität verschwimmen, schaffen visuell stimulierende Darbietungen, durch die die Partygänger sich fragen müssen, was sie sehen“, ergänzt Joan Oh, Mitglied der Performance-Gruppe.

Fühlen sich die Mitglieder des Savage-Clubkollektivs nicht wie Helden, unter all den großen Namen wie Hercules & Love Affair, Todd Terje, Julio Bashmore und Fatboy Slim zu performen, wo die Londoner Nächte doch weniger an einen Club erinnern als an die verschwitzte und etwas aus dem Ruder gelaufene Hausparty eines coolen Freundes? „Dieser Sommer wird unvergesslich“, strahlt Glyn. „Noch habt ihr nichts gesehen…“