It’s hard to believe that Defected In The House is 17 years old, chiefly because Simon Dunmore’s legendary record label is still driving young, contemporary dancefloors across the planet. As a counterbalance, Simon’s Glitterbox insignia caters for the more occasional clubber. It’s a party designed for dance music fans who find techno a little too dark, but who refuse to embrace the commerciality of EDM.

“Glitterbox acknowledges the fact that people are retaining their youth for much longer,” Simon explains. “They’re going to clubs on an occasional basis and don’t necessarily want to hear the latest upfront record or techno track; they want to hear the music they heard when they were going to clubs back in the day. It’s a legitimate audience, but because the atmosphere at Space is so good and the music has been so well received, we are also attracting a younger audience as well.”

One aspect of the Glitterbox experience that makes it so special is the extravagant stage production. “My view on house music is that it is universal,” Simon continues, “that anyone is welcome. We try to reflect that in the visual aspect of the night. We view Glitterbox at Space as a gay-friendly party. It’s very flamboyant and the dancers are stylishly dressed. The crowd also make an effort to come. I’m from an era when going out on a Friday night was a really big thing in people’s lives. I’m really lucky, I love my job, but unfortunately it’s not the case for everyone. When you’re finding things a little bit tough and trudging your way through the week, what do you look forward to? You look forward to going out on the weekend and letting off steam. Part of the ritual is getting ready for the night ahead, which is why making yourself look great is an integral part of what Glitterbox is about.”

But don’t forget the importance of the Glitterbox DJs. Whether it’s Joey Negro, Dimitri From Paris, Kenny Dope, Basement Jaxx or Louie Vega, Simon selects his DJs because they understand good music. “As I’m concerned, the experience those guys have when it comes to DJing is incomparable. But we’re also trying to bring through some newer names as well. It’s really important to introduce new people to the island to keep our line-ups fresh and interesting. This year, we have Eli Escobar, Fred Everything and a kid from South Africa called Black Motion.”

Strangely enough, the current techno explosion here in Ibiza only seems to have increased Glitterbox’s appeal. The absolute antithesis of dressing head-to-toe in black cotton, Friday nights at Space are undeniably decadent. “Glitterbox takes influence from all the great club nights,” Simon smiles. “A little bit from Ministry of Sound in its heyday, a little bit from The Haçienda. It’s really hard to be pretentious and say we’ve borrowed from Studio 54 and Paradise Garage, because those clubs are so iconic, but if we can harness just a little bit of that flavour I think we’ve achieved what we wanted to.”

 Glitterbox returns to Space on Friday nights from June 3rd to September 23rd.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 19th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 10th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: October 5th, 2022|Categories: People|
  • Published On: August 25th, 2022|Categories: People|

Kaum zu glauben, das Defected in the House schon siebzehn Jahre alt ist, allein schon, weil Simon Dunmores legendäres Plattenlabel so abgefahrene, junge, zeitgenössische Dancefloors rund um den Globus zum Tanzen bringt. Als Gegengewicht dazu hat Simons Glitterbox den Sound für Gelegenheits-Clubber am Start. Es ist eine Party für jene Dancemusic-Fans, denen Techno etwas zu düster ist, aber die ebenso den großen Kommerzrummel von EDM ablehnen.

„Glitterbox basiert auf der Tatsache, dass die Leute ihre Jugend heute viel länger erhalten wollen,“ erklärt Simon. „Sie gehen immer noch ab und zu in den Club, aber wollen dann nicht unbedingt die neueste Platte, den heißesten Techno-Track hören. Sie wollen die Musik, die damals in ihrem Stammclub lief. Das ist die Glitterbox-Zielgruppe, aber weil die Atmosphäre im Space so toll ist und die Musik so gut angenommen wird, ziehen wir auch ein jüngeres Publikum an.

Ein Aspekt, der die Glitterbox so besonders macht, ist die ausgefallene Bühnenproduktion. „Meine Sicht der Dinge: House ist universell,“ führt Simon aus, „Jeder ist willkommen. Wir versuchen, das im Visuellen widerzuspiegeln. Wir sehen Glitterbox im Space als schwulenfreundliche Party. Alles ist sehr strahlend und die Tänzer sind sehr stylish angezogen. Das Publikum zieht da ebenfalls mit. Ich komme aus einer Zeit, da war es etwas ganz Besonderes am Freitagabend auszugehen. Ich habe wirklich Glück, ich liebe meinen Job, aber das geht eben nicht allen so. Wenn also deine Woche stressig und zäh war, worauf freust du dich dann? Aufs Ausgehen und darauf, ein wenig Dampf abzulassen. Ein Teil des Rituals ist es, sich aufzustylen für die Nacht, die vor einem liegt.

Dabei sollte man den Stellenwert der Glitterbox-DJs nicht außer acht lassen. Ob Joey Negro, Dimitri from Paris, Kenny Dope, Basement Jaxx oder Louie Vega – Simon wählt nur DJs aus, die Ahnung von guter Musik haben. „Ich denke einfach, die Erfahrung, die diese Leute in Sachen DJing haben, findest du nirgendwo sonst. Gleichzeitig versuchen wir aber auch, neue Namen im Programm zu haben. Es ist wichtig, neue Sachen vorzustellen, damit die Line-ups frisch und interessant für die Insel sind. Dieses Jahr haben wir Eli Escobar, Fred Everything und einen jungen Typen aus Afrika namens Black Motion.“

Aufällig ist es zudem, dass die aktuelle Techno-Explosion auf Ibiza die Attraktivität von Glitterbox eher noch gesteigert hat. Als das völlige Gegenteil davon, sich von Kopf bis Fuß in schwarze Baumwolle zu hüllen, kommen die Freitagnächte im Space überaus dekadent daher. „Glitterbox hat ein bisschen was von  all den großen Club-Nächten,“ lächelt Simon. „Etwas aus der Hochzeit des Ministry of Sound, ein bisschen von der Hacienda. Es wäre vielleicht prätentiös zu sagen, wir hätten etwas vom Studio 54 oder der Paradise Garage. Diese Clubs sind Ikonen. Dennoch – wenn wir es schaffen, deren besonderen Vibe ein wenig einzufangen und widerzuspiegeln, dann haben wir alles erreicht, was wir wollten.“

Glitterbox zurück im Space – freitags vom  3. Juni bis zum 23.  September