Ibiza is a place of conflicting interests, combining a love of the hedonism which the island is so rightly famous for, and a passion for the raw natural beauty of the island, her coastline and countrywide. So. it’s little wonder that since their arrival in 2014, husband and wife team Lois and Joel Belchem have enjoyed a resounding success with their superfood sanctuary, the Skinny Kitchen, with their fabulous hashtag eatclean rave dirty perfectly summing up the desires of Ibiza’s residents and visitors who like to indulge in all of the delights Ibiza has to offer, whilst maintaining a somewhat healthy, clean eating lifestyle.

We asked Lois what was her inspiration to open Skinny Kitchen, and she tells us, “I spent many summers in Ibiza and always felt like it was missing a major part of my lifestyle, eating healthy! People work hard at the gym and eat clean so that they look good on their holiday every year in Ibiza,  and then when they get there they struggle to eat a healthy diet, mainly because that kind of food wasn’t easily accessible. I couldn’t understand why nobody had thought of this already, I always craved a fresh juice or some protein pancakes! So one year I decided to do it myself. Back then it really was a game changer for Ibiza as there was nothing quite like it. Joel and I are both really passionate about healthy food and fitness, he used to be a PT and I love experimenting with fresh produce and cooking healthy foods. I believe we saw a gap in the market at the right time which enabled us to create a business using our skills and passions but also giving the people of Ibiza something it was missing. Now five years later, there are a lot more options for dining out without the guilt! We are proud to say we were one of the first!”

In recent years, Ibiza has seen an influx of organic, vegan, restaurants arrive onto the already thriving gastro scene of the island, and Skinny Kitchen has naturally grown and evolved with its now loyal customer base returning time after time to enjoy their innovative selection of divine dishes and drinks.

An all day dining destination, taking you seamlessly through from breakfast to lunch, then dinner, as the sun descends on yet another perfect Ibizan day. If you have perhaps overindulged the day or night before, what better place to kickstart your day, with a reviving selection of juices and smoothies such as the eternally popular Hangover Cure Juice, an invigorating blend of apple, carrot and ginger. Or for an injection of Ibiza spirit, try the Acai Energy Smoothie, with mixed berries, acai, banana and oranges to get your blood flowing again. Of course, you may prefer to refuel with a breakfast cocktail, and we can personally recommend the Bloody Mary a super spicy and tasty way to start the day in the very best way!

The food menu reflects their firm focus on healthy eating with all dishes being clean, natural and containing no nasty additives. And, as you many expect, they cater for many diets from vegan to gluten free. Importantly so that you know exactly what you are putting into your body they include macronutrients in every dish also.

Our personal favourite meals on offer include the sumptuous sweetcorn fritters, eggs benedict and avocado quesadillas, all beautifully presented with the bright, colourful ingredients making them look almost too good to eat! Another top tip, the halloumi fries with chipotle mayonnaise are simply to die for!

The decor reflects the carefree, natural ethos of Skinny Kitchen with a vibrant selection of n a very cool and relaxing tropical venue with green and pink velvet seats and retro lighting making it a perfect spot for breakout breakfasts, long, leisurely lunches or decadent dinners, and this is why it has firmly established itself as one of Ibiza’s much loved dedicated health food restaurants, attracting both island residents and visitors alike.

The Skinny Kitchen

Passeig de la Mar, 20
07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany
+34 971 251 202

Ibiza war schon immer ein Ort der kontrastierenden Interessen. Auf der einen Seite der Drang zum exzentrischen Hedonismus und auf der anderen Seite die Liebe für die natürliche Schönheit der Insel, für das Raue und Lebendige in Landschaft, Küste und Menschen. Kein Wunder also, dass Lois und Joel Belchen mit ihrem Restaurant „Skinny Kitchen“, das sie 2014 eröffneten, einen durchschlagenden Erfolg hatten. Superfood trifft hier auf super Partymacher und das alles versehen mit dem Hashtag Eatclean und Ravedirty – ein Volltreffer für die vielfältige Szene Ibizas.

Wir fragen Lois, wie sie auf die Idee kam, auf Ibiza ein Superfood-Restaurant zu eröffnen. „Ich war viele Sommer auf Ibiza und habe immer gemerkt, dass mir ein wichtiger Bestandteil meines Lebens fehlte: gesundes Essen! Die Leute verbrachten Zuhause soviel Zeit im Gym und ernährten sich gesund, um für ihren Ibiza Urlaub gut auszusehen und wenn sie dann hier waren, hatten sie Schwierigkeiten, ihren healthy Lifestyle aufrechtzuerhalten, weil es einfach kein passendes Angebot gab. Ich, zum Beispiel, hatte immer großes Verlangen nach frischem Saft und Eiweißomelette, also entschied ich mich eines Tages, dieses Konzept selbst umzusetzen. Es war damals ein Novum auf der Insel und es gab nichts Vergleichbares. Joel und ich waren schon immer sehr fitnessaffin und sind sehr leidenschaftlich und auch konsequent in Bezug auf gesundes Essen. Joel hat früher als Personaltrainer gearbeitet und ich habe schon immer gerne mit frischen Produkten experimentiert. Heute, fünf Jahre später, ist das Angebot in diesem Bereich sehr viel größer geworden und ich bin stolz darauf, dass wir Wegbereiter für diesen Trend waren“.

In den letzten Jahren ist der Zuwachs an vegetarischen und veganen Restaurants stetig größer geworden, aber auch Skinny Kitchen ist gewachsen und nach wie vor ein fester Anlaufpunkt für Sportler und Fitnessbegeisterte, die auf eine gesunde, oder auch kalorienarme, Ernährung Wert legen.

Das Restaurant umsorgt seine Gäste vom Frühstück bis zum Abendessen, so dass der Tag auf Ibiza mit einem herrlichen Detoxsaft perfekt starten kann, genau das Richtige nach einer langen Nacht im Club, um den Körper wieder mit allen wichtigen Vitaminen zu versorgen. Ob Acai Energy Smoothie (mit Beeren, Acai, Banane und Orange) oder der beliebte Hangover Cocktail aus Apfel, Karotte und jeder Menge Ingwer – das Team berät jeden Gast sehr gerne und geht auch auf individuelle Wünsche ein. Neben all den köstlichen Frühstücksvarianten steht auch eine Bloody Mary zur Auswahl: eine sehr würzige und schmackhafte Art und Weise den Tag zu beginnen!

Die Speisekarte spiegelt zu 100 Prozent den Fokus auf gesundes Essen wider: Alle Gerichte basieren auf dem Clean-Eating Prinzip, sind ohne Konservierungsstoffe und chemische Zusatzstoffe. Ob vegan, vegetarisch, glutenfrei oder low carb – hier bleiben keine Wünsche offen und alle Inhaltsstoffe und Werte sind ganz konkret angegeben.

Unsere persönlichen Favoriten sind die süßen Maisbrötchen, Eier Benedict und die Avocado Quesadillas – alles wird so farbenfroh und appetitlich angerichtet, dass es fast zu schade zum Essen ist. Eine weitere Empfehlung: die Halloumi-Pommes mit Chipotle Mayonnaise sind einfach ein Traum!

Das Interieur ist genauso wie Skinny Kitchen und seine Besitzer: unbeschwert, fröhlich und lebensbejahend. Gemütliche Ecken mit rosa und grünen Samtsitzen und einer tollen Retrobeleuchtung machen es zu einem idealen Ort um zu frühstücken, aber auch für ein ausgedehntes Mittagessen oder geselliges Abendessen mit Freunden. Skinny Kitchen ist gleichermaßen ein beliebter Treffpunkt für Einheimische und Besucher der Insel.

The Skinny Kitchen

Passeig de la Mar, 20
07820 Sant Antoni de Portmany
+34 971 251 202