What’s the first thing you notice when you’re standing in front of Snoop Dogg? How unbelievably big this guy is. Dressed in the hippest Adidas gear, his arms dangling from his upper body gawkily, he reaches out his hand to you, gently squeezes your hand and softly mumbles “Hey man, how you’re doin’?” He might almost come across as a bit shy, introverted almost but then it immediately gives way to straightforward, easygoing charisma. Calvin Cordozar Broadus, Jr. – Snoop’s real name – is simply at peace with himself. What a trail Snoop Dogg has blazed over the years: his success story took off from a standing position at the start of the 90s. Just in the first week it was released his debut album “Doggy style” sold over 800,000 copies: a figure never before achieved that would only be topped by Eminem’s “Marshall Mathers” seven years later.

IBIZASTYLE_SNOOPDOG-005With lyrics that were frequently misogynistic, pornographic even, his work has been the subject of controversy right from the word go. Nonetheless, there’s no denying that his skills on the mike are deeply impressive. Over the course of his career Snoop has done nothing but rack up positions and projects: rapper and producer, head of a record label and game freak, songwriter and movie mogul. How does he manage to keep it all together? “I have always been good at multi-tasking. I have always done more than the others, starting out much earlier on, regardless whether it was about mowing the lawn, singing in the choir or selling drugs. I have always been able to do four or five things at the same time”, he says, as his face breaks out into that typical grin.

Quite the master of multi-tasking then and it’s something that’s evident over his entire output, all the way along his trajectory. His debut was followed in 1996 by the album “Tha Doggfather”, which went straight to No. 1 in the US charts. After that his career was to take a different direction. Not only did he bring the partnership with his colleague Dr. Dre to an end but he also crossed out the “Doggy” from his name.

After a rather mediocre spell around the turn of the millennium, he managed to make a comeback in 2002 with “Paid tha Cost to Be da Bo$$” on his own label, Doggy Style Records. “213”, his posse from the days of his youth, together with his cousin Nate Dogg and Warren G, also enjoyed a resurgence. The album “The Hard Way” came out in 2004. Collaborations with Katy Perry and many others succeeded it. The partnership with R. Kelly a few years ago is particularly close to his heart: “Because he’s simply the biggest pimp, period. Knowhaddimsayin?” Snoop gushes. Jackson and Celine Dion. He’s a real pimp; you can’t get bigger than that.”

IBIZASTYLE_SNOOPDOG-001When it comes to size, Snoop himself also manages to keep up: he hosted the MTV Europe Music Awards 2007 in Munich and appeared at both “Live 8” in London and Al Gore’s “Live Earth” in Hamburg. One bizarre highpoint in a long creative career was Snoop’s version of the Roy Black classic “Schön ist es auf der Welt zu sein” for a telecom company. The rapper has also left his mark on Hollywood. Successful films such as “Training Day”, “Starsky & Hutch” and “Brüno” have seen him appear in highly impressive cameo roles. In the reality TV show “Snoop Dogg’s Father Hood” he provides direct insights into his family life.

And if Snoop was still writing the “G” for gangster in capital letters at the beginning of his career, nowadays there’s no question that it’s precisely this family and his children that come first. He’s been married to Shante Taylor since 1997 despite a severe crisis in 2004 that followed the renewal of their wedding vows four years later. The two of them have two sons and a daughter. He’s applied himself to another task for the kids: that of football coach. A rapper for trainer? For a bunch of kids? This is the way you have to see it, he says pragmatically: “It’s my “Snoop Youth Football League”. I launched it a few years ago and I myself work as coach for the kids. I want to give them the opportunity to make something positive of their lives. I want to give them hope as well as bring their fathers and mothers back into the community.”

How should you picture the man as a coach? Is he the thoughtful analyst type or does he gesticulate wildly on the sidelines? “I’m all of that together. When we win, I’m the happiest man in the world, but when we lose, then I’m incredibly pissed off. It’s just that I put a lot into it and I’d like to inspire the kids to achieve something big in their lives!”

In the meantime he has also taken his place among the authors of books. Together with writer David E. Talbert he published the heavily autobiographical novel “Love Don’t Live Here No More”, set to be the prelude to a Doggy tale trilogy. Recently there were even excursions into the wide world of reggae. In 2013 he released the album “Reincarnated” under the pseudonym Snoop Lion. No pausing for breath as history’s being made. How does it all work? Snoop’s got the answer: “I’m still on top but then I’ve also got my entire team to thank for that. The whole crew only thinks along the lines of win-win situations. Winning is the motto. Defeats will not be accepted.”

Welcome to Ibiza, Snoop!

IBIZASTYLE_SNOOPDOG-004

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Was als erstes auffällt, wenn man Snoop Dogg gegenüber steht? Wie unglaublich groß dieser Typ ist. Gekleidet in den hipsten Adidas-Stoff, die Arme schlaksig am Oberkörper baumelnd, reicht er Dir die Hand, drückt nicht wirklich fest zu und nuschelt ein leises „Hey Man, how you’re doin’?“ heraus. Das wirkt ein wenig schüchtern fast, in sich gekehrt und wird doch schnell abgelöst von schlichtweg entspannter Ausstrahlung. Calvin Cordozar Broadus, Jr. – so Snoops bürgerlicher Name – ruht einfach in sich selbst. Und was für einen Weg Snoop Dogg hinter sich hat: Zu Beginn der 90er startet seine Erfolgsstory aus dem Stand. Sein Debüt „Doggystyle“ verkauft sich über 800.000 mal allein der Veröffentlichungswoche. Eine bis dahin nie erreichte Zahl, die erst sieben Jahre später von Eminems „Marshall Mathers“ getoppt werden sollte.

IBIZASTYLE_SNOOPDOG-005Von Beginn wird sein Werk kontrovers diskutiert, seine Texte sind oft frauenfeindlich, ja, pornografisch, seine Skills am Mic aber schlichtweg beeindruckend. Im Fortlauf seiner Karriere häuft Snoop die Posten und Projekte nur so an: Rapper und Produzent, Labelchef und Game-Freak, Songwriter und Filmmogul. Wie bekommt er das alles unter einen Hut? „ Ich war schon immer gut im Multi-Tasking. Ich habe immer mehr gemacht als die anderen, schon ganz früher. Egal, ob es ums Rasenmähen ging, ums Singen im Chor oder ums Drogen verkaufen. Ich konnte schon immer vier, fünf Dinge gleichzeitig tun“, erzählt und grinst dieses typische Grinsen.

Ein Meister im Multi-Tasking also, und das sieht man seinem Output, seinem Weg durchaus an: Auf das Debüt folgt 1996 das Album „Tha Doggfather“, das aus dem Stand auf Platz 1 der US-Charts landet. Es kommt später zu einem Switch in seiner Karriere. Er trennt sich nicht nur vom Teamwork mit Kompagnon Dr. Dre, er streicht auch das ‚Doggy‘ aus seinem Namen.

Nach durchwachsenen Jahren um die Millenniumswende, gelingt ihm 2002 mit „Paid tha Cost to Be da Bo$$“ auf seinem eigenen Label „Doggy Style Records“ ein Comeback. Auch „213“, seine Posse aus Jugendtagen, zusammen mit Cousin Nate Dogg und Warren G, feiert Wiederauferstehung. Das Album „The Hard Way“ erscheint 2004. Es folgen Kollaborationen mit Katy Perry und vielen anderen. Insbesondere die Zusammenarbeit mit R. Kelly vor einigen Jahren liegt ihm am Herzen: „Weil er einfach der größte Pimp überhaupt ist, knowhaddimsayin’?“ schwärmt Snoop. „Musikalisch, künstlerisch. Er ist eine Ikone. Er hat “I Believe I Can Fly” geschrieben, mit Michael Jackson und Celine Dion gearbeitet. Er ist ein real Pimp, größer geht es nicht.“

IBIZASTYLE_SNOOPDOG-001Dabei kann auch Snoop selbst in Sachen Größe mithalten: Er hostet die „MTV Europe Music Awards 2007“ in München, tritt beim „Live 8“ in London ebenso auf wie bei Al Gores „Live Earth“ in Hamburg. Skurriler Höhepunkt auf einem langen Schaffensweg ist Snoops Version des Roy-Black-Klassikers „Schön ist es auf der Welt zu sein“ für einen Telefonanbieter. Auch in Hollywood hinterlässt der Rapper Spuren. Erfolgsfilme wie „Training Day“, „Starsky & Hutch“ und „Brüno“ zeigen ihn in durchaus eindrucksvollen Cameo-Auftritten. In der Realityshow „Snoop Dogg’s Father Hood“ gibt er direkte Einblicke in sein Familienleben.

Und schrieb Snoop zu Beginn seiner Karriere das ‚G‘ wie Gangster noch ausgesprochen groß, steht mittlerweile genau diese Familie im Vordergrund, rangieren seine Kinder inzwischen ganz vorn. Seit 1997 ist er mit Shante Taylor verheiratet, einer schweren Krise 2004 folgte die Erneuerung ihres Ja-Wortes vier Jahre darauf. Die beiden haben zwei Söhne und eine Tochter. Für die Kids legt er sich einen weiteren Posten zu, den des Football-Coachs. Ein Rapper als Trainer? Für einen Haufen Kids? Wie man sich das vorzustellen hat, resümiert er ganz pragmatisch: „Das ist meine „Snoop Youth Football League“. Ich habe sie vor einigen Jahren ins Leben gerufen und arbeite selbst als Coach für die Kids. Ich möchte ihnen die Gelegenheit geben, etwas Positives aus ihrem Leben zu machen. Ich will ihnen Hoffnung geben und damit auch ihre Väter und Mütter zurück in die Gemeinschaft holen.“

Wie muss man sich den Mann als Coach vorstellen? Eher der ruhige Analytiker oder wild gestikulierend am Spielfeldrand? „Ich bin alles zusammen. Wenn wir gewinnen, bin ich der glücklichste Mensch der Welt, wenn wir verlieren, dann bin ich unglaublich sauer. Ich investiere einfach viel und ich möchte die Kids inspirieren, etwas Großes in ihrem Leben zu erreichen!“

Mittlerweile ist er auch noch unter die Buchautoren gegangen. Gemeinsam mit Autor David E. Talbert hat er den stark autobiografisch geprägten Roman “Love Don’t Live Here No More“, veröffentlicht, es soll der Auftakt zu einer Doggytales-Trilogie sein. Zuletzt gab es sogar Ausflüge in die weite Welt des Reggae. Anno 2013 veröffentlichte er unter dem Pseudonym Snoop Lion das Album „Reincarnated“. Keine Atempause also, Geschichte wird gemacht. Wie das alles funktioniert? Snoop hat die Antwort: „Ich bin immer noch top. Das habe ich aber auch meinem ganzen Team zu verdanken. Unsere ganze Crew denkt nur im Win-Win-Schema. Gewinnen ist die Devise. Niederlagen werden nicht akzeptiert.“

Willkommen auf Ibiza, Snoop!

IBIZASTYLE_SNOOPDOG-004

Related Posts

  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: September 11th, 2017|Categories: Musik|