Martina Klein is such a German-sounding name that you wouldn’t immediately think we were talking about an internationally famous top model from South America. These days Martina doesn’t do quite so much modelling, but she is still pretty influential – primarily in the Spanish-speaking fashion world. Here ’the Klein’ is revered almost as a goddess. Born in 1976 in Buenos Aires, Martina has not allowed fame to go to her head and keeps her feet firmly on the ground, which is what earns her such popularity and respect.

She first came to attention in her early adverts for companies such as Kodak, Renault, Coca Cola, Mercedes Benz, Levi’s and Wella, in Europe and South America. Then in the 90s came her breakthrough into the top tier of catwalk stars. Her jet-set lifestyle took her from one fashion metropolis to the other, all over the globe. She modelled on the world’s most prestigious catwalks, in Milan, New York, London and Paris but, of course, was also the star of the Cibeles and Gaudí shows in Madrid and Barcelona. Some of her modelling jobs were for such famous designers as Toni Miró, Alexander McQueen, Cerruti, Lolita Lempicka, Comme des Garçons, Ferrety, Castelbajac, Dirk Bikkembergs, Angelo Tarlazzi, Balmain, Yuki Tori, etc.

She made the covers of magazines such as Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Elle, Marie Claire, Woman, GQ, Max, Telva and many others on numerous occasions.

She was also awarded titles such as ‘Model of the Year’ (Madrid Cibeles), ‘ Woman of the Year’ (GQ magazine) and ‘Most attractive woman’ (Hola). As well as the “Golden Antenna” for her contribution to Spanish fashion in the media.

We caught up with Martina in Madrid at an exclusive interview and fashion shoot for IBIZA & FORMENTERA STYLE, posing for famous fashion photographer Javier Plá.

IBIZASTYLE_MARTINAKLEIN-001You have travelled all over the world as a model. Which was your favourite location, which place really captured your heart?
Travelling for work is not like normal travelling, particularly if it’s to look for work – that makes things more complicated! However, although New York is the city par excellence, London has got all the personality and Paris is beautiful and the one which I found most enchanting, my life is here in Madrid, my heart in Barcelona and, of course, one little piece of it still stays in Buenos Aires.

Are you still in close contact with friends and loved ones there?
Yes, I have family and friends there. I’d say there’s nowhere I’d like to live forever, either here or there, but I don’t think I’ve found my ideal place to live forever but I do understand Buenos Aires, as a city.

So you’re still on the road, still searching. Where do you call home now?
Home is where my son is…

How old is he?
Four and a half. Basically, my home is here in Madrid, but also, to a degree, in Barcelona, where my parents live. I’m at home pretty much anywhere, to be honest.

Tell me a bit about your connection with the Pitiusas. Do you prefer Ibiza or Formentera?
Formentera! Formentera!

So do you sometimes go to Ibiza to party?
No, absolutely not! Ibiza can’t give me the kind of night out that I’m looking for. I’m a girl who prefers a more intimate, ‘flower power’ sort of ambience. I much prefer proper pop music that you can dance and sing along to – not all this boom boom boom. I can’t stand that.

So Formentera is for relaxation? Do you love the sea?
Formentera’s got the most amazing ocean. I’ve never seen anything to compare in all my travels. Also, there’s nowhere on the island that’s too far from anywhere else. But it’s also somewhere I very often come for work. The Germans, Swedes and Americans often bring us here for assignments – and to Mallorca or Menorca. Basically I’ve worked on all four of the Balearic Islands.

Which part of Formentera do you prefer, Mitjorn or Illetas?
That depends and on the number of people there are. I get angry promoting the island because I’d hate for it to fill up with even more people. I don’t want to encourage more visitors. I’m not the only one who thinks like this, it’s the same for the people who brought me here. We all like to think Formentera belongs to us – even when we know that’s not really true.

What do you consider to be the best time of year in Formentera?
June and September. But I do also come at Easter sometimes.

Do you sometimes cycle around the island?
Yes, sometimes. But it scares me a bit, especially if I have my son with me. I don’t like to take any risks then. I once had a bad experience with the bike on the island’s busiest road. I wouldn’t want to go through that again.

Do you have a favourite local dish or place to eat?
Yes I do – ensalada payesa, which is a typical Mallorcan salad. What I like most is to eat it sitting by sea, with a cool clarita to drink. And in the evenings we often meet up at Caminito’s restaurant.

Which do you prefer, glamour or simplicity?
Simplicity! I’m only glamorous on the catwalk.

You’re very pretty. How do you always manage to look so perfect?
Wow, thanks! You’ve made my day (laughs and thinks for a moment).

Do you diet or play a lot of sport?
No, not really. I drink lots and lots of water. I pay a certain amount of attention to what I eat. And I do a bit of Pilates, but not a huge amount. I’ve got my four-and-a-half-year-old son – and running around after him keeps me fit.

You also write newspaper articles and you’ve presented TV shows.
I haven’t studied journalism at all, but I write a weekly column for La Vanguardia and I also contribute to Marie Claire. And I’ve had a bit of experience as a TV presenter.

Do you prefer modelling or being a TV presenter or columnist?
I enjoy all. I like to do a bit of both. Photo sessions often take a very long time, so I use them to think about what I would like to write about next. But I couldn’t imagine just sitting in an office, writing all day. I enjoy doing a mixture of everything.

I would imagine the jobs you accept are the ones you like and enjoy?
Of course. I’m lucky enough to be able to decide which shoots to take and which to turn down.

Was the shoot you did with us different from your normal photo sessions?
Shoots vary enormously – it always depends so much on the photographer and stylist. I felt very comfortable here, we have known Natalia and Javier for a while. It’s the first time we have worked together with him and he’s an excellent photographer. It was very relaxed and fun.

Martina, thank you so much for allowing us this exclusive opportunity to spend such a great day with you. We’ve really enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon in Formentera.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 25th, 2022|Categories: Photography|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2017|Categories: Photography|
  • Published On: January 27th, 2013|Categories: Photography|
  • Published On: March 6th, 2008|Categories: Photography|

Bei einem so deutsch klingenden Namen wie Martina Klein würde man zunächst nicht vermuten, dass es sich um ein international bekanntes Topmodel handelt, dass aus Südamerika kommt. Heutzutage modelt sie zwar nicht mehr so aktiv, aber sie hat immer noch großen Einfluss – vor allem auf die Spanisch sprechende Modewelt. In dieser Region genießt die „Klein“ praktisch den Status einer Göttin. Trotzdem ist der 1976 in Buenos Aires geborenen Martina der Ruhm nicht zu Kopf gestiegen. Sie steht mit beiden Beinen fest auf der Erde. Dies verschafft ihr umso mehr Respekt und Beliebtheit.

Zunächst durch Werbe-Kampagnen für Firmen wie Kodak, Renault, Coca-Cola, Mercedes Benz, Levi’s und Wella in Europa und Südamerika bekannt geworden, gelang ihr in den 90ern der Durchbruch in die Topriege der Catwalk-Stars. So jetsettete sie von einer Modemetropole zur anderen durch die ganze Welt. Sie defilierte über die renommiertesten Laufstege der Welt wie Mailand, New York, London oder Paris, aber war natürlich auch der Star auf den Shows Cibeles und Gaudí in Madrid und Barcelona. Sie war unter anderem Model für so bekannte Designer wie Toni Miró, Alexander McQueen, Cerruti, Lolita Lempicka, Comme des Garçons, Ferrety, Castelbajac, Dirk Bikkembergs, Angelo Tarlazzi, Balmain, Yuki Tori, etc.

Unzählige Male war sie auf den Covers von Zeitschriften wie Vogue, Cosmopolitan, Elle, Marie Claire, Woman, GQ, Max, Telva und vielen anderen mehr..

Sie sammelte Titel wie „Model of the Year” (Madrid Cibeles), „Woman of the Year” (GQ Magazin) oder „Most attractive woman” (Hola) und nicht zu vergessen die Auzeichnung „Antena de Oro” für ihren Beitrag zur spanischen Mode in den Kommunikationsmedien.

Wir trafen uns mit Martina in Madrid zum Interview und einem Fahion-Shoot exklusiv für IBIZA & FORMENTERA STYLE, fotografiert vom bekannten Modefotografen Javier Plá.

IBIZASTYLE_MARTINAKLEIN-001Du bist als Model in der Welt viel herum gekommen. Wo gefiel es Dir am besten, an welchem Ort hängt Dein Herz am Meisten?
“Reisen um zu Arbeiten ist nicht wie normales Reisen und schon gar nicht, wenn man reist um Arbeit zu suchen – das ist schon ziemlich kompliziert. Aber ich muss gestehen, dass New York DIE Stadt der Städte ist, London eine einzigartige Persönlichkeit hat, Paris wunderschön ist und mich am stärksten in ihren Bann gezogen hat. Doch mein Leben spielt sich hier in Madrid ab, obwohl mein Herz in Barcelona ist – und natürlich auch noch in Buenos Aires.”

Hast Du immer noch engen Kontakt zu Freunden und Verwandten dort?
“Ich habe sowohl Familie wie Freunde dort. Aber ich habe einfach noch nicht den idealen Ort gefunden, an dem ich immer leben möchte, weder dort noch hier. Aber Buenos Aires ist eine Stadt, die ich verstehe.”

Du bist also noch eine Reisende auf der Suche. Aber wo ist jetzt Dein zu Hause?
“Dort, wo mein Sohn ist…”

Wie alt ist er?
“Viereinhalb Jahre. Im Grunde genommen ist mein zu Hause hier in Madrid. Aber ein bisschen auch in Barcelona, wo meine Eltern wohnen. Ich finde halt überall meinen Platz.”

Erzähl mir was über Deine Beziehung zu den Pitiusen. Bist Du lieber auf Ibiza oder auf Formentera?
“Formentera! Formentera!”

Geht’s denn manchmal nach Ibiza zum Party feiern?
“Nein! Absolut nicht. Die Art Fiesta, die ich mag, kann mir Ibiza nicht bieten. Ich liebe mehr so eine Art privater kleiner Flower Power. Ich mag mehr so die klassische Popmusik, zu der man tanzen und mitsingen kann – nicht dieses Tschumba Tschumba. Das kann ich einfach nicht leiden.”

Gehst Du nach Formentera zum Entspannen? Liebst Du das Meer?
“Formentera hat das tollste Meer. Etwas Vergleichbares habe ich auf allen meinen Reisen nicht gesehen. Und obendrein ist kein Ort auf der Insel weit vom anderen entfernt. Aber es ist für mich gleichzeitig auch ein sehr frequentierter Arbeitsplatz. Die Deutschen, Schweden und auch Amerikaner bringen uns oft hierher zum Arbeiten – auch nach Mallorca oder Menorca. Im Grund habe ich auf allen vier Baleareninseln viel gearbeitet.”

Welche Gegend auf Formentera bevorzugst Du? Mehr Mitjorn oder Illetas?
“Das hängt ganz vom Wind ab und von der Anzahl der Menschen, die sich dort aufhalten. Aber ich möchte hier gar keine Werbung für Formentera betreiben, da ich nicht möchte, dass noch mehr dorthin reisen. Das geht übrigens nicht nur mir so, sondern auch denjenigen, die mich dorthin gebracht haben. Wir alle glauben, Formentera gehört uns – auch wenn es uns in Wahrheit nicht gehört.”

Welches ist für Dich die bevorzugte Jahreszeit auf Formentera?
“Juni und September. Aber manchmal komme ich auch schon zu Ostern.”

Fährst Du auch schon mal mit dem Fahrrad über die Insel?
“Ja, manchmal schon. Aber ich habe etwas Angst davor. Vor allem, wenn ich mit meinem Sohn unterwegs bin. Ich möchte da lieber nichts riskieren. Ich hatte schon mal ein schlimmes Erlebnis mit dem Fahrrad auf der meistfrequentierten Straße der Insel. Das möchte ich nicht noch einmal erleben.”

Gibt es ein bevorzugtes Lokal oder typisches Gericht?
“Na klar – den Ensalada Payesa. Am liebsten genieße ich den, wenn ich dabei nahe am Meer sitze und dazu eine kühle Clarita trinke. Und nachts treffen wir uns häufig im Caminito.”

Was liebst Du mehr? Glamour oder Simplicity?
“Simplicity! Glamour nur auf dem Laufsteg.”

Du bist sehr hübsch. Was tust Du, um immer so perfekt auszusehen?
“Oh, danke! Was Du da sagst beschwingt mich sehr (lacht und überlegt).”

Machst Du Diäten oder treibst Sport?
“Nein, eigentlich mache ich recht wenig in der Richtung. Ich trinke Wasser, viel Wasser. Ein wenig achte ich schon darauf, was ich esse. Dann mache ich ein wenig Pilates, aber nicht wirklich intensiv. Ich habe ja meinen viereinhalbjährigen Sohn – das ist für mich an sich schon Sport.”

Du schreibst auch Artikel in der Presse und hast auch schon Fernsehshows moderiert.
“Ich bin zwar keine studierte Journalistin, aber ich habe wöchentlich eine Kolumne in La Vanguardia und schreibe auch für Marie Claire. Und auch als TV-Moderatorin habe ich schon einige Erfahrungen sammeln können.”

Was macht Dir mehr Spaß? Model zu sein, TV-Moderatorin oder Kolumnistin?
“Mir gefällt alles gleich gut. Ich kombiniere gern eine Sache mit der anderen. Foto-Sessions dauern manchmal sehr lange – und währenddessen denke ich schon darüber nach, was ich demnächst schreiben werde. Ich kann mir aber auch nicht vorstellen, in einem Büro zu sitzen und nur zu schreiben. Mir gefällt einfach der Mix von allem.”

Sicherlich müssen die Jobs, die Dir angeboten werden, Dir persönlich gefallen und Spaß machen?
“Klar. Zum Glück bin ich in der Lage mir aussuchen zu können, welche Foto-Shoots ich annehme und welche nicht.”

War das Shooting mit uns anders als sonst Deine Foto-Sessions?
“Alle Shootings sind wirklich unterschiedlich – es hängt immer viel vom Fotografen und vom Stylisten ab. Aber hier war es sehr familiär, da ich Natalia und Javier schon lange kenne. Ich habe jetzt das erste Mal mit ihm zusammenarbeiten können und er ein sehr guter Fotograf. Es war wirklich eine sehr entspannte Zusammenarbeit, die Spaß gemacht hat.”

Martina, vielen Dank für diesen tollen und exklusiven Tag mit Dir. Uns hat es sehr viel Spaß gemacht und wir hoffen, dass wir uns demnächst auf Formentera wieder sehen werden.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 5th, 2022|Categories: Fotografie|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Fotografie|
  • Published On: Juli 25th, 2022|Categories: Fotografie|
  • Published On: August 3rd, 2017|Categories: Fotografie|
  • Published On: Januar 27th, 2013|Categories: Fotografie|