Ibiza Style had the pleasure of attending the launch of Nobu Ibiza Bay, an elegant event at this most idyllic of venues. The new season was welcomed in with a sophisticated sake ceremony, hosted by founders Chef Matsuhisa Nobu, Robert de Niro and Meir Teper.

As guests arrived, they were greeted by hostesses in full geisha gowns and makeup, and the atmosphere was one of excitement and anticipation of the evening ahead. And what an evening it was. As the guests, all of whom were certainly dressed to impress enjoyed the excellent cocktails and typical nikkei fusion style canapes, Japanese dancers graced the stage ahead of the ceremony itself.

The founders were joined by the hotel’s executives for the ceremony, which was both elegant and dramatic, with wooden barrels of sake, adorned with the Nobu named dramatically broken open using traditional wooden mallets. This ancient ritual is known as the Kagami – biraki ceremony and it signifies good fortune and goodwill, welcoming the season with luck and happiness.

The ceremony came to a dazzling conclusion with the release of dozens of typical Japanese lanterns, which lit up the sky to the sound of traditional taiko drums.

 

Nobu Hotel Ibiza Bay

Carrer de Ses Feixes, 52
07800 Ibiza
+34 971 192 222

Ibiza Style hatte das große Vergnügen der offiziellen Eröffnung des Nobu Hotels Ibiza Bay beizuwohnen. Die neue Saison wurde mit einer aufwendigen Sake-Zeremonie eingeleitet,  zu der auch die Inhaber Matsuhisa Nobu, Robert de Niro und Meir Teper angereist waren.

Die Gäste wurden von wunderschönen „Geishas“ in Kimonos begrüßt, in der Luft lag die knisternde Vorfreude auf eine lange Partynacht – und was für eine sollte das werden! Die Gesellschaft war „dressed to impress“  und genoss sichtlich die exzellenten Cocktails und die Kanapees im Nikkei-Fusion-Style, während auf der Bühne japanische Tänzer die Besucher verzauberten.

Feierlicher Höhepunkt war die beeindruckende Zeremonie, die Inhaber und Führungskräfte des Hotels miteinander vereinte. Im Mittelpunkt standen die große Sake Holzfässer, die mit dem Nobu Logo und traditionellen Holzschnitzereien geschmückt waren.  Das uralte Ritual, bekannt als Kagami Biraki Zeremonie, soll glücklichen Erfolg bringen – die neue Saison wurde mit Freude gesegnet.

Zum Abschluss stiegen dutzende leuchtende japanische Laternen zum Klang traditioneller Taiko Trommeln den Himmel hinauf – ein Gänsehautmoment.

Nobu Hotel Ibiza Bay

Carrer de Ses Feixes, 52
07800 Ibiza
+34 971 192 222