In 2010, Tom travelled to Ibiza with 25 of his closest friends for what was supposed to be a week-long holiday. “My manager booked me to play at Blue Marlin,” Tom recalls. “I was really excited, but the owner of Blue Marlin – who is a good friend of mine now – said he knew nothing about the booking. I called my manager and eventually they let me play. After an hour the owner came back and said, right, I want you to be one of my residents.”

Rather than flying back to London, Tom decided to remain on the island for the duration of the summer. The weekly slot at Blue Marlin was a start, but the money wasn’t enough to live on. “I’d just won the Best DJ in London Award twice,” Tom explains. “I had some good connections and luckily people gave me a shot. Jason Bull and Nick Reid from Hotel Es Vive helped me out. And Jürgen Bushe from Ibiza Style Magazine agreed to interview me when I was trying to make a name for myself. After the interview, Jürgen gave me the chance to play on Ibiza Global Radio. We got some good feedback and I’ve been doing the show ever since.”

When Ocean Beach opened in 2012, Tom found yet another outlet for his diverse dancefloor sound. “These days, I’m working six days a week at Ocean Beach as their Musical Director,” Tom continues. “It’s not necessarily all house music there. Last Thursday, for instance, I didn’t play a single house track. I played reggae, garage and hip-hop, whereas I might play minimal techno for five hours at Blue Marlin.”

This summer, Tom is also directing the musical output at STK, the chic new steakhouse located within the walls of the Corso Hotel & Spa in Marina Botafoch. “I book the DJs and play there twice a week.” Tom says. “The idea is to get people dancing on the tables. The other night I started playing Bill Withers and Marvin Gaye. When it got a bit busier I dropped Unlimited Touch and Earth, Wind & Fire. It’s really eclectic, very cool and very different.”

One of reasons why Tom has such a diverse taste in music is his father, who worked in the music industry for 35 years. “My dad was a soul boy, a reggae boy,” Tom explains. “He’s sadly passed away now, but he worked at Warner Bros., Universal, and he also had his own label. He was one of the best A&R men around. He discovered UB40. The best advice he ever gave me was never to play a record unless it made the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end. I’m also very lucky because my dad left me all his vinyl when he passed away. I’m still playing his dub reggae 7-inches now!”

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Lange bevor Tom Crane als DJ begann, gehörte er zum berühmt-berüchtigten Pirate-Radio-Circuit Londons. „Ich liebte diese Jungle-Szene,“ lächelt Tom. „In Hackney auf die Dächer steigen, Antennen aufbauen, die Polizei an der Nase herumführen, um nicht gekrallt zu werden – es war wie ein Spiel für uns. Ab und zu konfiszierten sie die Plattenspieler und die Mischpulte, aber richtigen Ärger hatten wir nie.“

Mit 25 Freunden war Tom im Jahre 2010 nach Ibiza gereist. Der Plan: Eine Woche Urlaub. „Mein Manager buchte mir einen Gig im Blue Marlin,“ erinnert sich Tom. „Ich freute mich natürlich, aber der Besitzer  – heute ein guter Freund von mir – sagte: Ich habe nie von dir gehört, Kumpel, du spielst hier kein Set. Ich rief meinen Manager an und schließlich ließ man mich ran. Nach einer Stunde kam der Besitzer wieder zu mehr und sagte, okay, ich möchte dich hier als Resident.“

Anstatt also wieder nach London zu fliegen, blieb Tom den ganzen Sommer auf der Insel. Der wöchentliche Slot im Blue Marlin war ein Anfang, zum Leben reichte es nicht ganz. „Ich hatte gerade den ‚Best DJ in London’-Award in London gewonnen,“ erklärt Tom. „Ich hatte ganz gute Beziehungen und glücklicherweise gab man mir eine Chance. Jason Bull und Nick Reid vom Hotel Es Vive halfen mir. Und Jürgen Bushe vom Ibiza Style interviewte mich, als ich gerade begann, mir einen Namen zu machen. Nach dem Gespräch gab Jürgen mir die Chance, beim Ibiza Global Radio zu spielen. Wir bekamen gutes Feedback und seitdem mache ich die Show.“

Mit der Eröffnung des Ocean Beach 2012 tat sich für Tom ein weiteres Betätigungsfeld auf. „Heute arbeite ich sechs Tage die Woche als Musical Director des Ocean Beach,“ fährt Tom fort. „Das ist nicht unbedingt immer House Music. Letzten Donnerstag etwa habe ich nicht einen House Track gespielt, sondern Reggae, Garage und Hip-Hop. Im Blue Marlin spiele ich manchmal fünf Stunden Minimal Techno am Stück.“

Einer der Gründe, warum Tom so einen vielschichtigen Musikgeschmack hat, ist sicherlich sein Vater, der 35 Jahre in der Musikindustrie gearbeitet hat. „Mein Vater war ein Soul Boy, ein Reggae Boy,“ erklärt Tom. „Er lebt leider nicht mehr, aber er hat für Warner und Universal gearbeitet und zudem sein eigenes Label gehabt. Er war der beste A&R-Mann überhaupt. Er hat UB40 entdeckt. Der beste Rat, den er mir jemals gegeben hat: Spiele niemals eine Platte, wenn sich dir dabei nicht die Nackenhaare aufstellen. Ich hatte zudem das große Glück, dass er mir all sein Vinyl vererbt hat. Ich spiele heute immer noch seine DubRagga-Singles!“

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|