Amongst the most thrilling and important remnants of the Pitiusas’ past are the Renaissance town walls in Dalt Vila and the watch towers and defences along the coast of Ibiza. Every visitor to the Island is immediately struck by the impressive town fortifications which have been declared a World Heritage Site. But the traveller will discover the watch towers later – along a stretch of the coast which can easily be accessed by car and which makes for a brilliant day out. The towers date back to a time when pirates were not merely a romantic notion, but represented a real threat. Today, they offer fantastic views over the magnificent countryside, as in order to gain the advantage, these towers needed to be built on raised ground, such as mountain ridges, headlands, cliffs and on small islands off the coast.

In 1235, after more than 300 years of Arab rule, Ibiza and Formentera were recaptured by the Catalans during the ‘Reconquista’. However, this did not stop the Island’s former, exiled rulers from staging sinister visits. They made good use of their intimate knowledge of the archipelago as well as the element of surprise for their unexpected forays. They landed in quiet coves, attacked the scattered surrounding hamlets and stole everything that was not nailed down; goods, animals and above all women and children whom they used to extort ransom.

It was for this reason that the watch towers were built, enabling the sentries to raise the alarm at the first sight of an enemy sail on the horizon. Then an acoustic warning was given with a shell horn. They also used fires which could be seen for miles around, heavily smoking ones using green branches during the day and brightly burning ones made from dry wood at night. This gave those who heard or saw the warning several options: inhabitants who lived in outlying houses fled into the fortifications which at the time were also to be found in rural settlements. And anyone who found themselves near a church sought refuge there, as at that time all the churches had been fortified.

The warning signal was passed along the chain of towers. One watch tower alerted another until the warning reached the town, so that the armed corsair ships could be sent out with royal assent on the hunt for the pirates. There is a monument to these heroic defenders which can still be seen today on the harbour front in Ibiza. It is the only monument to corsairs anywhere in the world.

The watch towers were constructed between the 16th and 18th centuries by royal stonemasons. Invariably round in shape, their walls are 2.5 metres thick, they are between eight and nine metres in height, consist of two storeys, a spiral staircase curling around the inner wall and an exterior platform complete with arrow slits. The door is set at a dizzy-making height. It could only be accessed with a ladder which the defenders could withdraw once they were inside.

Anyone wanting to visit the towers today is advised to start their trip at the aforementioned corsair monument in Ibiza’s harbour and then head off to the south of the Island. The towers are easy to find as they are clearly marked on every tourist map. The following is a well-trodden tour route:

1. Torre de Sa Sal Rossa (Platja d’en Bossa); 2. Torre de ses Portes (Platja de Mitjorn o les Salines); 3. Torre des Savinar (Cap des Jueu); 4. Torre d’en Rovira (Cala Comte); 5. Torre de la Iglesia de Sant Antoni; 6. Torre des Molar (Port de Sant Miquel); 7. Torre de Portinaitx (Punta Mares); 8. Torre de Campanitx (Punta d’en Valls); 9. Torre de la Iglesia de Santa Eulària; 10. Torre de la Isla de l’Espalmador; 11. Torre de sa Punta (Punta Prima); 12 Torre des Pi d’es Cátala (Racó de s’Argila); 13. Torre de Barbaria (Cap de Barbaria) und 14. Torre de sa Gavina (Punta Gavina).

The final four towers mentioned can be found on the Islands of Espalmador and Formentera. You can see them if you take a trip to the smaller Pitiusas: leave the Freos Straights behind you and follow the stretch of road through the Salinas nature reserve, a divine coastal region with small islands and lighthouses and the purest, clearest water of the Mediterranean.

In the last hundred years, several of the watch towers have been inhabited once again, usually by eccentrics who find that they can fulfil their dream of life as a recluse. Many years ago, a fisherman lived in the ‘Torre de ses Portes’. He took his boat out to sea every day, and later on, exchanged his catch for vegetables, sugar, salt, coffee and other every-day items in the Bar de la Canal.

The ‘Torre d’en Rovira’ was also occupied in the 1930s. In the 1960s, the tower of Cap des Jueu, which stands opposite the mythical Island of Vedrà, and was described as the ‘Pirate Tower’ by the novelist Blasco Ibáñez in his book ‘Los muertos mandan’ (‘The Dead Command’), was inhabited by a strange woman: she always wore trousers and boots and appeared only rarely in Pueblo de Cubells. When she did she was always armed with an enormous basket for provisions. She was a writer and a painter, and soon the wildest stories grew up around her which were embellished as circumstances dictated.

The truth is that these towers were given a second life by these hippies who used them to realise their Robinson Crusoe fantasies. Today, the towers bear unusual witness to the past; they cast a magic legendary spell over the Island, and together with the Renaissance town walls in Ibiza Town, represent a cultural heritage of inestimable value.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 19th, 2018|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: July 13th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: June 24th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: May 25th, 2016|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: August 6th, 2015|Categories: Tradition|

Zu den spannendsten und bedeutendsten Relikten der Geschichte der Pityusen gehören die Renaissance-Stadtmauern der Altstadt (Dalt Vila) und die Wach- und Verteidigungstürme entlang der Küste Ibizas. Während die monumentalen Befestigungsanlagen der Stadt, die heute Weltkulturerbe sind, jedem Besucher direkt ins Auge fallen, entdeckt der Reisende die Wachtürme erst später: entlang einer Strecke der Küstenlinie, die mittlerweile bequem mit dem Auto befahrbar ist und ein hervorragendes Ausflugsziel darstellt. Die Türme stammen aus Zeiten, in denen die Piraterie nichts Prosaisches hatte, sondern eine reale Bedrohung darstellte. Auch heute noch bieten sie eine fantastische Aussicht über die herrliche Landschaft, da derartige Türme zweckmäßigerweise stets an erhöhten Stellen errichtet wurden wie etwa auf Bergrücken, Kaps, Klippen und vorgelagerten kleinen Inseln.

Ibiza und Formentera wurden nach über 300 Jahren unter arabischer Herrschaft 1235 im Zuge der „Reconquista“ von den Katalanen zurückerobert. Die vertriebenen ehemaligen Herrscher hörten jedoch nicht auf, den Inseln finstere Besuche abzustatten. Dabei machten sie sich ihre genauen Landeskenntnisse ebenso zunutze wie den Überraschungsfaktor ihrer nicht erwarteten Abstecher. Sie landeten in stillen Buchten, überfielen die verstreut umliegenden Weiler und raubten alles, was nicht niet- und nagelfest war: Waren, Tiere, vor allem aber Frauen und Kinder, um für diese dann Lösegelder zu erpressen.

Aus diesem Grunde wurden die Wachtürme gebaut, deren Wachen beim Anblick von feindlichen Segeln am Horizont sofort Alarm schlugen. Ein akustisches Warnsignal wurde mithilfe eines Schneckenhorns gegeben. Außerdem waren die stark rauchenden Feuer aus grünen Zweigen am Tage und die hell lodernden Feuer aus trockenem Holz in der Nacht meilenweit sichtbar. Die so Alarmierten hatten nun mehrere Möglichkeiten: Bewohner entlegener Häuser flohen in die Befestigungen, die damals üblicherweise auch bei ländlichen Behausungen zu finden waren. Wer sich in der Nähe einer Kirche befand, suchte dort Zuflucht: Die Gotteshäuser dieser Zeit waren zu Wehrkirchen ausgebaut.

Das Warnsignal wurde unterdessen entlang der Turmkette weitergegeben. Ein Wachturm alarmierte den nächsten, bis die Stadt gewarnt war, sodass von dort aus bewaffnete Korsarenschiffe – wie man sagt, mit königlicher Erlaubnis – auf die Jagd nach den Piraten gehen konnten. Diesen heldenhaften Verteidigern ist ein Denkmal gewidmet, das der Reisende sich noch heute im Hafen von Ibiza anschauen kann. Es ist weltweit das einzige Korsaren-Denkmal.

Die Wachtürme wurden zwischen dem 16. und dem 18. Jahrhundert von königlichen Baumeistern konstruiert. Ausnahmslos rund, ihre Mauern 2,5 Meter dick, ragen sie acht bis neun Meter hoch auf, haben zwei Stockwerke, eine in die Innenwand eingebaute Wendeltreppe und eine begehbare Außenplattform, die mit einer Schießscharte versehen ist. Die Tür befindet sich in schwindelerregender Höhe. Man konnte sie nur über eine Leiter erreichen, die die Verteidiger, einmal im Inneren angekommen, natürlich einzogen.

Will man die Türme heute besichtigen, ist es ratsam, die Runde beim erwähnten Korsaren-Denkmal im Hafen von Ibiza zu beginnen und dann im Süden der Insel fortzusetzen. Die Türme zu finden ist einfach, haben sie doch ihren festen Platz in jeder touristischen Karte. Folgende Besichtigungs-Route hat sich bewährt:

1. Torre de Sa Sal Rossa (Platja d’en Bossa); 2. Torre de ses Portes (Platja de Mitjorn o les Salines); 3. Torre des Savinar (Cap des Jueu); 4. Torre d’en Rovira (Cala Comte); 5. Torre de la Iglesia de Sant Antoni; 6. Torre des Molar (Port de Sant Miquel); 7. Torre de Portinaitx (Punta Mares); 8. Torre de Campanitx (Punta d’en Valls); 9. Torre de la Iglesia de Santa Eulària; 10. Torre de la Isla de l’Espalmador; 11. Torre de sa Punta (Punta Prima); 12 Torre des Pi d’es Cátala (Racó de s’Argila); 13. Torre de Barbaria (Cap de Barbaria) und 14. Torre de sa Gavina (Punta Gavina).

Die vier letzten der genannten Türme befinden sich auf den Inseln Espalmador und Formentera. Man kann sie im Rahmen eines Ausflugs auf die kleineren Pityusen besichtigen, indem man die Freos-Enge hinter sich lässt und der Strecke durch das Salinen-Naturschutzgebiet, einer paradiesischen Küstengegend mit Inselchen und Leuchttürmen und dem reinsten und klarsten Wasser des Mittelmeeres, folgt.

In jüngerer Zeit, seit dem 20. Jahrhundert, ist in manche der Wachtürme das Leben zurückgekehrt: Meist sind es Originale, die sich in ihnen den Traum von einem Leben als Einsiedler erfüllen. So lebte vor vielen Jahren im „Torre de ses Portes“ ein Fischer, der jeden Tag mit seinem kleinen Boot aufs Meer fuhr und den Fang später in der „Bar de la Canal“ nahe dem Salinen-Bootssteg gegen Gemüse, Zucker, Salz, Kaffee oder andere Gegenstände des täglichen Bedarfs eintauschte.

Auch der „Torre d’en Rovira“ war in den 1930er Jahren bewohnt. Und auch der Turm vom „Cap des Jueu“ gegenüber der mythischen Insel Vedrà, den der Schriftsteller Blasco Ibáñez in seinem Buch „Die Toten befehlen“ den „Piratenturm“ nannte, beherbergte in den 1960er Jahren eine Fremde: Sie trug stets Hosen und Stiefel und erschien nur selten im „Pueblo de Cubells“ – und wenn, dann mit einem riesigen Korb für Vorräte. Sie war Schriftstellerin und Malerin, und bald rankten sich die wildesten Legenden um diese Frau, die nach Bedarf ausgeschmückt wurden.
Tatsache ist, dass die Türme von diesen Bohemiens, die in ihnen ihre Robinsonaden verwirklichten, zu einem zweiten Leben erweckt wurden. Heute sind die Türme ein außergewöhnliches Zeugnis der Vergangenheit, zaubern ein legendenhaftes Flair auf die Inseln und stellen zusammen mit den Renaissance-Stadtmauern Ibizas ein Kulturerbe dar, dessen Wert außer Frage steht.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 19th, 2018|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Juli 13th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Juni 24th, 2017|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: Mai 25th, 2016|Categories: Tradition|
  • Published On: August 6th, 2015|Categories: Tradition|