In my opinion Can Domingo is one of the ‘Top Ten’ restaurants on the Island but this may well count as an insider tip as so few other people seem aware of the fact. Approaching Sant Josep from the direction of Ibiza Town you will see a sign on the left-hand side. Turn off here and follow an unmade road for 2km until you reach a finca-style building.

This is where Jean Baptiste Guichesseux has been slaving over the hob for the last two years after first refining his skills during a four-year stint at Ducasse in Paris. He may well have learnt a few tricks there but over time he has developed his own style, a mix of tradition, creativity and modernity, but always honest and transparent. He firmly believes that it is a mistake to interfere with the taste of the ingredients to the point where they are no longer recognisable. He has too much respect for the produce he uses to fall into that trap. Everything must be fresh and prepared immediately prior to being served. In charge of service is his wife Dagmar and she has always taken an active interest in the design of the garden and the finca’s interior. The style – a harmonious blend of modern features with old masonry – is in keeping with Jean Bapist’s own traditional/modern philosophy of cooking.

It was particularly pleasing to note that they have recently started to offer a wine from their extensive and well-chosen list to suit every dish.

Moreover, connoisseurs will find exclusive wines from all around the world specially imported by Jean Baptiste himself: this means he can offer them at very favourable prices. On the menu you will find both Mediterranean as well as ‘intercontinental’ dishes because Jean Baptiste likes to open up new cultural horizons to broaden the palate of his guests – after all, this is multicultural Ibiza. A perfect example is the tuna tartar accompanied by a sabayon of fresh asparagus with almond gaspacho washed down with a fine Albariño.

During the summer, the kitchen is predominantly Mediterranean, but in the winter the emphasis is more on French dishes. This gourmet experience is complemented by the well balanced wine list of some 100 fine Spanish and French labels. And then there are Jean Baptiste’s desserts – ooh la la! It is worth travelling the length and breadth of the Island to experience this truly authentic top cuisine.

Can Domingo Ibiza

Can Domingo

Ctra. Ibiza a San Jose, km 9,850

07830 Sant Josep de sa Talaia

+34 971 800184

info@candomingoibiza.com

www.candomingoibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: June 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: October 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|

Man kann es noch einen Geheimtipp nennen, denn nur wenige kennen das Restaurant Can Domingo, das für mich zu den Top Ten der Insel zählt. Von Ibiza Stadt kommend steht kurz vor Sant Josep links ein Hinweisschild, und man folgt ungefähr 2 km einem ungeteerten Weg, bis man an einem Finca-artigen Gebäude ankommt.

Hier steht seit zwei Jahren Jean Baptiste Guichesseux am Herd, der vorher vier Jahre bei Ducasse in Paris sein Handwerk verfeinert hat. Er hat zwar etwas dessen Stil angenommen, aber im Laufe der Zeit seinen eigenen entwickelt, eine Mischung aus Tradition, Kreativität und Moderne, leicht verständlich. Es ist seine Philosophie, den Geschmack eines Produktes nicht auf Teufel komm raus so zu verändern, daß man es nicht wieder erkennt. Er respektiert das Produkt sehr, alles muß frisch sein und erst einen Moment vor dem Servieren zubereitet werden. Für den Service ist seine Frau Dagmar zuständig, sie hat sich auch um die Gestaltung des Gartens und der Innenräume der Finca gekümmert. Modern, aber nicht extrem stylish in alten Mauern, das spiegelt auch die Philosophie von Jean Baptist’s Kochstil wieder – traditionell, aber mit einem Touch Moderne.

Besonders gut hat mir gefallen, daß seit kurzem zu jedem Gericht aus dem großen und gut ausgesuchten Weinangebot ein passender Wein auch offen angeboten wird.

Übrigens finden hier Weinliebhaber exclusive Weine aus aller Welt, die Jean Baptiste selbst importiert; so kann er sie recht preisgünstig anbieten. Auf der Menükarte finden sich neben mediterranen auch intercontinentale Gerichte, denn Jean Baptiste möchte die Sinne seiner Gäste auch für andere Kulturen empfänglich machen – schließlich befinden wir uns ja im multikulturellen Ibiza. Ein Beispiel dafür das Tartar vom Thunfisch, dazu ein Sabayon von grünem Spargel und Gazpachoschaum von Mandeln, serviert mit einem Albariño. Eine Geschmacksexplosion auf dem Gaumen. Aber auch traditionelle ibizenkische Küche wird einer Modernisierung unterzogen: Bullit de Peix von Rojas und Rape mit Tomaten, Zucchini- und Avocadoscheiben auf Zwiebelgemüse an einem mit Anis parfümierten reduzierten Fischfond – sensationell! Dazu ein australischer Sauvignon.

Während die Küche im Sommer eher mediterran geprägt ist, überwiegen im Winter typisch französische Gerichte. Eine gut abgestimmte Weinkarte mit rund 100 Kreszenzen spanischer und französischer Provenienz runden den Gaumengenuss ab. Und dann sind da noch Jean Baptistes Desserts – ohlala! Für diese wirklich authentische Spitzenküche lohnt sich sogar der weiteste Weg vom anderen Ende der Insel.

Can Domingo Ibiza

http://bsrumybg.myraidbox.de/pages/de/luxury_style/essen_trinken/38-can_domingoinsider_tip.html

Can Domingo

Ctra. Ibiza a San Jose, km 9,850

07830 Sant Josep de sa Talaia

+34 971 800184

info@candomingoibiza.com

www.candomingoibiza.com

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Juni 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Oktober 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|