Zo the joy of the island’s theatergoing community, stars aligned at the VIII Opera Festival of Ibiza that took place on September 8, 10, 12 and 14 at the new Social and Cultural Centre that had just opened its doors in Jesus. The building boasts of a very modern layout and design and includes an exhibitions hall, a concert hall, a media library and several multipurpose rooms. Its concert hall is noticeably smaller than that of the Congress Palace in Santa Eulalia and accommodates just over 300 guests, but it definitely has a very unique atmosphere around it and is perfectly suited for both classical and cutting-edge performances.

The first piece to grace the stage of the Centre was ‘Carmen’ – probably the most Spanish opera ever, even though its author, Georges Bizet, never left Paris in his life and composed the masterpiece relying exclusively on his inspiration and cultural background. Premiered in the French capital in 1875, ‘Carmen’ is still a very modern piece of art that tackles the problem of female self-realization confronted by a man’s intention of treating the woman he fell in love with as his property.

Producer Armin Heinemann made the best out of the room the acoustics of which might be not perfect for opera: a creative approach to production and the incredible cast facilitated the task of turning the evening into an impeccably outstanding occasion. Not only did Carol Garcia (Carmen), Carlos Silva (Don Jose), Irantzu Bartolome (Micaela), Carlos Daza (Escamillo), Marc Pujol (Zuniga), Elisa Velez (Frasquilla) and Isabel Albaladejo (Mercedes) cast a spell over the public with their marvellous vocals – the compact size of the room let the actors keep permanent eye contact with every spectator all throughout the performance. The chemistry from the stage electrified every inch of the room, which was, by the way, so full they had to bring additional rows of chairs. Conductor Daniel Gil de Tejada stupendously led the orchestra that consisted to a large extent of local musicians.

Carmen-Ibiza-Style-02

The main piece of props was a movable box that would transform into a bedroom, or a house façade, or a place of a symbolic murder scene. The “Amar mata / Love kills” warning on it was a subtle pun, given that the story started at a tobacco factory with female workers. To establish a more intimate connection with the audience, a slight improvisation was introduced into the plot – Don Jose was said to be born in Ibiza, and vintage black-and-white pictures of the island were projected on screens, depicting toreros, payesas, and folklore scenes from everyday life.

Long after will the music pieces from one of the most recognizable operas ever ring in the minds of the visitors of that superb evening (the infamous ‘Habanera’ and ‘Toreador’ amongst them). May all the forthcoming events at the new cultural centre be as well-executed, fascinating and simply brilliant as ‘Carmen’!

Zur Freude der Freunde klassischer Musik konnten zum 8. Opernfestival auf Ibiza einige große Stars gewonnen werden. Dieses Jahr kam dann auch das neueröffnete Kulturzentrum in Jesus endlich in voller Größe zum Tragen. Das Gebäude verfügt über ein modernes Design und hat neben einem Ausstellungssaal, einer Medienbibliothek und einigen Mehrzweckhallen auch einen Konzertsaal. Der bleibt zwar von den Sitzplätzen (er fasst 300 Gäste) gegen den Kongress Palast in Santa Eulalia zurück, aber seine Atmosphäre ist einzigartig und bietet klassischen und modernen Inszenierungen Raum!

Als Verbeugung vor dem Veranstaltungsort wurde als erstes „Carmen“ gegeben – die wohl spanischste Oper überhaupt, auch wenn ihr Komponist George Bizet niemals auch nur einen Fuß aus Paris herausgesetzt hat. Er ließ sich von seiner Inspiration leiten und Carmen wurde bereits 1875 in Paris uraufgeführt. Die Oper ist ein modernes Kunstwerk, das an aktuellem Bezug nicht verloren hat. Die Selbstverwirklichung und Emanzipation der Frau, die Rolle als Eigentum des Mannes; auch heute noch ein starkes Thema.

Produzent Armin Heinemann holte das Beste aus der Raumakustik heraus, die nicht optimal für eine Oper dieses Formats ist. Aber die kreative Herangehensweise der Mitwirkenden und die außerordentlich gute Besetzung sorgten dafür, dass es ein unvergesslicher Abend wurde. Carol Garcia (Carmen), Carlos Silva (Don Jose), Irantzu Bartolome (Micaela), Carlos Daza (Escamillo), Marc Pujol (Zuniga), Elisa Velez (Frasquilla) und Isabel Albaladejo (Mercedes) zogen die Besucher vom ersten Ton an in ihren Bann. Die kompakte Raumstruktur sorgte darüber hinaus dafür, dass die Darsteller viel Blickkontakt mit den Zuschauern hatten und das schuf eine unglaubliche Energie. Die Chemie auf der Bühne elektrisierte den ganzen Raum, der so gefüllt war, dass zusätzliche Stuhlreihen aufgebaut werden mussten. Dirigent Daniel Gil de Tejada führte souverän das Orchester, das zum größten Teil aus lokalen Musikern bestand.

Carmen-Ibiza-Style-02

Gratulation auch zur Requisite: im Mittelpunkt der Bühne stand eine bewegliche Box, die je nach Bedarf in ein Schlafzimmer, eine Hausfassade oder den unheimlichen Platz einer Mordszene umgewandelt werden konnte: Carmen in the box. Die zentrale Aussage „Amar mata – Liebe tötet“ zielte doppeldeutig auf die Anfangsszene, in der Frauen in einer Tabakfabrik arbeiteten. Um die Nähe zum Publikum noch weiter auszubauen, ließ Heinemann Don Jose auf Ibiza zur Welt kommen. Im Hintergrund der Bühne liefen Vintage Schwarzweißfotos der Insel mit Folklore- und Alltagsszenen.

Noch lange klangen die Arien der Oper in den Köpfen der Besucher nach, so wie „Habanera“ oder „Toreador“. Was für ein gelungener Auftakt für das Opernfestival. Mögen alle zukünftigen Veranstaltungen im Kulturzentrum so faszinierend, gut ausgeführt und genial werden wie Carmen. Da capo!

Related Posts

  • Published On: Februar 12th, 2019|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Juli 15th, 2017|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Mai 31st, 2017|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: September 23rd, 2016|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Juli 29th, 2016|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|