Despite his eleventh hour switch from Sankeys to Privilege at the beginning of May, Darius Syrossian had a truly triumphant Ibiza 2015 after his debuting Do Not Sleep party caught the imagination of thousands of young ravers who turned up at the Vista Club on mass to dance to cutting edge underground sounds.

“The creation of Do Not Sleep was absolutely organic,” Darius says. “Yes, the whole Sankeys situation happened. But can I just say for the record that I wish Sankeys all the best. You might even see me on the dancefloor this summer. A lot of my friends DJ at Sankeys; Sidney Charles and Santé are playing there. So that was last year! But life’s too short to hold grudges or to be negative. We all want to dance and have fun. Now it’s time to move on.”

One of the reasons why Do Not Sleep was such a success is because Darius and his team kept things simple. There were no dancers. No ice canons. No VIP tables. No fuss. Just a white strobe pulsing in concordance with a relentless techno romp. It was a stripped back look that forged the sort of concentrated dancefloor atmosphere typically reserved for marathon afterparties.

“When I saw the Vista Club for the first time, I thought that’s exactly what we need,” Darius recalls. “A massive open space with great views and a great soundsystem. Do Not Sleep should have been a massive failure. We were a brand new party going up against three absolute legends in Steve Lawler at Sankeys, Luciano at Space and Solomun at Pacha. But we still smashed it. We didn’t get less than a thousand through the doors at any one party. The support we had was fantastic.”

This summer, Do Not Sleep moves to Space. The event maintains its traditional Sunday timeslot. The concept, however, has been slightly tweaked. “We have more guests this season,” Darius explains. “Nick Curly and Alan Fitzpatrick as residents, with Hector Couto coming in for four or five back-to-back shows. Sidney Charles and Santé are moving on. But they’ve got their own brand, Avotre , to consider. It doesn’t make sense for people to associate them with Do Not Sleep. They’re going spread their wings this year which is great.”

The responsibility of being one of Space’s main headliners in its final farewell season isn’t lost on Darius: “It hasn’t sunk in yet. Space is such a historic club. To be one of the main residents is such an honour. When I went to speak to Juan he was so humble. He took me out around Barcelona and wouldn’t let me pay for dinner. To be honest, I was a bit nervous about meeting him, but he said, ‘Look, I know your music and I want to support you.’ As an artist you don’t want to be told what to play and when to play it. Juan has given me the freedom to do whatever I want. Normally you don’t get that.”

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Der Wechsel vom Sankeys zum Privilege Anfang Mai geschah durchaus kurzfristig – Ibiza 2015 wurde für Darius Syrossian dennoch ein Triumph. Die Premiere von Do Not Sleep“nahm tausende junger Raver im Sturm und versah den Vista Club mit einem extrem undergroundigen Soundtrack.

„Die Erfindung von Do Not Sleep geschah völlig natürlich,“ berichtet Darius. „Klar, da war die Sache mit dem Sankeys, aber ich kann nur sagen, dass ich dem Sankeys das Beste wünsche. Ich denk sogar, dass man mich dieses Jahr dort auf dem Dancefloor sehen wird. Viele meiner Freunde sind DJs dort, Sidney Charles und Santé spielen da. Und überhaupt – das war doch alles letztes Jahr. Das Leben ist zu kurz, um sich über die Vergangenheit zu ärgern. Wir wollen tanzen und Spaß haben. Es ist an der Zeit, nach vorn zu schauen.“

Einer der Gründe, warum Do Not Sleep so erfolgreich war: Darius und sein Team setzten auf Klarheit. Keine Tänzer, keine Eis-Kanonen, nicht ein VIP-Table. Klare Kante. Weißes Strobolicht, das im Beat des Techno Sounds pumpt. Ein äußerst reduzierter Look, der diese ganz bestimmte Atmo einer nie enden wollenden Afterparty ausmacht.

„Als ich den Vista Club das erste Mal sah, dachte ich, das ist genau das, was wir brauchen,“ erinnert sich Darius. „Offener Raum mit toller Aussicht und ein erstklassiges Soundsystem. Do Not Sleep hätte völlig in die Hose gehen können. Wir waren komplett neu und hatten mit Steve Lawler im Sankeys, Luciano im Space and Solomun im Pacha größtmögliche Konkurrenz. Aber wir haben es geschafft. Nicht weniger als tausend Leute bei jeder Party. Der Support war fantastisch.“

In diesem Sommer zieht Do Not Sleep ins Space, wo es den traditionellen Sonntags-Slot behält. Das Konzept ändert sich jedoch ein wenig: „Wir haben diese Saison mehr Gäste,“ erklärt Darius. „Nick Curly und Alan Fitzpatrick sind Residents, dazu kommt Hector Cuoto für vier oder fünf Bak-to-Back-Shows. Sidney Charles und Santé ziehen weiter, sie haben mit Avotre ihre eigene Marke. Es macht also wenig Sinn, wenn man sie weiter mit Do Not Sleep assoziiert. Sie brechen zu neuen Ufern auf und das ist großartig.“

Die Tatsache, einer der Headliner der letzten Saison im Sankeys zu sein, beschäftigt Darius: „Ich habe es noch nicht realisiert. Sankeys ist so eine Legende und einer der Haupt-Residents zu sein, ist eine solche Ehre. Jean war so reizend, als ich mit ihm darüber sprach. In Barcelona gingen wir zusammen aus und er lud mich zum Dinner ein. Um ehrlich zu sein, war ich vor dem Treffen etwas nervös, aber er sagte: „Weißt du, ich kenne deine Musik und ich will dich supporten.“ Als Künstler möchtest du nicht gesagt bekommen, was du wann spielen sollst. Und Juan ließ mich tun, was ich wollte. Diese Freiheit bekommst du normalerweise nicht.“

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|