Add the two of these facts together, drop them under the umbrella of exciting Ibiza party Glitterbox and the potential for a memorable night on the dancefloor goes through the roof. There are nights in Ibiza where everything aligns, where things come together to produce those moments that define summer season’s, and, as we head to Playa d’en Bossa for the latest episode of one of the stand out parties of the summer, we can’t help feel that this is what is happening. Glitterbox moved from the Terrace to the main room as it delivered yet another magnificent memory.

Fatboy Slim has a few decades of performing under his belt, from his early days as a fresh faced bass player in UK pop band the Housemartins to overlooking beaches filled with hundreds of thousands of clubbers there to see only him. To get the chance to witness the much talked about DJ in a simple club environment, stripped back of the massive festival production that so often surrounds his set, faced with a packed floor full of eager faces as he takes them on a roller coaster ride of phat basslines, huge drops and infectious vocals, feeling every twist and turn with them, was simply amazing.

Glitterbox hasn’t looked back since it made the move to Space Terrace at the beginning of the summer. A series of well programmed line ups, some headline grabbing live performances – from both artists and its own troupe of dancers as well as club collective Savage – an iconic club room and a crowd that has consistently delivered a vibrant atmosphere in which the party can thrive, has meant it has grabbed headlines on and off the island. The latest foray seen it occupy the Discoteca for the night as one of the genuine legends of the club scene goes back to basics, digs out a box full of club classics and smashes the famous dancefloor, giving everyone on and around it a night they will not forget in a hurry.

As with every Glitterbox line up, the array of talent is vast and tonight was no different, from the downbeat edits of John Morales to Tensnake, The Shapeshifters and Mambo Brothers, the night was built on solid foundations of great house music before the booth was handed to Fatboy Slim. It was a big occasion for the Friday night party in Space but I have a feeling it’s not going to get too carried away, it has enjoyed a few of them this summer already to be fair. The packed crowd inside the main room is another thing altogether, it braved the unusual August storms to witness one of the performances of the summer and it will be holding on to the memory as long as humanly possible. For Glitterbox, it’s business as usual next Friday as yet another set of talented DJs and performers pick up the baton of a summer that keeps going from strength to strength.

The
Fatboy Slim
Collection

[affiliate id=9633_EN]

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 31st, 2022|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: July 29th, 2022|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: May 9th, 2019|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: September 21st, 2018|Categories: Party|
  • Published On: July 15th, 2018|Categories: Party|

Man nehme diese beiden Zutaten, kombiniere sie auf einer der aufregenden Glitterbox-Partys und die Chance, eine Party zu erleben, bei der das Dach abhebt, stehen ziemlich gut. Es gibt so Nächte auf Ibiza, da passt einfach alles zusammen, da entstehen Momente, die die ganze Saison definieren. Und als wir so Richtung Playa d’en Bossa zu einer der letzten Ausgaben der größten Partys des Sommers unterwegs sind, werden wir das Gefühl nicht los, das es heute mal wieder so weit ist. Glitterbox ist von der Terrasse in den Mainroom umgezogen und lieferte einen unvergesslichen Abend.

Fatboy Slim blickt bereits auf einige Dekaden Erfahrung als Performer, von seinen Anfangstagen als bassspielender Jüngling bei den Housemartins bis zu den hunderttausenden von Zuschauern an den Stränden dieser Welt, die gekommen sind, nur um sein Set zu sehen. Die Chance, den sagenumwobenen DJ einmal in einem überschaubaren Club zu erleben, viel reduzierter als bei einer dieser Massenveranstaltungen, die sein Set oft ausmachen, dazu ein voller Dancefloor mit erwartungsfrohen Fans, die es kaum abwarten können, mit ihm zusammen diese soundtechnische Achterbahnfahrt anzutreten, war absolut einmalig.

Für Glitterbox ging es nur nach vorn, seit es zu Beginn des Sommers auf die Space Terrace umgezogen ist. Eine Reihe gut zusammengestellter Line-Ups, Live-Performances, die für Schlagzeilen sorgten – von den Künstlern und ihren eigenen Tanztruppen ebenso wie vom Club-Kollektiv Savage. Die ikonische Venue und ihre Crowd, die stets vibrierende Atmosphäre und der Stimmungspegel haben nicht nur auf der Insel einen legendären Ruf. Auch der neueste Streich, diesmal in der Discoteca, nahm historische Ausmaße an. Back to basics war das Motto, ein ganzer Schwung von Klassikern bestimmte das Programm und brachte den Dancefloor derart zum Glühen, dass wirklich niemand, der dabei war, diesen Abend so schnell vergessen wird.

Wie bei jedem Line-Up im Glitterbox war auch diesmal wieder jede Menge Talent am Start. Von den Downbeat Edits eines John Morales bis Tensnake, The Shapeshifters und Mambo Brothers lief die Nacht bereits auf solidem House-Fundament, bevor Fatboy Slim die Booth übernahm. Es war eine Riesengelegenheit für die Freitagsparty im Space, auch wenn man das Gefühl hatte, dass es nicht zu abgehoben werden würde, es gab schlichtweg in diesem Sommer bereits einiges an Partys. Die vielköpfige Crowd im Main Room aber ist eben ein Ding für sich. Die Leute hier haben einen mehr als bewegten Monat August hinter sich und wurden schließlich dennoch Zeuge eines der erinnerungswürdigsten Sets überhaupt. Für Glitterbox heißt es am Freitag drauf wieder business as usual, wenn ein weiteres Set talentierter DJs und Performer sich anschicken, erneut auf höchstem Level abzuliefern.

The
Fatboy Slim
Collection