‘From the farm to the table’ is the philosophy behind Granja de Santa Gertrudis, according to its director, Agustín Felipe Rodríguez, while he describes what they do there. Although it’s been open ever since 1973, for many years they limited themselves to producing milk, which was first packed in pasteurized 1L bags and later in the tetrapacks we buy nowadays. Since then, however, the farm has undergone huge changes, adapting improvements for the livestock and extending the range of products that its customers ask for.

This has meant expanding production to include other dairy products such as cheese, butter, yoghurt and cream. You can find any of them in your local supermarket, in the big chain stores like Eroski or at the farm itself, which is open to the public from 08:00 to 19: 00 from Monday to Friday and from 08:00 to 13:00 on Saturdays. What’s more, they even have an as-yet little known home delivery service.

GRANGA_IBIZASTYLE-001

Agustín says that “The foreign customers—the English, Germans and French—are the ones who most appreciate milk as a local product, more than local people”. In fact, in winter the small villages such as Jesús, where there is a higher concentration of foreigners, is where they sell the most, even managing to outsell the big stores. On the contrary, he adds that it is “the Ibicencos who value medium mature and mature cheese more”. Just like the pastry shops that stock its cottage cheese in order to make flaó, the classic Ibizan dessert.

La Granja’s main aim now is to expand so that it is able to reach everywhere on the island, with particular reference to the meat trade in which they began to do business last year. They imported two new breeds of cattle, Angus and Wagyu, from Scotland, Ireland and Australia, intended to be sold as meat. Along with the Frisian cows—of which there is a greater number given that they produce milk- the latter go to make up what is currently a herd of more than 430 head, which enjoy all kinds of luxuries.

GRANGA_IBIZASTYLE-004

The cows sleep on rubber beds cushioned with straw to ensure the hygiene of the udders, they have got automatically activated brushes to massage them, they listen to music that relaxes them while they are being milked and their diet is based on forage that is produced in Ibiza, as well as alfalfa, carob and milled cereals imported from the mainland. Under constant innovation, this process is designed to improve the animals’ well-being and raise the quality of their products.

All this work has helped them to win, in the space of one short year, clients of the stature of the big hotels Hard Rock and Ushuaia, among others, who they supplied over the course of last summer. “The experience we had last year seling meat was very good; we sold the lot and that is why this year we are hoping to consolidate our position”. With respect to next winter, they plan to keep trade going too, which is why they already have their own butchering and curing rooms. But, right now, they are preparing to face a very promising summer.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: July 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: June 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: October 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|

V]om Bauernhof direkt auf den Tisch“, das ist die Philosophie des landwirtschaftlichen Betriebes La Granja Santa Gertrudis und seines Direktors Agustín Felipe Rodríguez. Bereits 1973 gegründet, hat sich die Firma viele Jahre darauf beschränkt, nur Milch zu verkaufen. Zunächst noch pasteurisiert im Ein-Liter-Beutel – später im Tetrapack. Jetzt aber ist ein Ruck durch die Stallungen gegangen. Vieles hat sich verändert: sowohl in der Tierhaltung als auch in der Produktauswahl. Damit hat La Granja auf die veränderten Ansprüche und Wünsche der Kunden reagiert.

Das Angebot der Molkerei wurde um Käse, Butter, Joghurt und Sahne erweitert. Neu ist auch, dass die Marke Granja in größeren Supermärkten, wie z. B. Eroski erhältlich ist. Der beliebte Verkauf direkt auf dem Bauernhof läuft natürlich weiter. Montags bis freitags von 8 h bis 19 h und am Samstag von 8 h bis 13 h. Was viele nicht wissen: Es gibt einen Lieferdienst, der die Produkte direkt bis vor die Haustür bringt.

GRANGA_IBIZASTYLE-001

„Die ausländischen Kunden, die Engländer, die Deutschen und die Franzosen, wertschätzen unser lokales Produkt mehr als viele Einheimische“, bilanziert Agustín. So ist der Absatz im Winter in kleinen Dörfern wie Jesús in denen mehr Ausländer leben, auch höher als in Gegenden, in denen große Ketten die Nase vorne haben. Die Ibizenker mögen mittelalten oder richtig reifen Käse. Die Konditoreien benötigen wiederum Ziegenfrischkäse und Quark, um Flaó, das berühmte ibizenkische Dessert herzustellen.

Das große Ziel von La Granja ist es, überall auf der Insel mit seinen Erzeugnissen vertreten zu sein. Das gewinnt um so mehr an Bedeutung, als dass seit dem letzten Jahr auch in den Fleischhandel investiert wurde. Dazu hat man extra zwei neue Rinderrassen aus Schottland, Irland und Australien, Angus und Wagyu, eingekauft. Zusammen mit den friesischen Kühen, die für die Milchgewinnung genutzt werden, ergibt dies eine Herde von mehr als 430 Kühen, die wie in einem Luxushotel leben.

GRANGA_IBIZASTYLE-004

Die Kühe schlafen auf Gummibetten, die mit Stroh aufgepolstert sind, damit die Euter stets im einwandfreien Zustand sind. Automatische Bürsten massieren die Kühe und während des Melkprozesses lauschen sie entspannender Musik. Ihre Futterauswahl besteht zum Großteil aus regionalen Produkten wie Alfalfa und Johannisbrot aber auch aus vom Festland importierten Getreidearten. Diese innovativen Bestrebungen dienen dem Wohlbefinden der Kühe und damit der Erzeugung besserer Produkte.

Die großen Bemühungen haben sich bereits rentiert gemacht: erstklassige Hotels wie das Hard Rock und auch das Ushuaia konnten als Kunden gewonnen werden. „Die Erfahrungen, die wir im letzten Jahr gemacht haben helfen uns dabei, unsere Arbeit und unsere Erzeugnisse weiterhin zu verbessern und noch hochwertiger zu machen. Daher freuen wir uns auf die neue Saison und sind gespannt, ob die Käufer unser Engagement weiterhin honorieren werden“.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 20th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Juli 9th, 2022|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Juni 3rd, 2019|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: Oktober 20th, 2017|Categories: Locations|
  • Published On: September 26th, 2017|Categories: Locations|