By the time they were at their peak in the 70s, Led Zeppelin were already a good deal bigger than the sum of their parts, a band that appeared to give life to the buzzword “supergroup“. Full stadiums, devoted fans, the tours in their own air plane, along with Bonham’s beats, Page’s incredible virtuosity on guitar, the brilliant bass lines of the often underrated John Paul Jones and the unmistakable, ready for anything voice of the “god on a golden mountain,” singer Robert Plant. Nor should we overlook the iron rule of the mighty Peter Grant, who was always ready to throw all his weight behind his band – up until today the archetype of the band manager perched halfway between genius and insanity.

IBIZASTYLE_JIMMYPAGE-008When it comes to the great remasters campaign, 35 years after the end of Led Zeppelin, anyone attempting to approach the larger-than-life songs once more with fresh ears is going to get blown off their feet. When that also then happens in the present with one of the creators himself, then the ground is set for a musical history lesson in which the lines between journalist and fan quickly blur. The opportunity to not only hear the work together but also discuss it together with Jimmy Page, the master in person, is all too enticing, too unique.

The place for this encounter of such an exceptional kind was chosen with a sure hand. Two dozen hand-picked journalists, several representatives of Warner Records and interview moderator Alan Bangs, the British radio legend and expert on the subject met in Berlin’s Meistersaal in May. Naturally, music lovers smack their lips in the Meistersaal: it is the wood-panelled ceremonial hall at the former Hansa Studios, the place where Bowie once sang “Heroes”, Depeche Mode industrialized their sound and U2 – in the shape of “Achtung Baby” – rendered their audio impressions of the former island city immediately after the fall of the wall.

With a casual snow-white ponytail and dressed in a dark suit, rounded off with cool Chelsea boots, Jimmy Page has the first three albums by Led Zeppelin in his luggage.   Page himself has produced and re-mastered the whole thing and it took up quite some time. “I took hundreds of tapes home with me, box after box. And then I really listened to everything to find the best alternative takes,” he says smiling. He scoured archives, fetched tapes up out of the basement together with old companions and got hold of some bootlegs in Japan. The resulting material now finds itself on these records.

So Page has put a hell of a lot of work into this project – and you don’t need to do more than listen to the first track to immediately notice: his efforts have paid off  The opulent box sets come chock-full of demos, out-takes, live recordings and even the alternative takes of well-known originals. For example, Bonham’s spectacular drumming on “Good Times, Bad Times” and “Communication Breakdown” is incredible. On “Gallow’s Pole” you feel so close you could be touching Page’s guitar and “Whole Lotta Love” swings and sweats, bursting forth as if you were standing in a room with the four of them.

IBIZASTYLE_JIMMYPAGE-005In Ibiza many fans will listen to these songs with particularly fond memories; quite independently of one another Page & Plant also left their musical marks behind here. In 1985 Robert Plant filmed the video for his single “Sea of Love” here. The next year Page turned up in Eivissa to hand out an unforgettable musical visiting card. Needless to say, the fact that his band at the time, the Firm, had just broken up didn’t mean that Page himself would set his guitar down in the corner; on the contrary – the strings artist simply carried on with a passion. And on August 4 1986 in the Heartbreak Hotel in San Antonio, that’s what he did. The band that Page jammed with at that time was called Safe Sex. In the line-up there was none other than John Bonham’s son Jason, whose fantastic playing ensured solid backing a good 20 years later at the legendary concert for label boss Ahmet Ertegun at London’s O2 Arena as well as Mike Thompson on vocals and Dennis Le Bass and Phil Carson who shared the bass, in particular on their version of the classic, “Lucille“.

It was Carson, himself a musician used on the stage at some Led Zep shows and an erstwhile Atlantic Records employee that Page forced to perform for his own show “Heartbreak Hotel”. On the set list alongside “Lucille” at this sweat-inducing, not-to-be-forgotten gig were rock ‘n’ roll classics that couldn’t be left out such as: “I Just Wanna Make Love to You“, the naturally indispensable “Heartbreak Hotel” that gave its name to the place as well as “Baby Please Don’t Go” and the Beatles’ classic “Money”.

The image the spectators beheld could just as easily have come from one of the legendary Led Zep shows: Page with flowing mane and sweat-soaked shirt going full tilt at his famed Telecaster that he only swapped for a Dan Electro for the song “Lucille”.

First of all, a number of difficulties emerged in the run-up to the concert. The main bone of contention was the poster. Page thought that the picture he had chosen was a little too “sweaty” and set about sorting it out himself.

IBIZASTYLE_JIMMYPAGE-021The result was that a new one had to be made. In the end they only had two hours in which to print the authorised version. And while we’re on the subject of the poster: Seen from today, the name “Safe Sex” might sound somewhat naff. In the middle of the 80s, however, that part of the pop world that was mainly oriented towards nihilism found itself in the focus of the debate about HIV and its consequences. Perhaps, after the particularly debauched years of the Led Zep era it was a conscious counterpoint to the explicit party madness of rock’s founding years.

And that’s the key phrase because even though this founding period itself will soon be a full half century old and the show in Ibiza’s already a good three decades old too, the protagonists and their sound are as up-to-date and popular as ever. The inevitable calls for a reunion are happily referred by Page to Plant as he is the one who’s insisting, in contrast to Page, Jones and Bonham Jr., that he’d prefer to spend time on other projects. To wit, a new album by him is coming out in the autumn.

Yet it was precisely there, at the presentation of this new record – a multi-layered master work spanning world, folk and deepest trip-hop sounds – in front of an illustrious circle in a small hotel in the London borough of Soho – where Page himself also brought the old love back into play. Over a glass of red wine, the singer with the same wild mane waxed enthusiastically about having played an incredible version of the Zep classic “Black Dog” with his band the day before. You couldn’t help but see there a very definite twinkle in his eyes.  It is like it is: whether 1970 or 1986 – or 2014 – Led Zeppelin are and remain one of the greatest bands that the world has ever seen.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Schon zu ihrer Hochzeit in den 70er Jahren waren Led Zeppelin um einiges größer als die Summe ihrer Teile. Eine Band, so schien es, wie gemacht, um das Schlagwort von der „Supergroup“ mit Leben zu füllen. Volle Stadien, ergebene Fans, die Touren im eigenen Flugzeug, dazu die Beats von Bonham, Pages unglaubliche Virtuosität an der Gitarre, die geniale Bass-Grundierung des oftmals unterschätzten John Paul Jones und die unverwechselbare, zu allem bereite Stimme des „God on a Golden Mountain“, Sänger Robert Plant. Nicht zu vergessen: das eiserne Regiment des wuchtigen Peter Grant, der für seine Band stets bereit war, jedes seiner vielen Kilo Lebendgewicht einzusetzen – bis heute der Archetypus eines Bandmanagers zwischen Genie und Wahnsinn.

IBIZASTYLE_JIMMYPAGE-008Wer 35 Jahre nach dem Ende von Led Zeppelin, anlässlich der großen Remasters-Offensive, versucht, sich noch einmal mit frischem Ohr den überlebensgroßen Songs zu nähern, wird aus dem Stand weggeblasen. Wenn das dann auch noch in der Gegenwart mit einem der Macher selbst passiert, ist der Boden bereitet für eine musikalische Geschichtsstunde, bei dem die Grenzen zwischen Journalist und Fan schnell verwischen. Zu einnehmend, zu einmalig ist die Gelegenheit, das Werk mit Jimmy Page, dem Meister persönlich, nicht nur zusammen zu hören, sondern auch gemeinsam zu erörtern.

Der Ort für diese Begegnung der ungewöhnlichen Art war mit sicherem Händchen gewählt. Im Berliner Meistersaal trafen sich im Mai zwei Dutzend handverlesene Journalisten, ein paar Representatives von Warner Records und Interview-Moderator Alan Bangs, die britische Radio-Legende mit Expertise zum Thema. Musikliebhaber schnalzen beim Meistersaal natürlich mit der Zunge: Es handelt sich beim holzgetäfelten Prunksaal um die ehemaligen Hansa-Studios, jenen Ort also, wo Bowie einst “Heroes” einsang, Depeche Mode ihren Sound industrialisierten und U2 ihre Eindrücke der ehemaligen Inselstadt unmittelbar nach dem Mauerfall qua “Achtung Baby” in Klang gossen.

Jimmy Page, mit lässigem schneeweißen Zopf, gekleidet in einen dunklen Anzug, abgerundet mit coolen Chelsea Boots, hat die ersten drei Alben von Led Zeppelin im Gepäck. Page selbst hat das Ganze produziert, neu gemastert und dafür einiges an Zeitaufwand geleistet. “Ich habe Hunderte von Tapes mit nach Hause genommen, Karton um Karton. Und dann wirklich alles durchgehört, um die besten alternativen Takes zu finden”, erzählt er lächelnd. Er hat Archive durchforstet, mit alten Weggefährten zusammen Bänder aus dem Keller hervorgeholt, selbst in Japan noch Bootlegs aufgetrieben, deren Material sich jetzt auf diesen Platten wiederfindet.

Es war also ein Heidenarbeit, die Page in dieses Projekt gesteckt hat – und wer auch nur den ersten Track hört, merkt umgehend: Die Arbeit hat sich gelohnt. Die opulenten Album-Boxen sind randvoll mit Demos, Outtakes, Live-Aufnahmen und eben den alternativen Takes der bekannten Originale. Unglaublich, wie dickhosig etwa Bonhams Beats bei “Good Times, Bad Times” und “Communication Breakdown” bollern. Bei “Gallow’s Pole” meint man, Page förmlich in die Gitarre greifen zu können, “Whole Lotta Love” schwingt und schwitzt, drängt sich nach vorn, als würde man mit den vieren in einem Raum stehen.

IBIZASTYLE_JIMMYPAGE-005Auf Ibiza dürften viele Fans diese Songs mit einer ganz besonderen Erinnerung hören, haben Page & Plant doch unabhängig voneinander auch hier ihre musikalischen Spuren hinterlassen. Robert Plant hatte anno 1985 hier das Video zu seiner Single „Sea of Love“ gedreht, im Jahr darauf erschien Page auf Eivissa, um eine klingende, unvergessliche Visitenkarte abzugeben. Seine zwischenzeitliche Band, The Firm, hatte sich gerade aufgelöst, für Page selbst bedeutete das natürlich nicht, die Gitarre in die Ecke zu stellen, im Gegenteil – der Saitenkünstler aus Leidenschaft machte einfach weiter. Und am 4. August 1986 tat er das im „Heartbreak Hotel“ in San Antonio. „Safe Sex“ nannte sich die Band, mit der Page damals jammte, im Line-Up niemand geringeres als John Bonhams Sohn Jason, dessen unglaubliches Spiel gut zwanzig Jahre später beim legendären Konzert für Labelboss Ahmet Ertegun in der Londoner O2-Arena für dicke Backen sorgte, dazu Mike Thompson am Gesang, und Dennis Le Bass und Phil Carson, die sich den Bass teilten. Letzterer vornehmlich bei ihrer Version des Klassikers „Lucille“.

Carson war es, selbst als Musiker bei einigen LedZep-Shows auf der Bühne im Einsatz und ein ehemaliger Labelmann von Atlantic Records, der Page für eine Show in dem von ihm geführten „Heartbreak Hotel“ verpflichtet hatte. Neben „Lucille“ bei diesem schweißtreibenden, unvergesslichen Gig auf der Setlist waren ausnahmslos Rock’n Roll-Classics: Darunter „I Just Wanna Make Love to You“, das an diesem Ort natürlich unverzichtbare und namensgebende „Heartbreak Hotel“, dazu „Baby Please Don’t Go“ und der Beatles-Klassiker „Money“.

Das Bild, was sich den Zuschauern bot, hätte ebenso gut von einem der legendären LedZep-Shows stammen können: Page mit wallender Mähne und schweißtriefendem Hemd, im Anschlag seine legendäre Telecoaster, die er nur für den Song „Lucille“ gegen eine Dan Electro tauschte.

Im Vorfeld des Gigs hatte es zunächst ein paar Unwägbarkeiten gegeben. Stein des Anstoßes war das Plakat. Page fand das von ihm gewählte Bild wohl ein wenig zu „sweaty“ und sich selbst darauf etwas zu aufgelöst.

IBIZASTYLE_JIMMYPAGE-021Die Folge: Es sollte ein neues produziert werden, am Ende mussten zwei Stunden ausreichen, um die abgesegnete Version zu drucken. Apropos Plakat: Aus heutiger Sicht mag der Name „Safe Sex“ etwas verstören, Mitte der 80er sah sich jedoch der vornehmlich nihilistisch ausgerichtete Teil der Popwelt im Fokus der Diskussion um HIV und den Folgen. Vielleicht nach den besonders ausschweifenden Jahren der LedZep-Ära ein bewusster Kontrapunkt zum expliziten Feierwahn der Rock-Gründerjahre.

Ein gutes Stichwort: Denn obwohl genau diese Gründerzeit bald ein gutes halbes Jahrhundert her ist, die Show auf Ibiza auch schon gute drei Dekaden, so sind die Protagonisten und ihre Sounds so aktuell und angesagt wie eh und je. Die unvermeidlichen Fragen nach der Reunion werden von Page gern an Plant verwiesen. Ist der es doch, der zumeist betont – im Gegensatz zu Page, Jones und Bonham jr. – lieber in andere Projekte Zeit investieren zu wollen. Im Herbst etwa erscheint ein neues Album von ihm.

Doch es war genau anlässlich der Vorstellung dieser neuen Platte – ein vielschichtiges Meisterwerk zwischen World, Folk und tiefdunklen TripHop-Sounds – vor einem erlauchten Kreis in einem kleinen Hotel im Londoner Stadtteil Soho, da Page selbst auch die alte Liebe ins Spiel brachte. So schwärmte der Sänger mit der unverändert wilden Mähne bei einem Glas Rotwein davon, wie er am Vortage mit seiner Band eine unfassbare Version des Zep-Klassikers „Black Dog“ gespielt habe. Dabei kam man nicht umhin, ein ganz bestimmtes Funkeln in seinen Augen zu sehen. Es ist wie es ist: Ob 1970 oder 1986 – oder anno 2014 – Led Zeppelin sind und bleiben eine der größten Bands, die die Welt je gesehen hat.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 26th, 2022|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Mai 24th, 2019|Categories: Musik|
  • Published On: Juli 12th, 2018|Categories: Musik|