It was seeing Stevie Wonder perform at Glastonbury that persuaded techno producer Laura Jones to continue working as a DJ, despite a degenerative eye condition that is gradually impairing her eyesight. “I wasn’t in a good place at that particular time,” Laura explains. “I was thinking of packing it all in. But to see Stevie Wonder, who has never been able to see properly, absolutely smash Glastonbury, that’s what turned it all around for me.”

Stargardt Disease affects one in approximately 10,000 people. In terms of information and research, right now there’s very little factual evidence available to doctors looking to treat the disease. “When I was diagnosed eight years ago I was given very few answers,” Laura continues. “I was told it was incurable, that I was going blind. All I could do was eat a balanced diet, rich in different coloured fruit and vegetables.”

Unwilling to surrender to the illness, Laura and her boyfriend started researching for themselves. One of the first things they discovered was that Stargardt Disease is made worse by ultraviolet light (UV). “So we found out who makes the strongest sunglasses on the market,” Laura recalls. “The Adidas category 4 lenses, which are manufactured in cooperation NASA to create something called the space lens. They’re almost like sports ski glasses that double up as goggles. If you can imagine your eyes being spotty when you move from light to dark environments, mine tend to be like that all the time unless I’m wearing a form of lens that stabilises the surrounding light environment.”

Laura has also tried alternative treatments like hypnotherapy, as well as naturopathy and other diet related modalities. “Going out to India to visit an Ayurvedic therapist is also on my hit list,” Laura explains. “I’ve had acupuncture and Chinese medicines recommended to me. I’m all for natural remedies. But I always thought stem cell therapy would be the saviour for people with my condition.”

After visiting London’s Moorfields Eye Hospital, however, Laura was made aware of a new treatment being trialled by pharmaceutical giants Bayer. “The visit was a tale of two halves,” Laura continues. “The specialist told me I was in group one of three, which means your central vision will fully go, but your peripheral vision will hopefully remain intact, although what percentage remains unknown. The second thing he said was that stem cells would not save the day, because when the cells die they affectively leave scaring on the surface of the eye. In layman’s terms, this means the stem cells can’t find a place to camp out. Then he told me about gene editing, which is basically cutting out the defect gene and replacing it with the good gene. In eight years, this is the most positive news I’ve had and a little light at the end of the tunnel.”

“I used to say to my partner, ‘I don’t know how I feel talking about my disease, because I don’t want people thinking I’m saying all this to get the sympathy vote. I take my DJing very seriously and I don’t want people thinking that’s all I am. But I guess as I’ve got older and wiser, I’ve realised that mine is actually a very inspiring story and it seems to be inspiring a lot of people.”

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 26th, 2022|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 19th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: August 11th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: May 24th, 2019|Categories: Music|
  • Published On: July 12th, 2018|Categories: Music|

Laura Jones leidet unter einer fortschreitenden Augenkrankheit, die sie nach und nach ihre Sehkraft verlieren lässt, aber es war einst Stevie Wonder der ihr neuen Mut gegeben hat. Als sie den Sänger in Glastonbury auf der Bühne sieht, steht für sie fest: Sie wird als DJ weitermachen. „Es ging mir damals nicht besonders“ erklärt Laura. „Ich wollte alles hinschmeißen. Aber Stevie Wonder zu erleben, der nie richtig sehen konnte, und Glastonbury förmlich zerlegte, änderte alles.“

Die Stargardt-Krankheit gibt es nur bei ca. einer Person unter Zehntausend. Kaum erforscht, wenig Informationen – die Behandlung ist sehr schwierig. „Als ich die Diagnose vor acht Jahren erfuhr, konnte man mir kaum etwas sagen,“ erzählt Laura weiter. „Man eröffnete mir, es sei unheilbar und dass ich erblinden würde. Das einzige, was ich tun konnte, war eine ausgewogene Diät aus verschiedenen Früchten und Gemüsen.“

Doch Laura und ihr Freund dachten nicht an Aufgabe und versuchten, mehr über die Krankheit herauszufinden. Eine erste Erkenntnis war, dass ultraviolettes Licht die Krankheit beschleunigt. „Also suchten wir nach den stärksten Sonnenbrillen überhaupt“ erinnert sich Laura. „Die Adidas-Linsen Kategorie 4 werden in Koop mit der NASA hergestellt, sogenannte Space-Linsen. Sie sind vom Typ her etwa so Sport-Brillen für Skifahrer. Man stelle sich einfach vor, wie es ist, wenn man vom Hellen ins Dunkle wechselt – diese blitzenden Punkte auf der Netzhaut hatte ich ständig, wenn ich keine lichtstabilisierenden Linsen trage.“

Laura hat auch alternative Heilbehandlungen wie Hypno-Therapie probiert, dazu Naturopathie und andere Diätpläne. „Ich habe auch einen ayurvedischen Therapeuten in Indien aufgesucht“ erklärt Laura. „Akupunktur wurde mir empfohlen, chinesische Medizin. Ich bin wirklich sehr für alle natürlichen Methoden, aber erst Stammzellen-Therapie schien mir dann die Lösung wie mich zu sein.“

Bei einem Besuch im Londoner Moorfield’s Eye-Hospital erfuhr Laura von einer neuen Methode, die der Pharmariese Bayer ausprobierte. „Der Besuch war eine zweischneidige Sache,“ berichtet Laura weiter. „Der Spezialist sagte mir, ich gehörte zur ersten von drei Krankheitsgruppen. Das hieß für mich: Mein zentrales Sehvermögen würde ich verlieren, aber meine Oberflächen-Sicht sollte intakt bleiben, wenn es auch unklar war, in welchem Ausmaß. Dann erklärte er mir, dass Stammzellen nicht die endgültige Lösung wären, da sie nach ihrem Absterben Narben auf der Augoberfläche hinterlassen würden. Dann erzählte er mir von einer Gen-Therapie, bei der die defekten Gene quasi herausgeschnitten werden und durch gesunde ersetzt werden. Für mich war das die beste Nachricht der letzten acht Jahre und damit ein kleines Licht am Ende des Tunnels“

„Ich sagte immer zu meinem Partner, ich würde nicht so gern über meine Krankheit sprechen, da ich befürchtete, die Leute würden denken, ich will auf ihr Mitleid abzielen. Ich nehme mein DJing sehr ernst und möchte nicht, dass die Leute meinen, das wäre alles. Aber je älter und weiser ich werden, desto mehr komme ich zu der Erkenntnis, dass meine Geschichte durchaus eine sehr inspirierende ist und dass sie vielen Leuten wirklich etwas gibt.“

Laura-Jones_Ibiza-Style-001