Quantum Racing successfully defended its title of champion of the ZENITH Royal Cup Marina Ibiza. American ship-owner Doug DeVos’ boat was the most consistent one over the five days the competition lasted and it carried off the trophy ahead of the Argentinean ship-owner Alberto Roemmer’s Azzurra and Swedish skipper Niklas Zennström’s Rán Racing.

IBIZASTYLE_ROYALCUP-007Quantum was triumphant thanks to its savoir faire and the huge amount of experience that its crew has built up. The key to success in a five-day regatta is always to be among the leading positions. You pay a high price for making mistakes. The Americans, who carry Ed Baird, the winner of the Americas Cup, on the helm of their boat, know perfectly how to minimise their mistakes.

The first day, Wednesday, was the most strenuous one for the crews. It produced wins for the Quantum and the ship-owner Takashi Okura’s Sled while the third round was won by Gaastra pro belonging to the Dutchman Marc Blees. At the end of the day, Quantum was the leader thanks to their consistency and owing to the fact that it didn’t let up for a second.

The second day was held with conditions very similar to those of the Wednesday. And the winners were the Azzurra and the Quantum, meaning that the Americans consolidated their first place and the Italian-Argentinians, skippered by Guillermo Parada, climbed up to second place.

On the Friday, it was time for the highly awaited coastal regatta with a 30 mile course that went from Ibiza Port to the island of Tagomago which they sailed around to starboard. However, before arriving at the island located in the north of the Pitiusas’, they went headlong into winds against which the teams had to use all their ingenuity if they were to overcome them. In this tactical battle the most patient one was the Phoenix, which took advantage of its persistence in sailing as close as possible to the coast to become the first one to sail upwind which carried it to victory in Ibiza. It brought great happiness to the boat of the Brazilian ship owner and helmsman, Eduardo de Souza Ramos, who had not had a good start to the competition.

On the Saturday it wasn’t possible to compete in any of the planned rounds and on the Sunday Quantum made sure of victory with its triumph in the first of the trials with very little wind.

Final results of the ZENITH Royal Cup Marina Ibiza

  1. Quantum Racing, USA, (Doug De Vos USA) (1,2,3,2,1,6,1,7) 23 points.
  2. Azzurra, ITA, (Alberto Roemmers ARG) (3,5,2,1,6,2,4,3) 26 points.
  3. Rán Racing, SWE, (Niklas Zennström SWE) (2,4,4,4,5,7,7,1) 34points..
  4. Sled, USA, (Takashi Okura JPN) (4,1,6,3,4,DNF/9,3,6) 36 points.
  5. Gaastra Pro, NED (Marc Blees NED) (6,6,1,8,2,5,6,4) 38 points.
  6. Provezza 7, TUR, (Ergin Imre TUR) (7,3,7,6,7,3,5,2) 40 points.
  7. Gladiator, GBR, (Tony Langley GBR) (5,7,8,5,3,4,8,5) 45 points.
  8. Phoenix, BRA, (Eduardo de Souza Ramos BRA) (8,8,5,7,8,1,2,8) 47 points.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 29th, 2016|Categories: Leisure & Sport, Leisure & Sport|

Quantum Racing konnte den Titel des ZENITH Royal Cup Marina Ibiza erfolgreich verteidigen. Der amerikanische Skipper Doug DeVos zeigte über die 5 Tage des Rennens einfach die größte Stetigkeit. Er verwies damit den Argentinier Alberto Roemmers (Azzurra) und den Schweden Niklas Zennström (Rán Racing) in ihre Schranken.

IBIZASTYLE_ROYALCUP-007Team Quantum triumphierte auch dank seines savoir faire und der riesigen Erfahrung der Mannschaft. Der Schlüssel zum Erfolg einer fünf-Tages-Regatta liegt immer auch in der Führungspersönlichkeit eines Teams begründet. Der kleinste Fehler wird bestraft. Die Amerikaner, angeführt von Ed Baird, Gewinner des America Cups, wissen genau, wie sie ihre Fehler minimieren.

Der erste Wettbewerbstag, Mittwoch, war der härteste für alle Teams. Quantums Sled Team des in Amerika lebenden Japaners Takashi Okura, konnte punkten, aber auch das Gaastra Team des Holländers Marc Blees. Am Ende des Tages hatte Quantum dank der Zähigkeit und des unermüdlichen Einsatzes die Nase vorn.

Der zweite Tag des Rennens war von den Bedingungen her ähnlich wie der erste. Azzurra und Quantum siegten, damit konnten die Amerikaner ihren Vorsprung festigen, während das italienisch-argentinische Team den zweiten Platz einnahm.

Am Freitag startete dann die heißersehnte Küstenregatta mit einem 30-Meilen-Kurs vom Hafen Ibiza zur Insel Tagomago, die sie steuerbords umsegelten. Doch noch bevor sie auf der im Norden befindlichen Pitusen-Insel ankamen, mussten sie sich gegen den heftigen Wind stemmen und die Teams mussten all ihr Können aufbieten, um hier gut durchzukommen. In diesem taktischen Ringen machten sich die Geduld und das Können des Phoenix Teams bezahlt. Mit Beharrlichkeit hatte der brasilianische Schiffseigner und Steuermann Eduardo de Souza Ramos das Schiff gen Küste gesteuert und konnte dann mit dem Wind wieder Richtung Ibiza segeln. Ein verdienter Etappensieg für das Team, das eigentlich keinen guten Start erwischte.

Am Samstag konnten die Runden nicht abgeschlossen werden und so wurde der Sonntag zum Entscheidungstag. Quantum sicherte sich den Sieg in einem Durchlauf, der von sehr wenig Wind geprägt war.

Die finalen Ergebnisse des ZENITH Royal Cup Marina Ibiza

  1. Quantum Racing, USA, (Doug De Vos USA) (1,2,3,2,1,6,1,7) 23 Punkte.
  2. Azzurra, ITA, (Alberto Roemmers ARG) (3,5,2,1,6,2,4,3) 26 Punkte.
  3. Rán Racing, SWE, (Niklas Zennström SWE) (2,4,4,4,5,7,7,1) 34 Punkte.
  4. Sled, USA, (Takashi Okura JPN) (4,1,6,3,4,DNF/9,3,6) 36 Punkte.
  5. Gaastra Pro, NED (Marc Blees NED) (6,6,1,8,2,5,6,4) 38 Punkte.
  6. Provezza 7, TUR, (Ergin Imre TUR) (7,3,7,6,7,3,5,2) 40 Punkte.
  7. Gladiator, GBR, (Tony Langley GBR) (5,7,8,5,3,4,8,5) 45 Punkte.
  8. Phoenix, BRA, (Eduardo de Souza Ramos BRA) (8,8,5,7,8,1,2,8) 47 Punkte

Related Posts

  • Published On: Februar 12th, 2019|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Juli 15th, 2017|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Mai 31st, 2017|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: September 23rd, 2016|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|
  • Published On: Juli 29th, 2016|Categories: Freizeit & Sport|