Santa Gertrudis has long been known as something of a cultural melting pot, for such a small village it has always attracted a very international, bohemian crowd, who come to enjoy the picturesque setting of the cobbled square. With the ancient church casting her magical spell over the plaza, it’s a place to come to while a perfect Ibizan evening, soaking up the inimitable atmosphere, and perfect for people watching.

Another reason that so many residents and visitors alike flock to Santa Gertrudis is of course to delight in the many excellent restaurants, cafes and bars which are the beating heart of this quaint village.

This summer, there is a new jewel in the crown of the square, in the shape of Finca La Plaza. This restaurant has been a cornerstone of the community for decades, and now, with a loving refurbishment from the My Love team, who also brought us the luxurious Beachouse in Playa d’en Bossa, new life has been breathed into this Ibizan institution.

Upon arrival, the first thing to capture your attention is the enchanting garden which is beautifully lit with an abundance of subtle lighting solutions, enhancing every plant, tree and flower to maximum potential. The fragrance of the herbs growing in the garden abound, filling the air with a heady mixture of lavender, rosemary and thyme, sweetened with a touch of wild fennel and mint.The rows of pine, carob and olive trees add to this aromatic delight.

Choose your seat at one of the alfresco tables, where you will be welcomed by an effusively friendly team of staff, for whom nothing is too much trouble. Enjoy a glass of cava as an aperitif, then study the menu, the only problem you will have is.. What to choose!

An eclectic selection of divine dishes, all designed to stimulate and seduce are wonderfully presented, and, as you relax in the sumptuous setting, other diner’s plates arrive, heightening appetites by the second.

An enticing selection of starters grace the menu, including the house favourite,  exquisitely fresh baby squid, perfectly complemented by roasted Iberian ham with a garnish of parsley and garlic oil.

For the mains, an eternally popular choice is the fillet steak, cooked to perfection so that it simply melts in the mouth, and is served with simple yet delicious buttered potatoes and wonderfully fresh chargrilled vegetables.

The seabass is another surefire winner, succulent and moist, with a side order of broccoli delicately flavoured with sweet garlic, the perfect accompaniment.

With so many divine dishes to choose from, and an unrivalled Ibizan ambience, we have no doubt that the legend of La Plaza will continue to thrive and grow under this elegant new direction.

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: May 26th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

Santa Gertrudis ist seit langer Zeit als kultureller Schmelztiegel bekannt und beliebt. Ein kleines Künstlerdorf, voller Charme und pittoresker Häuser, das zum Anziehungspunkt für ein internationales, eher unkonventionelles Publikum wurde. Die alte Kirche im Herzen des Ortes verzaubert den malerischen Platz vor ihr, der sich für einen perfekten Ibiza-Abend ausgezeichnet eignet und über eine unnachahmliche Atmosphäre verfügt.

Doch Santa Gertrudis ist auch aufgrund seiner ausgezeichneten Bars, Restaurants und Cafés beliebt, die stets gut gefüllt sind und für ein lebendiges Treiben inmitten der verträumten Ortschaft sorgen. Besucher und Einheimische genießen hier Schulter an Schulter die ausgezeichnete Küche.

In diesem Sommer leuchtet ein neues Juwel in der Krone des Platzes: Finca La Plaza feiert Wiedereröffnung. Über Jahrzehnte war das Restaurant ein Eckpfeiler der Gemeinde und eine ibizenkische Institution. Nun erstrahlt es nach einem liebevollen Make-Over der Firma My Love Team, die auch das luxuriöse Beachouse in Playa d’en Bossa gestalteten, in neuem Glanz.

Der Garten des Restaurants: Eine üppige Oase, die nun mit subtiler Lichttechnik angestrahlt noch einladender auf die Gäste wirkt. Jede Pflanze, jeder Baum und jede Blume ist Teil einer perfekten Inszenierung und der Duft der Kräuter, die im Garten wachsen und auch in der Küche Verwendung finden, ist berauschend. Würziger Thymian, Rosmarin, Lavendel vermischen sich mit dem Bukett von wildem Fenchel und Minze, mit jedem Atemzug taucht man mehr ein in die Welt Finca La Plaza.

Zwischen den Oliven- und Pinienbäumen ist schnell ein Platz gefunden und voller Herzlichkeit wird jeder Gast von dem freundlichen Team begrüßt, das alle Wünsche prompt erfüllt. Bei einem Glas Cava studiert sich die Speisekarte gleich viel besser – nur, was auswählen?

Die fantasievolle Auswahl der feinen Gerichte verführt bereits beim Lesen und während die ersten Teller bereits am Tisch vorbeischweben, wächst die Lust auf das eigene Gericht von Minute zu Minute, so liebevoll sind die Teller angerichtet.

Aus den Vorspeisen stechen besonders die Baby Calamari hervor, die perfekt mit dem gerösteten Iberico Schinken harmonieren und zart mit Petersilie und Knoblauchöl verfeinert werden.

Ein Klassiker bei den Hauptgerichten ist das Filetsteak, das auf den Punkt gegart ist und zart wie Butter im Mund schmilzt. Serviert wird es einfach und gut mit Butterkartoffeln und knackig frischem Gemüse.

Wer etwas aus dem Meer bevorzugt: Der Seebarsch ist ein Hauptgewinn! Ebenfalls perfekt gegart, ganz leicht glasig, dazu Brokkoli und ein Hauch vom süßem Knoblauch.

Bei dieser kulinarischen Opulenz und dieser unübertroffenen ibizenkischen Atmosphäre haben wir kein Zweifel daran, dass die Legende von Finca La Plaza weiter gedeihen wird.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Juli 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Juni 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Juni 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Juni 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Mai 26th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomie|