Sa-Finca_Ibiza-Style-006

Of course it is widely acknowledged that a Mediterranean tomato, for instance, tastes much better than a greenhouse tomato from central Europe. This applies not only to tomatoes but many different varieties of vegetables. And the produce from the fields of Ibiza is no different. Both the soil and climate of Ibiza are the perfect catalysts for growing great flavorsome ingredients.

I use two farms on Ibiza for my produce to provide both vegetables and meats for the Sid Shanti catering business, which has now moved to it’s new home with bespoke kitchen and tasting area at Calle Abad I Lasierra 56 in Ibiza town.

This month I am featuring the first of my farms: Sa Finca. Set in the center of the island, Sa Finca is one of the larger farms on Ibiza and they produce an array of vegetables and fruits all year round. They encourage organic methods of farming and actively use beneficial insects as opposed to pesticides as part of their farming production and pest control. They grow a varied larder of ingredients and sell direct to the public at their farm shop on the Carretera San Jose, just before Can Bellotera.

In the winter season radishes, Brussel sprouts, cabbage, peas, broad beans, cauliflower, sweet potato and broccoli reign. In the summer tomatoes, celery, lettuce, cucumber, cherries, almonds, aubergines, peaches, grapes, oranges, fresh herbs, pears, watermelon and the best rocket on the island are amongst their bounty.

Buying local ingredients has many benefits, it reduces the carbon footprint of the food you produce and eat. It means the Ingredients are as fresh as possible, therefore having maximum nutritional content. It also supports the local economy, especially the local farmers. With globalization so apparent in modern society it is more important than ever to actively support local business and especially local farmers to ensure that for future generations old traditions and methods are not lost to corporate sentiment and greedy companies exploiting our food chain.

I have decided to make an Ibiza variation of the classic Sicilian Caponata dish for this issue, using both island olives for bitterness and almonds for crunch.

This dish is a perfect side dish to fish or meat of any kind, although I like to keep it in the fridge and scrape lumps with chunky bits of ‘payes’ bread as a quick and delicious vegetarian snack.

Ingredients (serves 6)

  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Sea salt from Ibiza
  • Ground black pepper
  • 2 x large aubergines, cut into thumb size pieces
  • 1 x sweet Spanish onion, peeled and finely chopped
  • 2 x cloves garlic, peeled, finely sliced
  • 4 x large buffalo tomatoes, de-cored and roughly chopped
  • 1 x tablespoon salted capers, washed and drained
  • 2 x tablespoons, Ibiza green ‘Payes’ olives, pitted
  • 1 x teaspoon dried Oregano
  • 1 x small bunch of flat leaf parsley, stalks and leaves finely chopped
  • 3 x tablespoons of good quality herb vinegar
  • 1 x palm full of Ibiza almonds, toasted and broken with the back of a knife.

Recipe

  • Put a large frying pan on a medium heat. Add a good amount of olive oil. Add the aubergine and move continuously to coat all the sides in oil.
  • Fry this for around 5-6 minutes until golden on all sides.
  • Add some more olive oil along with the onion, garlic, oregano and parsley. Cook all together for another 2-3 minutes, giving a couple of stirs in between.
  • Add the capers and olives and then the vinegar.
  • When the vinegar has evaporated (don’t breathe!) add the tomatoes, turn the heat down and put a lid on for 5 minutes then lid off and simmer for another 10-12 minutes, or until all the ingredients are soft.
  • Add sea salt and ground black pepper to your required taste.
  • Serve with sprinkled toasted cracked almonds on top and a nice chunk of local ‘payes’ bread!

Sa-Finca_Ibiza-Style-005

Sa Finca Shop

Ctra Sant josep, km 1,100
07817 Sant Jordi de ses Salines
+34 971 390 091

Sa-Finca_Ibiza-Style-006

Es ist kein Geheimnis, dass eine Tomate aus dem Mittelmeerraum mehr Aroma hat, als eine aus dem Gewächshaus in Mitteleuropa. Und das ist nicht nur bei Tomaten so, sondern auch bei vielen anderen Lebensmitteln. Die Produkte von Ibiza bilden da keine Ausnahme. Boden und Klima sind perfekt für Landwirtschaft und den Anbau aromatischer Gemüsesorten und Früchte.

Ich arbeite eng mit zwei Höfen auf Ibiza zusammen, um Gemüse und Fleisch für mein Unternehmen Sid Shanti Catering zu beziehen, das erst jüngst mit Küche und Probierstube in die Calle Abad I Lasierra 56 in Ibiza Stadt umgezogen ist.

In diesem Monat möchte ich euch einen der zwei landwirtschaftlichen Betriebe näher vorstellen: Sa Finca. Im Landesinneren gelegen, gehört dieser zu den größeren Gehöften der Insel und bietet das ganze Jahr über eine gute Auswahl an Früchten und Gemüsesorten. Der Betrieb setzt auf ökologischen Anbau und nutzt z.B. Insekten statt Pestizide, um Schädlinge zu bekämpfen. Der Verkauf findet direkt in dem Hofladen in Carretera San Jose, kurz vor Can Bellotera, statt.

Im Winter überzeugen Radieschen, Rosenkohl, Kohl, Erbsen, Bohnen, Blumenkohl, Süßkartoffeln und Brokkoli. Im Sommer sorgen Tomaten, Sellerie, Salat, Gurken, Kirschen, Mandeln, Auberginen, Pfirsiche, Trauben, Orangen, frische Kräuter, Birnen und Wassermelonen für Gaumenfreuden. Der Rucola Salat von Sa Finca gehört zu den Besten der Insel.

Lokale Produkte zu kaufen bietet viele Vorteile, u.a. reduziert es die Belastung an Kohlenstoffdioxid beim Transport der Lebensmittel, die wir verarbeiten und essen. Die Zutaten sind immer frisch und besitzen dadurch einen hohen Nährstoffgehalt. Außerdem unterstützten wir damit die regionale Wirtschaft, vor allen Dingen die hiesigen Höfe. Angesichts der zunehmenden Globalisierung wird es immer wichtiger, lokale Anbieter und Bauern zu stützen, um auch in Zukunft auf hiesige Anbieter mit ihren Traditionen und Zubereitungsmethoden zurückgreifen zu können.

Ich habe mich für eine Ibiza-Variation einer sizilianischen Caponata entschieden und nehme dafür Oliven für den bitteren Geschmack und Mandeln für den Crunch.

Dieses Gericht ist eine perfekte Beilage für Fisch oder Fleisch, aber ich liebe es auch als Aufstrich auf einer dicken Schreibe „Payes“ Brot als köstlichen und vegetarischen Snack zwischendurch.

Zutaten (für 6 Portionen)

  • Extra Virgin Olivenöl
  • Meersalz von Ibiza
  • Gemahlener schwarzer Pfeffer
  • 2 große Auberginen, in daumengroße Stücke geschnitten
  • 1 süße spanische Zwiebel, geschält und fein gehackt
  • 2 Knoblauchzehen, gepellt, in dünnen Scheiben
  • 4 große Ochsenherztomaten, entkernt und gehackt
  • 1 Teelöffel gesalzene Kapern, gewaschen und abgetropft
  • 2 Esslöffel grüne „Payes“ Oliven, entsteint
  • 1 Teelöffel getrockneter Oregano
  • 1 kleiner Bund glatte Petersilie, Stiele und Blätter fein gehackt
  • 3 Teelöffel Kräuteressig von guter Qualität
  • 1 Handvoll ibizenkische Mandeln, geröstet und mit dem Messerrücken zerdrückt

Zubereitung

  • Erhitzen Sie das Olivenöl in einer großen Pfanne bei mittlerer Hitze. Fügen Sie die Auberginenscheiben hinzu und wenden diese im Öl.
  • Braten Sie die Stücke 5 – 6 Minuten goldgelb von allen Seiten an.
  • Gießen Sie noch mehr Olivenöl an und geben Sie Zwiebeln, Knoblauch, Oregano und Petersilie hinzu. 2-3 Minuten köcheln lassen, ab und zu umrühren.
  • Kapern, Oliven und Essig unterrühren.
  • Wenn der Essig verdunstet ist (nicht einatmen), kommen die Tomaten dazu, dann noch einmal 5 Minuten mit Deckel kochen, danach Deckel abnehmen und 10-12 Minuten köcheln lassen, bis alle Zutaten weich sind.
  • Mit Meersalz und schwarzem Pfeffer abschmecken.
  • Mit den gerösteten Mandelstückchen bestreuen. Dazu eine große Scheibe vom lokalen „Payes“ Brot.

Sa-Finca_Ibiza-Style-005

Sa Finca Shop

Ctra Sant josep, km 1,100
07817 Sant Jordi de ses Salines
+34 971 390 091