But it were the words that came from my mouth when I was told the recipe I had to make a wine pairing to for this issue was Café Caleta. In the previous editions of Ibiza Style it wasn’t difficult to find a wine suiting to the recipes of Sid Shanti and write a nice piece about it. But because Sid has chosen the recipe of the fishermans coffee (the ibicenco vesion of the Irish coffee) I find myself in an impossible situation: Café Caleta is delicious but without wine!

Unfortunately I must consider a detour and point you out a recipe for a typical Ibicenco dessert: the Greixonera! A kind of flan that comes amazingly paired with a delicious glass of sweet wine (look up the recipe online for the Greixonera).

I have chosen a wine from over the border but we do stay on the Iberian Peninsula. We go to Portugal and I’m going to talk to you about the Adega Aneto from the Douro region. Adega Aneto started producing wine in 2001 by the inspiring hand of Francisco de Montenegro. The white wines of this winery are of absolute top quality. The aromas of aniseed are rather predominant in this wine, hence why the flower of this plant is depicted on the label.

Aneto Late Harvest
Adega Aneto
Douro – Baixo Corgo – Barrô
100% Semillon
€ 21,-

I’m can go on and on about this wine, it’s that exciting, but I wanted to dedicate this piece to their dessert wine, the. I don’t usually like sweet, I hardly ever eat dessert and if I do, it’s because of the wine pairing. You can always get me excited for a good Sauterne; I will of course not say no to a little glass of Chateau Yquem, generally too expensive for any of us commoners. This wine from Portugal isn’t! An amazing top quality alternative for the Yquem lovers who don’t want to spend Yquem money. The Late Harvest 2010 Semillon is of a deep golden colour, it’s beautiful to look at (but not for too long of course). Aromas of honey and wild flowers hit our senses and with the first sip, your mouth is filled with dried fruits, apricots and a little nutty aftertaste. What a pleasure, delicious!

Now that we’ve had the pleasure to enjoy dessert and this fantastic wine it’s time to get to the Café Caleta of Sid. If you still have to drive, don’t! Call a taxi.

Aber es war das erste, was ich fast erschrocken dachte, als mir gesagt wurde, dass ich in dieser Ausgabe einen Wein zum Thema Café Caleta empfehlen soll. In den letzten Ausgaben war es nicht zu schwer, zu Sid Shantis köstlichen Gerichten einen exquisiten Wein auszusuchen. Aber diesmal… Sid hat sich für den „Fischer-Kaffee“ entschieden (eine ibizenkische Version von Irish Coffee) und ich fand mich einer Mission Impossible gegenüber: Café Caleta schmeckt köstlich, aber nicht zu Wein!

Ich werde also einfach einen kleinen Umweg machen und einen Wein zu einem typischen Dessert auf Ibiza beschreiben! Eine Art köstlicher Flan, zu dem ein süßer Dessertwein hervorragend passt (das Rezept für Greixonera finden Sie online).

Ich habe mich für einen Wein entschieden, der Ibizas Grenzen sprengt, aber während wir natürlich hier bleiben, kommt der Wein aus Portugal: Von Adega Aneto aus der Douro Region. Adega Aneto produziert seit 2001 hervorragende Weine unter dem inspirierenden Management von Francisco de Montenegro. Die Weißweine von diesem Gut sind absolute Spitzenklasse. Die Aromen sind stark von Anis beeinflusst, daher ist diese Pflanze auch auf den Etiketten abgebildet.

Aneto Late Harvest
Adega Aneto
Douro – Baixo Corgo – Barrô
100% Semillon
€ 21,-

Ich bin kaum zu bremsen, wenn ich über diese Weine schwärme, aber jetzt widme ich mich nur einem, den köstlichen Dessertwein Aneto Late Harvest. Ich bin kein Süßer, ich esse sehr selten ein Dessert und wenn, dann eigentlich nur wegen der Weinbegleitung. Mit einem guten Glas Sauternes können Sie mein Herz gewinnen und auch zu einem kleinen Glas Chateau Yquem würde ich nicht nein sagen, leider nicht ganz so günstig. Dieser Wein ist es jedoch nicht. Eine überragende Alternative für Yquem-Liebhaber, die kein Yquem-Geld lassen möchten. Der Late Harvest 2010 Semillon besticht durch eine tiefgoldende Farbe, sehr schön anzusehen (natürlich nicht zu lange). Die Aromen von Honig und wilden Blumen berühren unsere Sinne und mit dem ersten Schluck wird der Gaumen geküsst von getrockneten Früchten, Aprikosen und einem leicht nussigen Nachgeschmack. Köstlich!

Und erst jetzt, nachdem wir dieses köstliche Dessert mit diesem phantastischen Wein genossen haben, wird es Zeit für Sids Café Caleta. Wenn Sie fahren müssen… Lassen Sie es. Rufen Sie ein Taxi!