Cooking the sea has always been the ambition of Ángel León, a passionate visionary who continues going out with the fishermen provided that his many obligations allow him to do so: “In my restaurant, the suppliers are everything”. A defender of taking the enormous marine biodiversity to our plates and ennobling those fish that tend to be forgotten, this culinary genius is the inventor of the iconic stuffed marine sausages thanks to the excess of mullet fat, the discoverer of plankton as an ingredient, the creator of marine cheeses or surprising breads enclosed in the shells of crustaceans. What is more, he is also famous for bringing the bioluminescence of some marine species to his dishes: “Every day, we turn off the lights in the restaurant and customers see the light coming out of the kitchen: it is a truly magical moment”.

Nothing less than a revolutionary in gastronomy, and an untiring researcher of the marine world’s treasures, he has received a multitude of acknowledgements such as the National Gastronomy Prize and three Michelin stars for his restaurant, Aponiente, and one more for Alevante, both in Cádiz. On his recent visit to Ibiza, the man known as “the sea chef” bewitched those attending the III Forum of Mediterranean Gastronomy with his never-ending inventions. From June onwards, we will be able to find out more about his philosophy since he is opening a pop-up restaurant at ME Ibiza Hotel in Santa Eulalia.

Radio Rooftop Bar & Ángel León is an innovative gastronomic space located on the spectacular, panoramic terrace of the luxury ME Ibiza, where we will be able to sample some of his more celebrated creations: Dishes such as his famous risotto with plankton, his mackerel sausage or a marine plankton coca (a savoury pastry). A menu full of exotic, tremendously original proposals that maintain the essence of his cuisine (with a few nods to the island’s gastronomy) that you will be able to enjoy every day at sunset through to the end of the season. An obligatory stop for any foodie passing through Ibiza.

www.aponiente.com
www.mebymelia.com/hotels/me-ibiza

Related Posts

  • Published On: July 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: June 4th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: May 26th, 2019|Categories: Gastronomy|

Das Meer kochen – dieser visionären Passion folgt Ángel León seit seiner Kindheit und noch immer liebt er es, mit den Fischern aufs Meer hinaus zu fahren, auch wenn seine Freizeit knapp bemessen ist. „Die Fischer sind meine Lieferanten, ohne sie geht nichts“, so der spanische Spitzenkoch, der die Artenvielfalt des Ozeans in ihrer ganzen Pracht kennt. León lässt längst vergessene Fische kulinarisch auferstehen, er war es, der Plankton als Küchenprodukt entdeckte, ließ Meeresäschen zu Bratwürsten verarbeiten und überraschte mit maritimem Käse und Brot, das an Krustentiere erinnerte. Wie ein Küchengott bringt er durch die Biolumineszens der Meerestiere ganze Töpfe zum Leuchten! „Wir schalten jeden Tag das Licht im Restaurant aus, damit die Gäste das Strahlen in der Küche sehen. Ein magischer Moment“.

Ángel León ist ein Küchen-Revolutionär und erforscht zudem unermüdlich die Schätze der Meereswelt. Zu Recht wurde er mit Auszeichnungen überschüttet, darunter mit dem nationalen Gastronomiepreis, mit drei Michelin Sternen für sein Restaurant Aponiente und einem weiteren für sein zweites Alevante – beide in Cádiz. Anlässlich seines Besuches auf dem III. Forum für Mediterrane Gastronomie erstaunte der „Koch der Meere“ alle Besucher mit seinen kulinarischen Innovationen, von denen wir ab Juni mehr erwarten dürfen, denn dann eröffnet er im Hotel ME Ibiza in Santa Eulalia ein Pop-up Restaurant!

Radio Rooftop Bar & Ángel León werden auf der spektakulären Dachterrasse des luxuriösen ME Ibiza einen eigenen gastronomischen Bereich einnehmen. Die Gäste dürfen sich auf gefeierte Kreationen freuen, wie sein berühmtes Plankton Risotto, Makrelenwürste oder Plankton Coca (ein feines Gebäck). Ein Menü voller exotischer und unglaublich origineller Kompositionen, die die Essenz seiner Küche wiederspiegeln, aber auch mit neuen ibizenkischen Einflüssen überraschen. Bis zum Ende der Saison wird damit das ME Ibiza zum obligatorischen Halt für jeden Feinschmecker, der Ibiza besucht.

www.aponiente.com
www.mebymelia.com/hotels/me-ibiza

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 23rd, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 21st, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|