They say that, in its first year, Heart “came a cropper”.  How did the second go, and how is the third looking?
I don’t see it like that. Otherwise, we would not have reopened. The truth is that we opened late on in the summer season and we did not have time to react in order to change the things that didn’t convince us. With everything we learned in the first year, last year we redirected it with a completely different overall experience. The results were incredible and the feedback we got from our clients (and those who came back again) was very positive.

This year, in 2017, we have worked all winter to design the 2.0 version of last year’s experience. We are confident in saying that we already have the definitive concept and people’s response is euphoric.

Now it’s about putting the finishing touches, continuing to improve and enjoying the journey.

What are the main changes you have introduced this season?
Mainly consolidating last year’s model where the customers are on the terrace drinking and eating for between 40 minutes and one hour 15 minutes, then almost all of them go down to see the show at the same time. We have also improved the sweet moment and the way that it is taking the step to becoming a club is spectacular. What is more, we have also focused on more and better parties and the response is also proving us right with respect to last year.

What has to be done so that the show “pairs” with a meal and isn’t just a distraction?
In the end, it’s about each one having its own place. This year, we are making a number of musical pauses so that people can focus on eating. There is no doubt that, in gastronomic terms, it is not the best setting, but in Heart everything adds up. The food has also improved substantially since last year because we have learned how to adapt ourselves 100% to what the public likes and feels like eating in this kind of atmosphere.

Don’t you think that there are too many restaurants where they are already mixing the food with too many things? DJs for each dish, 3D spectacles etc. Can’t people eat in peace anymore?
In the end, it comes down to supply and demand. I can assure you that creating something like Heart Ibiza is not at all easy, which is why it is difficult to find anything similar in the world. There are, undoubtedly, better shows of course as well as better restaurants but few examples that combine the two things at this level.

Are you having difficulty in signing talent for the island because of the problem of the lack of accommodation?
Without a doubt, it is a common problem and one that I believe the local government is sensitive about. I hope that a solution can be found; Ibiza cannot turn into an island of extremes.

It is said that you have learnt a great deal from Guy Laliberté. I would like to know what the founder of Cirque du Soleil has contributed to you creatively and personally.
I don’t think that it is difficult to understand that working alongside his team with José Corraliza, Director General, at its head is a veritable luxury that is within the grasp of few people. Guy is excited about the way that we have known how to develop the project and this year he will be in Ibiza and in Heart Ibiza more than ever.

One thing I’m curious about: the chefs make ozone and spherifications, but then, when they are at home, surely they eat like normal people, right? You eat a fried egg and that’s it? Do you yourselves cook what you eat, or do you consider eating to be downtime and get someone else to do it?
Ha, ha. It is one thing to eat, which is what we all do, and quite another to eat with the intention of satisfying something other than the stomach. Personally, on the few days I have off I let others cook for me; that is to say, I go to restaurants. In addition, it never stops being a learning experience for us.

Where can you eat well and why here in Ibiza?
You can eat much better on the island than people say and, what is more, the range just gets better and better. Competition is good so that the range develops. The chiringuito sector at midday is more than covered and now dozens of good restaurants are adding to the nighttime choice.

Do you think that there is a “bubble” of chefs? Will it burst?
There is no doubt that it is difficult to believe the change that has occurred in the way that this profession is regarded in the 30 years that I have been working. We have still to see whether this interest is just short lived or not.

How to digest the fact that the cooking boom in Spain arrived with the financial crisis? Coincidence?
The movement was born before the crisis; I suppose that it is a coincidence. Eating in a restaurant in Spain costs half what it does to eat in one with the same characteristics in the North of Europe.

I imagine that it is the first thing you ask yourself every morning and me too. What will cuisine look like in five or 10 years time?
I never ask myself that; I do as life does. I live for today’s cooking without concerning myself with the future because I cannot do anything about it. Nonetheless, it is one of the questions that I am most often asked.

People pay a fortune for masters’ degrees to learn theory but now it appears that not charging for learning in a kitchen is looked down upon. What you think about this controversy?
It has been taken out of context on account of several statements that were not really qualified in the right way. I’m certain that, if we look at any professions, we will find parallels. The issue about the hours also has to be understood in a professional context of the maximum requirements; in itself, cooking demands many hours of work and we are talking about the very highest level.

What could you cook for me in the time this interview has taken?
In 30 minutes… I would try to cook something good without worrying about the style.

Related Posts

  • Published On: October 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 26th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|
  • Published On: August 17th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomy|

Im ersten Jahr der Eröffnung sprach die Öffentlichkeit über das HEART als Reinfall. Doch wie ist die zweite Saison gelaufen und wie ist der Stand in diesem Jahr?
Ich sehe das ganz anders. Sonst hätten wir übrigens auch gar nicht erst wiedereröffnet. Ungünstig war vielleicht die späte Eröffnung mitten in der Saison, so dass wir keine Möglichkeit mehr hatten, Korrekturen oder Kursänderungen vorzunehmen. Wir haben aus den Erfahrungen des Premierenjahres gelernt und die Segel im zweiten Jahr neu gesetzt. Die Resonanz war daraufhin überwältigend und das Feedback der Kunden enorm positiv.
In 2017 haben wir den ganzen Winter über hart gearbeitet und eine 2.0 Version des HEART designt. Wir sind sehr zuversichtlich, damit das endgültige Konzept gefunden zu haben, denn die Reaktion der Gäste ist geradezu euphorisch.
Nun verleihen wir ihm den letzten Schliff, werden weiterhin kleine Veränderungen vornehmen und unser Abenteuer einfach genießen.

Welche großen Veränderungen haben Sie vorgenommen?
Wir haben den Ablauf geändert. Unsere Gäste werden jetzt zunächst auf unserer großen Terrasse mit einem Aperitif und Häppchen begrüßt, dabei verweilen sie ungefähr eine Stunde, um danach gemeinsam nach unten zu gehen, um die Show zu erleben. Wir haben Wechsel vorgenommen, um aus einem hervorragenden Club einen spektakulären zu machen. Es werden noch mehr Partys stattfinden. Die Resonanz, im Vergleich zum Vorjahr, bestärkt uns sehr.

Was muss getan werden, damit die Show ein gleichwertiger Teil des Vergnügens wird und nicht nur Rahmenprogramm?
Am Ende hat alles seinen Platz. In diesem Jahr machen wir mehr musikalische Pausen, so dass die Gäste sich mehr auf ihr Essen konzentrieren können. Ohne Zweifel: Aus gastronomischer oder kulinarischer Sicht ist es nicht die beste Lösung, aber im HEART fügt sich das alles ganz selbstverständlich. Auch die Kulinarik wurde verbessert, indem wir noch feinfühliger auf das geschaut haben, was der Gast sich wünscht.

Meinen Sie nicht, dass es bereits zu viele Restaurants gibt, die ihrem Essen noch eine besondere Zutat beimischen? DJs zu jedem Gang, 3D Spektakel zum Dessert und und und. Können wir nicht einfach nur in Ruhe speisen?
Nun, „Angebot und Nachfrage” lauten hier die Spielregeln. Und ich glaube nicht, dass Sie so schnell etwas Vergleichbares wie das HEART finden. Natürlich gibt es irgendwo eine bessere Show oder irgendwo besseres Essen, aber Sie werden lange brauchen, um etwas zu finden, an dem beides auf so hohem Niveau matcht.

Haben Sie Probleme, Talente für die Show zu verpflichten, weil es so wenige Unterbringungsmöglichkeiten auf der Insel gibt?
Kein Zweifel, das erleichtert die Situation nicht gerade, dennoch glaube ich, dass die hiesige Regierung dem Problem sensibel gegenüber steht. Es kann nicht sein, dass Ibiza zu einer Insel der Extreme verkommt.

Es heißt, dass Sie sehr viel von Guy Laliberté gelernt haben. Inwieweit hat der Gründer von Cirque du Soleil zu Ihrem persönlichen und kreativen Wachstum beigetragen?
Es ist nicht schwer zu verstehen, dass es eine Ehre ist, in so einem Team zu arbeiten, Seite an Seite mit José Corraliza, dem Generaldirektor des HEART. Guy ist begeistert von diesem Projekt und von der Art und Weise, wie wir es umsetzen. In diesem Jahr wird er noch mehr auf Ibiza und im HEART sein als jemals zuvor.

Mit der nächsten Frage muss ich eine persönliche Neugier befriedigen: Chefköche Ihres Niveaus nutzen flüssigen Stickstoff und Sphärisierung, um Mahlzeiten zu kreieren, aber was essen Sie zu Hause – tatsächlich ein schlichtes Spiegelei? Bekochen Sie sich selbst oder gehen Sie essen?
Haha. Es ist eine Sache, zu essen, um den Hunger zu stillen und eine andere Sache, etwas zu essen mit der Absicht, ein Abenteuer zu erleben. Ich persönlich gehe gerne an meinen freien Tagen essen und lasse mich bekochen, aber auch das ist immer eine Lernerfahrung.

Wo kann man sehr gut essen und wie präsentiert sich Ibiza in diesem Bereich?
Man kann hier auf der Insel viel besser essen, als viele meinen und vor allen Dingen die Auswahl wird immer größer. Der Wettbewerb funktioniert so gut, dass die Entwicklung rasante Fortschritte macht. Der Chiringuito Sektor ist mittags bereits wunderbar abgedeckt und dutzende gute Restaurants verwöhnen die Gäste am Abend.

Gibt es eine „Blase“ an Chefköchen, die irgendwann platzen wird?
Kein Zweifel, die Entwicklung die unser Berufsstand gemacht hat, die wachsende Popularität in den letzten 30 Jahren, in denen ich ihn ausübe, ist kaum zu glauben. Man muss schauen, ob das Interesse bestehen bleibt oder wieder abflachen wird.

Wie ist es einzuordnen, dass der Koch-Boom in Spanien zeitgleich mit der Finanzkrise ausgelöst wurde. Ein Zufall?
Die Kochbewegung begann bereits vor der Krise, ich denke, dass es ein Zufall ist. In einem Restaurant essen zu gehen kostet in Spanien nur die Hälfte von dem, was es in einem Restaurant vom gleichen Niveau in Nordeuropa ausmachen würde.

Vielleicht stellst Du Dir die gleiche Frage, wie ich jeden Morgen: Wie wird die Küche in fünf oder zehn Jahren aussehen?
Das frage ich mich nie. Ich lebe heute und ich koche heute. Was in der Zukunft liegt, kann ich nicht bestimmen und nicht beeinflussen. Nichtsdestotrotz ist das eine Frage, die mir am häufigsten gestellt wird.

Viele Menschen zahlen ein Vermögen dafür, um Kochkunst in Theorie zu erlernen, aber jetzt scheint es, dass es nichts bringt, sich in einem Master-Kurs fortzubilden. Was denken Sie über diese Kontroverse?
Diese Ansicht wurde etwas aus dem Kontext mehrerer Aussagen gerissen, die nicht wirklich qualifiziert waren. Ich bin mir sicher, dass auch in anderen Berufen diese Aussage zutreffend ist. Die Frage nach der Dauer eines Lernprozesses muss ebenso in einem professionellen Kontext gesehen werden. Kochen kostet viel, viel Zeit und wir sprechen hier von einem sehr hohen Niveau.

Was könnten Sie in der Dauer der Interviewzeit für mich kochen?
In 30 Minuten… Ich würde etwas richtig Gutes kochen, ohne eine besondere Richtung zu verfolgen.

Related Posts

  • Published On: Oktober 23rd, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 21st, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: Oktober 7th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 29th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|
  • Published On: August 28th, 2022|Categories: Gastronomie|